We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Excellent stay”
Review of Karinga Motel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Karinga Motel
Ranked #7 of 11 Hotels in Lismore
Reviewed 8 October 2016

The room was well decorated and the bed was very comfortable I found the unit to be clean The television was a good size The bathroom was very good with a large shower and the facilities were also good the unit looked to have recently been renovated I would have no hesitation in recomending it as it also was very central to all facilities

Room Tip: Ask for Downstairs rooms if not good with stairs
See more room tips
  • Stayed: October 2016, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
Thank Anne Marie S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management response:Responded 8 October 2016

Thank you Anne, we are glad that you had a very comfortable stay. Hope you had a nice drive home.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (61)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

8 - 14 of 61 reviews

Reviewed 18 September 2016

We really enjoyed our first stay here but the second not so much, we had called twice after booking this hotel to make sure we understood if we had enough room and beds in room and over heard one of the owners say what do they want now this we thought we could overlook, but when we where there we over heard the male owner talking to other guests very poorly, we wont be giving them our money again and we will let our other members of our group know not to book this motel in future, its a real shame they don't like there job and cant give a great service, DONT BOTHER BOOKING HERE YOU WONT FEEL WELCOME

  • Stayed: September 2016, travelled with friends
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Thank sarah a
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management response:Responded 8 October 2016

We are very sorry that you overheard a conversation that was going on with another person, but did you hear all the conversation.
We have people that come back all the time, as they feel like it is there home.
Sorry that you didn't

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 24 July 2016

Online this place advertises as 4 star but when you get there you see that it is signed out front as 3 star with some 4 star rooms. The pics you see online are completely misleading. In the small print it says pictures are sample only. Sample from other hotel I suspect. This is not what you get if you book a standard room. See my pics below of standard double room. Its grotty old and dirty. Restaurant is not open Friday or weekends and looking at menu I wouldn't bother. This is two star motel at best. Mould around sink is awful. Sink was so old enamel was gone and had rust. see pics. Worst place I have ever stayed. If my wife hadn't already booked and paid and checked in I would have walked out on seeing room. Thankfully it was only one night. If you want a proper four star stay at the Gateway which is only slightly more expensive. When we checked out the office staff where wandering around in trackies. We thought it was a guest but no it was staff. Seriously guys 4 star and that's what you get to see first thing in morning. Don't book a standard room here as you will regret it as what you see on website is not what you get. I have put on my company's list of places to never book! Check out pics of the room you actually get below

Room Tip: Avoid at all costs
See more room tips
  • Stayed: July 2016, travelled as a couple
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Service
2  Thank Brisbanebilbo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management response:Responded 8 October 2016

We are sorry that you our your Company only booked the 3 Star room for your overnight stay, if they had rang the property, they would have got the Corporate rate and a 4 star room. The reason the Restaurant is not open at the weekends is that most people that are in town are here for Functions, weddings etc and we use to open 7 days, and paying staff to sit around, so in this time and day you have to make certain decisions that don't suit everyone, but we do offer all our guest room service. Also Sir, you can't compare us to the Gateway, as it is only 2 years old. Also Sir, I don't own any trackies as you have put it, are you sure it was not some other guest, just talking to us or cleaning staff. Our standard room are only 3 Star. On the night in question that you stayed, you could have come back down to Reception and said something, and the person might have been able to change your room, but no you DO NOT give them a change, it would have only taken a few seconds to do. Management can't fix thing if our guest don't speak to us. We have only taken out the old little fridges and put in larger ones and we are still in the process of doing up your room. Most motels give you a better price over the phone or email then you booking through the web sites.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 19 June 2016

For the price, and location this is a good choice. Or room had a strong b.o.odor of a previous occupant, the carpet was dingy and the bathroom floor wasn't the cleanest. When you book the room if you want ground floor be sure to ask for it. At check in, if you want free wi fi ask for it otherwise you have to go back to reception to obtain the printed out receipt for it and they don't offer it to you at check in.

Room Tip: Ask for ground floor if you want that at booking time. Good location for lantern parade.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: June 2016, travelled with family
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Thank Sheri D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management response:Responded 8 October 2016

We are sorry you through the room smelt of BO, but did you say anything to the Receptionist at the time, as we could have changed your room. If you have looked at us on the web site, we are a two storey Motel, and you can always ask for a ground floor, or ask at checkin. We always ask our clients if they require the WiFi, sorry that you had to come back and get it.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 15 May 2016

Nice motel within walking distance of shops. Clean and tidy rooms with good TV and Wi-Fi. Easy parking right outside the unit. Comfortable bed and very quiet.
There is also a nice restaurant attached to the motel.
The only strange thing was a prominent sign in the room banning the use of toasters ?? Must have had a bad experience.

Room Tip: Ask for a room on the ground floor.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: May 2016, travelled solo
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Thank Michael N
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management response:Responded 8 October 2016

We are sorry that you didn't like our sign re Toaster, but we have people that want to travel with there own and then use them in the rooms and then we have the Fire Alarms going off, which get a few guest upset if they have to get out of rooms early and then the fire brigade have to come for a false call out, which cost us $2,250 per call out. Soon all motels will have the same problem as they all have to switch over to the electric fire alarms.
Also thank you for your feed back.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 18 January 2016 via mobile

We stayed for a week in January for a cricket trip and would stay again if I was to return to Lismore clean, safe and the managers are very accommodating. The rooms are recently renovated, within walking distance to clubs pubs and shops.well done

Stayed: January 2016, travelled with family
Thank plumnuts
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 28 November 2015

Excellent facilities ,close to shops, Club etc. Room tidy and clean. The breakfast was good,but nothing amazing. Good value for money and we will definitely recommend it to family and friends.Only downside is the pool is Very small and cold!

Room Tip: Good vicinity to the centre of town
See more room tips
  • Stayed: December 2014, travelled with family
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank darylandlisa1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Lismore hotels
0.7 km away
Lismore Wilson Motel
Lismore Wilson Motel
#3 of 11 in Lismore
116 reviews
0.3 km away
Comfort Inn Centrepoint
Comfort Inn Centrepoint
#11 of 11 in Lismore
69 reviews
0.5 km away
Lismore City Motor Inn
Lismore City Motor Inn
#4 of 11 in Lismore
46 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.1 km away
New Olympic Motel
New Olympic Motel
#9 of 11 in Lismore
47 reviews
0.4 km away
Lismore Gateway Motel & Restaurant
0.6 km away
AZA Motel
AZA Motel
#5 of 11 in Lismore
30 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Karinga Motel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Karinga Motel

Address: 258-260 Molesworth St, Lismore, New South Wales 2480, Australia
Region: Australia > New South Wales > Lismore
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #7 of 11 Hotels in Lismore
Price Range: $113 - $180 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Karinga Motel 4*
Number of rooms: 30
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Priceline, Booking.com, Agoda, getaroom.com, TripOnline SA, HotelQuickly and Cancelon so you can book your Karinga Motel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing