We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Nearby Hotels
Reviews (68)
Filter reviews
68 results
Traveller rating
23
27
9
5
4
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
23
27
9
5
4
Show reviews that mention
All reviews workers club friendly manager within walking distance ground floor room was clean easy parking cbd motel fridge
Filter
Updating list...
15 - 20 of 68 reviews
Reviewed September 18, 2016

We really enjoyed our first stay here but the second not so much, we had called twice after booking this hotel to make sure we understood if we had enough room and beds in room and over heard one of the owners say what do they want now this we thought we could overlook, but when we where there we over heard the male owner talking to other guests very poorly, we wont be giving them our money again and we will let our other members of our group know not to book this motel in future, its a real shame they don't like there job and cant give a great service, DONT BOTHER BOOKING HERE YOU WONT FEEL WELCOME

  • Stayed: September 2016, travelled with friends
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Thank sarah a
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management response:Responded October 8, 2016

We are very sorry that you overheard a conversation that was going on with another person, but did you hear all the conversation.
We have people that come back all the time, as they feel like it is there home.
Sorry that you didn't

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed July 24, 2016

Online this place advertises as 4 star but when you get there you see that it is signed out front as 3 star with some 4 star rooms. The pics you see online are completely misleading. In the small print it says pictures are sample only. Sample from other hotel I suspect. This is not what you get if you book a standard room. See my pics below of standard double room. Its grotty old and dirty. Restaurant is not open Friday or weekends and looking at menu I wouldn't bother. This is two star motel at best. Mould around sink is awful. Sink was so old enamel was gone and had rust. see pics. Worst place I have ever stayed. If my wife hadn't already booked and paid and checked in I would have walked out on seeing room. Thankfully it was only one night. If you want a proper four star stay at the Gateway which is only slightly more expensive. When we checked out the office staff where wandering around in trackies. We thought it was a guest but no it was staff. Seriously guys 4 star and that's what you get to see first thing in morning. Don't book a standard room here as you will regret it as what you see on website is not what you get. I have put on my company's list of places to never book! Check out pics of the room you actually get below

Room Tip: Avoid at all costs
  • Stayed: July 2016, travelled as a couple
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Service
2  Thank Brisbanebilbo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management response:Responded October 8, 2016

We are sorry that you our your Company only booked the 3 Star room for your overnight stay, if they had rang the property, they would have got the Corporate rate and a 4 star room. The reason the Restaurant is not open at the weekends is that most people that are in town are here for Functions, weddings etc and we use to open 7 days, and paying staff to sit around, so in this time and day you have to make certain decisions that don't suit everyone, but we do offer all our guest room service. Also Sir, you can't compare us to the Gateway, as it is only 2 years old. Also Sir, I don't own any trackies as you have put it, are you sure it was not some other guest, just talking to us or cleaning staff. Our standard room are only 3 Star. On the night in question that you stayed, you could have come back down to Reception and said something, and the person might have been able to change your room, but no you DO NOT give them a change, it would have only taken a few seconds to do. Management can't fix thing if our guest don't speak to us. We have only taken out the old little fridges and put in larger ones and we are still in the process of doing up your room. Most motels give you a better price over the phone or email then you booking through the web sites.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed June 19, 2016

For the price, and location this is a good choice. Or room had a strong b.o.odor of a previous occupant, the carpet was dingy and the bathroom floor wasn't the cleanest. When you book the room if you want ground floor be sure to ask for it. At check in, if you want free wi fi ask for it otherwise you have to go back to reception to obtain the printed out receipt for it and they don't offer it to you at check in.

Room Tip: Ask for ground floor if you want that at booking time. Good location for lantern parade.
  • Stayed: June 2016, travelled with family
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Thank Sheri D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management response:Responded October 8, 2016

We are sorry you through the room smelt of BO, but did you say anything to the Receptionist at the time, as we could have changed your room. If you have looked at us on the web site, we are a two storey Motel, and you can always ask for a ground floor, or ask at checkin. We always ask our clients if they require the WiFi, sorry that you had to come back and get it.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed May 15, 2016

Nice motel within walking distance of shops. Clean and tidy rooms with good TV and Wi-Fi. Easy parking right outside the unit. Comfortable bed and very quiet.
There is also a nice restaurant attached to the motel.
The only strange thing was a prominent sign in the room banning the use of toasters ?? Must have had a bad experience.

Room Tip: Ask for a room on the ground floor.
  • Stayed: May 2016, travelled solo
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Thank Michael N
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management response:Responded October 8, 2016

We are sorry that you didn't like our sign re Toaster, but we have people that want to travel with there own and then use them in the rooms and then we have the Fire Alarms going off, which get a few guest upset if they have to get out of rooms early and then the fire brigade have to come for a false call out, which cost us $2,250 per call out. Soon all motels will have the same problem as they all have to switch over to the electric fire alarms.
Also thank you for your feed back.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed January 18, 2016 via mobile

We stayed for a week in January for a cricket trip and would stay again if I was to return to Lismore clean, safe and the managers are very accommodating. The rooms are recently renovated, within walking distance to clubs pubs and shops.well done

Stayed: January 2016, travelled with family
Thank plumnuts
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews