We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Nearby Hotels
Reviews (429)
Filter reviews
429 results
Traveller rating
251
112
33
16
17
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
251
112
33
16
17
Show reviews that mention
All reviews jumping pillow water park pirate ship putt putt games room pool area camp kitchen shipwreck island mini golf all ages great for kids awesome park young kids the cottages kids club activities ensuite site school holidays
Filter
Updating list...
5 - 10 of 429 reviews
Reviewed 3 weeks ago via mobile

Best spot in the world. Cabins a little expensive, but clean and well equipped and sitting in paradise. We loved it so much, we are planning to come back again. I enjoyed the parks amenities and close proximity to family friendly beaches and walks.

Date of stay: October 2018
Trip type: Travelled as a couple
Thank Michelle M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Lucy C, Guest Relations Manager at BIG4 Sunshine South West Rocks, responded to this reviewResponded 3 weeks ago

Love you review!! Glad you think we are the "Best spot in the World"! That is an awesome compliment, thank you. So glad you loved our fantastic fun amenities and our location - its so lovely to have such calm, kid friendly beaches near by - Trial Bay is beautiful and due to it being a Bay is shallow for a fair way out, with no waves! Thanks again, we look forward to welcoming you back!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 4 weeks ago

Our family of 6 1/2 (10 week old baby) stayed 5 nights in a 3 bedroom cottage considered "outside" the park. It was a short walk down a flight of steps to the park and all the amenities. It was a good value as the cottages inside the park cost 3 times as much. The kids LOVED Shipwreck Island and also enjoyed the jumping pillow and park equipment, putt putt golf, go-kart hire, and activities at the twice/week kid's club. Reception has movies that can be checked out and the cottage was well equipped with kitchen and laundry supplies. The on site restaurant is nice and very accommodating for children.

Room tip: Eucalypt cottages a less expensive than those inside the park. 3 bedroom cottage only has 1 bathroom
Date of stay: November 2018
  • Trip type: Travelled with family
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank SyndeyLover
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Lucy C, Guest Relations Manager at BIG4 Sunshine South West Rocks, responded to this reviewResponded 3 weeks ago

Lovely 5 "bubble" review, thank you! So glad you had a lovely family holiday here and enjoyed our year round kids club activities along with all of our fantastic facilities! The access into the resort from the rear of the cottages is a new addition that has been very well received by everyone staying in Cottage 1 & 2, and I will pass on your positive feedback to the owners of The Full Circle too, we are very lucky to have such a high standard eatery on site! We look forward to welcoming you back soon, thanks again, warm regards, Lucy

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 4 weeks ago via mobile

Very disappointing.
I'm a single mum and booked a "luxury" retreat for my birthday.
$700 for two nights.
Nothing luxurious.
Floors dirty, benches dirty.
Other visitors noisy and inconsiderate of children sleeping.
Pool was dirty.
Spa was cold.
BBQ' took 1.5 hours to heat up to cook sausages and chicken wings...
Exterior light didn't work... maintenance said we can't fix it till Monday (no help we will be checked out)

Light in bathroom didn't work, water was luke warm.
Staff not overly concerned or friendly when I told them.

Restaurant food was high quality but very expensive.
Lounge wasn't comfy, and had no cushions.

Mattress was hard.

Disappointed as I could of used the money to stay somewhere really nice, but I thought it was kid friendly.

Water park is dangerous as too many unsupervised kids, jumping and running, almost drowning smaller kids who are in the smaller pools....

I wouldn't return unfortunately.
South west rocks is so beautiful.
Next time would get a private holiday home.
Do your research! Don't be fooled by internet pics!!!

Date of stay: November 2018
Trip type: Travelled with family
Thank OnAir03267000395
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Lucy C, Guest Relations Manager at BIG4 Sunshine South West Rocks, responded to this reviewResponded 4 weeks ago

Thank you for your feedback OnAir, I'm glad you found South West Rocks beautiful, it really is a gem on the North Coast! I will pass you feedback on to The Full Circle too - it really is delicious food! I'm very sorry you didn't enjoy your stay with us, it is very unusual for our guests to have the experience that you did, the majority of our reviews are extremely positive & our exit surveys consistently score 4.8/5 for cleanliness for our villas & the resort. The pool has just had a brand new chlorination system installed and is checked 3 times a day so is constantly kept clean. Our maintenance team can normally fix most issues within reason, as long as we have the parts and are alerted to them being broken. We do ask all parents to monitor their children, as there is no lifeguard on duty - unfortunately some parents dont do the right thing by other children. The mattresses in your villa have just recently been replaced but I appreciate that some mattress firmness is a personal choice. Once again,thank you for your feedback. Kind regards, Lucy

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 4 weeks ago via mobile

The best holiday spot for families. The water park is fantastic! Kids are amused constantly between that..the go karts..tennis & the games room plus the kangaroos & other wildlife are just beautiful. Not to mention the most beautiful beaches are just a few minutes drive away. The camp kitchen has everything you need too. Definitely my #1 holiday destination!

Date of stay: November 2018
Trip type: Travelled with family
Thank Tina W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Lucy C, Guest Relations Manager at BIG4 Sunshine South West Rocks, responded to this reviewResponded 3 weeks ago

Amazing, fantastic review Tina, thank you so much, so glad we are your #1 holiday destination, that is an awesome wrap! Its so great to have all the fun facilities AND the kangaroos hopping around isnt it? The best of both worlds and out of this world for the kids! We look forward to welcoming you back for another terrific family holiday. Thanks again, warm regards, Lucy

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed November 4, 2018

We are a family of four who recently stayed in one of the bigger cabins at the back of the park (luxury resort villa). We stayed for 3 nights and had a ball. The pool/s are outstanding. The park is so, so clean. We can't fault the amenities at all. We had been on the road for a month and stayed at a lot of places and it was the little things for me when we arrived at the Big 4 Sunshine. It might sound silly but there were hooks for all of us for our bathroom towels, no other place had hooks in the cabins for our towels. They had more then enough dishwashing and laundry detergent and bin liners etc. Other places we had to ask for more. Kangaroos roamed the park, so to did mosquitoes but we just burnt some coils on the deck. Our kids loved the park and jumping pillow. The staff were beautiful. Very accommodating. We highly recommend this place if you're camping or staying in a cabin. It's just delightful and the facilities mean you don't have to drive anywhere.

Date of stay: October 2018
  • Trip type: Travelled with family
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Lauren T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Lucy C, Guest Relations Manager at BIG4 Sunshine South West Rocks, responded to this reviewResponded November 4, 2018

Thanks for your fantastic 10 out of 10 review & recommendation Lauren, so glad you had an awesome time with us and noticed all the little things that all of our teams do to make sure every guest has a great stay with us. There is so much to do within the resort, it would have been lovely not to drive anywhere after a month on the road. Next time you will have to stay longer so that you can experience the beauty that South West Rocks has to offer too! Apologies for the mozzies, I think it would be hard to find anywhere on the North or South Coast of Australia that doesnt have them! Thanks again, warm regards, Lucy

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews