We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The Tripadvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
“Old world charm with an awesome location.”
other traveller has booked this property
Varenna is your 5-star self-contained luxury esape in the heart of the Blue Mountain.
Bookings for this home are first-come, first served. Lock in your dates before they are gone
Varenna is your 5-star self-contained luxury esape in the heart of the Blue Mountain.
Mountain Whispers winner at the Blue Mountains Regional Business Awards including Hall of Fame. Varenna is your 5-star self-contained luxury esape in the heart of the Blue Mountain.
Check Availability
Request to Book
Make Enquiry
Excellent
147 reviews
Varenna is your 5-star self-contained luxury esape in the heart of the Blue Mountain.
Mountain Whispers winner at the Blue Mountains Regional Business Awards including Hall of Fame.
Varenna is your 5-star self-contained luxury esape in the heart of the Blue Mountain.
NSW Tourism SILVER award winner in luxury accommodation.
Varenna dusted in snow
Queen four-poster master bedroom
Bluebell - second bedroom with four-poster queen bed complete with fine linen
Third queen bedroom complete with fine linen all oozes French chique
Customer Service Hall of Fame winner
Fourth bedroom complete with two single brass beds and fine linen
Every detail matters at Varenna. Fourth bedroom with two single brass beds and fine linen.
Lounge/dining room complete with gas log fireplace bathed in luxury.Prepare to step into yesteryear
Finalist in Customer Service & People's Choice - Awards Australia
Fully equipped Kauri kitchen with all that you'll need to cook up a storm. As used by MKR in 2012.
Antique claw-foot bathroom complete with heated floors and fluffy towels.
Soak your cares away in our second spa bathroom
Complimentary Molton Brown of London toiletries provided.
Enjoy alfresco dining complete with gas BBQ and whilst watching the colourful birdlife feasting
Enjoy tea in the front garden watching the world go by.
The iconic Three Sisters are only minutes away overlooking the Jamison Valley. Feel small again.
Care for a refreshing swim in our pristine waterfalls? They're here ready and waiting for you.
Open every day, Jenolan Caves are the largest, most spectacular and most famous caves in Australia.
Be greeted by many of our colourful locals you'll find feasting in our garden.
Enjoy horse riding, driving a sulky, mountain trail riding all within majestic surrounds.
Autumn in the Blue Mountains is a sight to be seen - always have your camera on hand.
Short drive to Scenic World which is home of the Scenic Railway, Skyway, Cableway & Walkway.
There are so many wonderful bushwalks around the Blue Mountains right on your doorstep.
This property is not available for these dates.
Don't give up! Enquire about other rentals just like this one that are available -
Show all rentals available
Overview
Private Room, 2 Bathrooms, Sleeps 8
Leura, Blue Mountains, New South Wales

Reviews from our community

Excellent - based on 147 reviews
Write a Review

Reviews from our community

917kellyc
Newcastle, New South Wales, Australia
Level 4 Contributor
28 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 30 helpful votes
“Old world charm with an awesome location.”
Reviewed June 14, 2020 for a stay in June 2020

Varenna is a beautiful home, its like stepping back in time but with all the modern conveniences. Perfect for just a couple or a group of friends or family as it has 3 queen bedrooms plus one bedroom with 2 single beds. The 2 bathrooms are gorgeous and the heated floors are a luxury. The house has central heating so during the winter months it is so cosy and the gas log fire in the lounge room creates a beautiful atmosphere.
It is only a 5 minute walk to Leura Mall where there are an array of cafes, restaurants and lovely shops to browse through. Plenty of local attractions nearby so it certainly is a place to visit.

Date of stay: June 2020
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
21 Jun 2020
Thank you for your lovely reveiw of Varenna Kelly. Always lovely welcoming my return guests back to Mountain Whispers, with Varenna being the property of choice for this stay. Until your return, take care and with thanks again, Lorraine
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
MichnDave
Sydney, Australia
Level 2 Contributor
9 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“Perfect in every way!”
Reviewed July 17, 2019 for a stay in July 2019

There were 4 ladies staying in Varenna house, celebrating a 50th birthday. We each had our own room and it was complete luxury and comfort! As soon as we stepped into this house, we knew we had made the right choice! Lorraine had music playing and the house was warm and inviting. We immediately felt relaxed and ready for a special weekend. The house is clean and has everything you need. The breakfast supplies are abundant and the port, wine and chocolates were a special treat! We also organised massages and facials in the dedicated SPA treatment room on the property. It was great to stay at home and be pampered! The location to Leura centre is perfect too, only taking about 5 minutes to leisurely walk to the shops and cafes. Dinner at Silks Restaurant was good and a short walk around the corner. Back in no time to watch a girly DVD back at the house in the warmth and cosy lounge room! We look forward to another luxury stay at Varenna and thank you Lorraine for thinking of everything to make our stay just perfect! You were also very responsive, helpful, and professional regarding our booking, especially adding an extra person a couple of days before we arrived without any problems! You define top service with 5 stars!

Date of stay: July 2019
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
18 Jul 2019
Thank you Michelle for taking the time to leave your lovely review of Varenna and my services. It's sincerely rewarding knowing that you all enjoyed your stay, especially for Sharon's 50th - it's ALL about "memorable" experiences at Mountain Whispers. Until I have the opportunity to welcome you all back, take care, Lorraine
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Evelyn B
Sydney, Australia
Level 5 Contributor
52 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
“Old world charm with modern comforts”
Reviewed June 19, 2019 for a stay in June 2019

Varenna House was really well located, close to the train station, shops, restaurants and centre of Leura village. Although we went there in winter, we enjoyed lunch out in the beautiful gardens with the sun shining through. The house was warm and cosy with beautifully decorated bedrooms. It was really nice to be welcomed with a drink of Port on arrival, the heating and music turned on and a generous selection of breakfast goodies in the fridge.

Date of stay: June 2019
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
20 Jun 2019
Thank you for your lovely review of Varenna and my services Evelyn. It's always lovely welcoming my repeat guests back again. Until the next time, take care, Lorraine
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Emma F
Sydney, New South Wales, Australia
Level 2 Contributor
7 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“Cozy Magical property”
Reviewed June 3, 2019 for a stay in June 2019

Love visiting this beautiful part of the World. It definitely makes it extra special to have the magical Varenna to stay and get cozy and relax in after a day exploring the area. Easy walk to the shops and restaurants in Leura. Just perfect and Lorraine definitely has an eye for detail-amazing.

Date of stay: June 2019
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
5 Jun 2019
Thank you for taking the time to leave your lovely review of Varenna, Emma, sincerely appeciated. I look forward to welcoming you and your lovely family back to Mountain Whispers once more. Until then, take care and with warmest thanks again, Lorraine
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Damien W
Newcastle, Australia
2 reviews
“Beautiful comfortable period restoration property only a short walk to Leura Mall”
Reviewed December 6, 2018 for a stay in December 2018

We loved our stay, Varenna is so comfortable, restored in fine detail, it really feels like living in another era but with all today's comforts. We stayed alone and enjoyed the space, Varenna could nicely accomodate a couple of families. Being only a couple of minutes walk to Leura Mall for cafe's, restaurants and the chocolate shop was very handy! Definitely recommend staying here, and we'll be keen to try one of Mountain Whisper's other properties too.

Date of stay: December 2018
Your age range 35-49
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
6 Dec 2018
Thank you for your lovely review of Varenna, Damien. It was a pleasure welcoming you and I sincerely look forward to a returned visit. Take care and all the very best for the Festive Season, Lorraine
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Deanne M
2 reviews
“Most enjoyable stay”
Reviewed October 23, 2018 for a stay in October 2018

Thank you again Lorraine for a lovely stay at Varenna
It is a beautiful home and so close to Leura shopping and cafes
Looking forward to our next visit.

Date of stay: October 2018
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
24 Oct 2018
Thank you for your review of Varenna, Deanne. As always, it’s lovely welcoming you back time and time again. Take care and until your next visit, Lorraine
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
MerryH375
Sydney, Australia
Level 3 Contributor
21 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Excellent home for a friends or family "getaway"”
Reviewed October 15, 2018 for a stay in October 2018

Varenna is located a short walk from the Mall in Leura so very well situated.
The house is beautifully set up with many added unexpected extras. Sadly, the weather was not kind for our visit as we would have loved to spend more time in the lovely garden. The house caters easily for 6 adults & I would be happy to recommend it to friends & overseas visitors.

Date of stay: October 2018
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
17 Oct 2018
Thank you for your lovely review of Varenna, Merry. Hoping the weather will be much kinder upon a returned visit. Take care, Lorraine
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Enter dates for more accurate prices
2 guests
Adults2
Children0
Apply
Do you own a vacation rental? List it here.
Extra income
Earn money by renting out your home. With no up-front fees and no contract, you keep more for yourself.
Easy to manage
Confirm bookings in one click and track everything from enquiry to check-out – even while you're on the go.
Trusted by travellers
With millions of reviews and protected online payments, Tripadvisor helps travellers book your home with confidence.
Set up your free listing
US$USD
Canada (English)
© 2021 TripAdvisor LLC All rights reserved.

This is the version of our website addressed to speakers of English in Canada. If you are a resident of another country or region, please select the appropriate version of Tripadvisor for your country or region in the drop-down menu.