We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Nearby Hotels
Reviews (296)
Filter reviews
296 results
Traveller rating
38
115
92
32
19
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
38
115
92
32
19
Show reviews that mention
All reviews coogee beach prince of wales bus stop the ground floor shopping centre the ritz king room min walk laundry facilities bondi junction restaurants and bars randwick racecourse right next door circular quay public transport convenient location hospital
Filter
Updating list...
40 - 45 of 296 reviews
Reviewed February 2, 2017 via mobile

We stayed as a family at Perouse Lodge in two twin rooms. The rooms were comfortable and had everything we needed, including efficient air conditioning and openable windows. The laundry facilities were very handy, as were the bus stop, cafes, restaurants and cinema just out the door and it is within easy walking distance to Coogee Beach (about 20 minutes). Great value for a reasonable price - highly recommended.

Date of stay: January 2017
Trip type: Travelled with family
Thank BrianJ98
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
SydneyLodgesRandwick, Manager at Perouse Lodge, responded to this reviewResponded February 4, 2017

Thank you for your review, the content of which will assist others in finding suitable accommodation in Randwick. We are so glad to hear Perouse Lodge ticked all of the boxes for you.

We look forward to welcoming you back!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed January 30, 2017 via mobile

Twin room was spotless - fresh towels and room cleaned every day - sheets crisp and perfectly made bed every day. Small fridge could be upgraded to fridge with ice box - air con effective - Kitchen and laundrette adequate - most people we met were visiting family and staying at least a week - Wifi poor connection and kept having to get new codes - Bar next door - Royal Hotel - unlimited WiFi - turn right from hotel - lots of good restaurants and cinema - down Coogee Bay Road to Beach - up to Coles for large Supermarket

Date of stay: January 2017
Trip type: Travelled with friends
Thank Jean D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
SydneyLodgesRandwick, Manager at Perouse Lodge, responded to this reviewResponded February 4, 2017

Thank you for reviewing your stay with us.

Your review will help others find suitable accommodation in Randwick close to the Prince of Wales Hospital, The Royal Randwick Racecourse, the University of New South Wales and beautiful Coogee Beach.

We are working to improve the Wifi service and we are sorry it disappointed you.

We look forward to welcoming you back.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed January 30, 2017

We stayed here only because it was near the hospital.
The rooms were clean and the bed comfortable. They are very small though.
The hotel is central to the hospitals and shopping precint.
The lady at reception seemed very unsure about how to book us in and was very annoying to say the least. There is a cafe right next door. I would stay here if you have a hospital visit coming up.

Room tip: theres a couple of balcony rooms, other than that, walls are your view.
Date of stay: January 2017
  • Trip type: Travelled as a couple
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Service
Thank Jeepgal92
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
SydneyLodgesRandwick, Manager at Perouse Lodge, responded to this reviewResponded February 4, 2017

Thank you for your review.

Perouse Lodge is close to the Prince of Wales Hospital complex as well as the Royal Randwick Racecourse, the University of New South Wales and beautiful Coogee Beach.
Our Small Double rooms are quite compact so if you are looking for some extra space for a little extra cost I suggest our King Rooms or our King Deluxe if you enjoy to sit outside on a balcony.
Our staff are well trained and I am sorry you found her annoying. Perhaps she was just being over careful with the paperwork requirements. Our apologies.

Kokkino Kafe is very popular for Breakfast, Coffee & Lunch.

We look forward to welcoming you back.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed January 19, 2017

Booked a "small" double room between 22-27 Dec 16 so that we could attend family gatherings based in Coogee. Whilst the room was indeed "small" and did not have much in the way of storage, what we wanted was somewhere to sleep and this is what we got, so no complaints. Perouse Lodge is right next to public transport and with an Opal Card it is comparatively easy to get to other areas of town. Excellent independant Cafe right outside for breakfast (shown in the picture to the left of the red pillar).

Date of stay: December 2016
  • Trip type: Travelled as a couple
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Service
Thank PIGASIMU
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
SydneyLodgesRandwick, Manager at Perouse Lodge, responded to this reviewResponded February 4, 2017

Thank you for reviewing your stay with us. The information you have provided will be helpful for others. If in future you intend to stay may I suggest booking a king or king deluxe room if you are looking for a lot more space for a little extra price.

We look forward to welcoming you again.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed January 13, 2017

perouse lodge is ideally situated for the beaches and for central quay. The bus system is frequent and easy to use with an opal card. This card can be used on the train system and the manly ferry. Able to bus to googee, bondi and bronze beaches.
The immediate area includes an excellent cafe/restaurant centre whilst in the other direction a comprehensive shopping area all within 5 minutes walking.
Perouse lodge itself is basically an upmarket backpackers hotel. The queen room we had was very clean and tidy with ensuite facilities. There was coffee/tea making facilities which were filled every morning. However there was little storage room and no facilities for keeping valuables. There was a cafe for breakfast and lunch attached to the side of the hotel. At new year it was quite costly for this type of hotel. However we really enjoyed our stay due to its locality.

Room tip: Queen room at least
Date of stay: December 2016
  • Trip type: Travelled as a couple
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Thank Graham M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Julie C, Manager at Perouse Lodge, responded to this reviewResponded January 15, 2017

Thank you for taking the time to review your stay.
Your review will assist other in selecting suitable accommodation in Randwick.
Perouse Lodge offers fresh, new accommodation in Randwick. After receiving a complete renovation, the property re-opened in December 2015. The new-look Perouse Lodge features large, bright rooms with modern facilitates and furnishings.

Facilities at the property include a full guest kitchen and dining area, guest laundry and an outdoor BBQ area. Kokkino Kafe is attached to the property, offering indoor and outdoor dining.

Guestrooms include free Wi-Fi access (free up to 500MB/day), air-conditioning, flat screen TV’s, a work desk and private ensuite bathroom with toiletries provided.

Perouse Lodge is a short walk to the Prince of Wales Hospital, the Sydney Children’s Hospital and the University of NSW (UNSW). Also within walking distance are the numerous cafes and restaurants at The Spot. Public transport is close by, with regular buses to the Sydney CBD and Bondi.

Quite a bit more than an 'upmarket backpackers hotel'.

We look forward to welcoming you again.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews