We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great Location ”
Review of Karinga Motel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Karinga Motel
Ranked #6 of 11 Hotels in Lismore
Reviewed 10 December 2017 via mobile

Stayed here for a Ten Pin Bowling Tournament for a weekend.
Stayed in a room with a double bed & single bed.
Very happy with the size of the room and there was enough room to move around with 2 adults & 1 teenager.
Liked that it had a stainless steel kettle and not 1 of those plastic ones and that they gave you milk when you arrived at the motel.
I think this is great customer service because we all forget to stop for milk and nothing worst than not being able to have a coffee, they also had those little longlife milks as well in the fridge.
Bathroom was big with a long bench around the sink with plenty of room for 2 beauty bags to sit on and still having room.
Had a very big shower which is nice so you don't feel like you can't move.
It had a very nice pool for the kids to play in.
Great Location as it was right behind the Lismore Workers Club and so you could walk to it and not have to worry about driving and also could walk to the shops which is great to know.
Would stay here again next year and would recommend it if someone asked where to stay in Lismore.
The price is the going rate for this size room which was $120 a night.

Stayed: December 2017, travelled with family
Thank Debbie K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (61)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

1 - 7 of 61 reviews

Reviewed 24 November 2017

I have no major complaints about my one-night stay at the Karinga Motel. While it is an older style motel, my (ground floor) room was spacious with a queen and single beds, small table and two chairs and a long bench that could double as a desk. Really liked the generous provision of power points, plus real milk and not those little sachets. Location is quiet and convenient to the CBD. And all at a very competitive room rate via an internet deal. Fairly basic continental breakfast was an extra $12.
My one (and admittedly minor) complaint relates to internet access. While it was free and reception was good, you needed separate - and ridiculously complicated - log-in passwords for each device. And unfortunately the devices weren't subsequently recognised by the network, so had to re-enter the lengthy passwords every time I needed to access the internet.

  • Stayed: November 2017, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
Thank JElliot32
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 6 August 2017

On the website it states a standard room has a spa,but it doesn't,should be changed as i really wanted a spa,the air conditioner was a bit noisy,good points, clean rooms, good coffee and fresh milk.Close to shops.

Room Tip: upstairs was quiet
See more room tips
  • Stayed: August 2017, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
Thank tania C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management response:Responded 7 August 2017

We don't have spas or baths in our room, all have walk in showers only, we have spa at the pool area. You might have got mixed up with other motels in the area as they have spa rooms. Can you please tell me as to what room you are in so we can fix the air condition unit, as I don't have a Tania C registered. Glad the rest of the room was good, thanks.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 5 July 2017 via mobile

Why do I rate this so high?

Beautiful friendly management
Clean and fresh
Value
Bar fridge
On site restaurant and room service food is lovely and very generous just like a good home cooked meal.
Thank you Karinga Motel, I'll be back.

Stayed: July 2017, travelled on business
Thank Katashburn
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management response:Responded 6 July 2017

Thank you Kat, we are glad that you enjoyed your stay.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 4 December 2016

This is an older motel which has been updated a little with a few touches. The downstairs rooms are a little cramped, as are the bathrooms, with not a lot of space to put your stuff. However, touches like new, rainsoft shower roses have improved the comfort. The main bed in our room was good but the single had a tilt to one side. The lap pool was small and unglamorous but a welcome cool off on a hot day. If you want to take your own breakfast (there's a good fridge), take bowls and spoons or other crockery as there isn't anything other than mugs and glasses.
Well positioned for the CBD, the visitor centre and the riverbank walk.

Room Tip: Downstairs rooms have better access to your car.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: December 2016, travelled as a couple
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Bjerkana
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management response:Responded 6 December 2016

HI, Sorry about the bed, but did you say anything to the Manager at the time of your stay, as we might have been able to fix the problem if you had spoken to us, but it is a bit hard to do, if we don't know about it, but now that we have read about it, we have fixed it. All lap pools are small, all it had in the pool was some leaves in it, as the wind had been blowing and we cannot be down there all day scooping them out. All our rooms are only motel rooms, we do not have self contain rooms, if you want to bring your own food, please bring your own bowls etc.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 27 November 2016

First time staying at Karinga as i needed to find another motel for my regular trips to Lismore.
Read previous reviews and decided to try this out. As soon as i walked in the room i knew i had found my new digs when in Lismore. Room was clean as a whistle. A/C worked a treat and it was HOT outside Nice comfy bed.Went and spoke to the managers who were very pleasant to talk with. I would recommend this motel to anyone needing to be close to town and looking for a nice quiet motel. I will be back again and again.

Stayed: November 2016
Thank K1410WNscottd
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management response:Responded 29 November 2016

We are glad that you like us, and we hope to see you again in the new year. Hope you and your family have a great Christmas and a Happy New Year.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 13 October 2016

Stayed here In September.

The room in which we stayed was very much below par and more like an early 70's style room. Nothing like the website images depict. The room was very old and extremely tired. With attention to things like paint, tiles, broken mirrors, edging tape falling of the desk and catching on your clothes as you walk past.
Light fixtures had been replaced in our room, however the wall was left with the old imprint.
Mirror over the Vanity basin was broken in the corner and put back together with silicone.


The shower had a patchwork of tiles that obviously replaced the previous broken ones.

The light over the Queen bed was so close to your head that you couldn't sit on the bed.

Cupboards had clearly been removed, but walls not repainted to match where updated paint work had happened.
Topping it off the check in lady was extremely rude not only to myself but also various families that were checking in as part of our group. So rude to the point that one of groups ladies was in tears because of receptions total rudeness.
Although this was close to a venue we were attending.

Room Tip: ask for a new room
See more room tips
  • Stayed: September 2016, travelled on business
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Thank Mordys
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management response:Responded 14 October 2016

We are sorry you did not enjoy your stay with us, but as we advertise, we have four star room and three star room. We are sorry about the mirror in the room, but we have ordered one and we are waiting for the suppliers to come and fix it, we have only done a temp. fix for now. The reason the Lady was a little rude to you, as you stated, was that all she did was ask you to fill in a form and you refused, which is a standard registration form all motels have, plus, you arrived on property at 10am and demanded your room, all she did was ask you to come back around 11am so she would have time to clean your room and the people that were in it the night before were at the counter checking out. Also, you did not stay in the room that you have pictures off, that was another person. The group that you are referring to, only had one lady in it and that was you, and you were in Room 112, all the rest where boys, and they were all laughing and joking with us. Plus I hope when you go to other motels, you don't take things and not pay for them.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Lismore hotels
0.7 km away
Lismore Wilson Motel
Lismore Wilson Motel
#3 of 11 in Lismore
116 reviews
0.3 km away
Comfort Inn Centrepoint
Comfort Inn Centrepoint
#11 of 11 in Lismore
69 reviews
0.5 km away
Lismore City Motor Inn
Lismore City Motor Inn
#4 of 11 in Lismore
46 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.1 km away
New Olympic Motel
New Olympic Motel
#10 of 11 in Lismore
47 reviews
0.4 km away
Lismore Gateway Motel & Restaurant
0.6 km away
AZA Motel
AZA Motel
#5 of 11 in Lismore
30 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Karinga Motel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Karinga Motel

Address: 258-260 Molesworth St, Lismore, New South Wales 2480, Australia
Region: Australia > New South Wales > Lismore
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #6 of 11 Hotels in Lismore
Price Range: $113 - $179 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Karinga Motel 4*
Number of rooms: 30
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Priceline, Booking.com, Agoda, getaroom.com, TripOnline SA, HotelQuickly and Cancelon so you can book your Karinga Motel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing