We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great food, great location”

The pocket BURLEIGH
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: US$7 - US$17
Cuisines: Mediterranean
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Dining options: Breakfast, After-hours, Reservations
Description: "Fresh, healthy,sensationally delicious and authentic", that's our food at The Pocket Burleigh. Large selection of vegan and vegetarian as well as meat dishes. Award winning Nat Byron's coffee, beer and wine. Casual sitting in a relaxed and pleasant atmosphere less then 100 mtr from the beach. friendly and professional staff.
Reviewed 25 January 2017

The Pocket has some great healthy eating options and their falafel pockets are a must. They're loaded with salad and a good amont of falafel, delicious.
Hubby also enjoyed his skewers and was not disappointed.
The food is great but the staff are not everly friendly, fortunately we come for the food not the coversation.

Thank WG S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
C M, Owner at The pocket BURLEIGH, responded to this reviewResponded 26 January 2017

We really appreciate and value your feedback. We are constantly training our staff in customer service. We really apologize that you did not have a great experience at the pocket as we do strive to do our best. We hope to see more of you in the future.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (229)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

48 - 52 of 229 reviews

Reviewed 23 January 2017

All I can say the service has nose dived. Does anyone know how to make a coffee. Pity they advertise the best Byron bay coffee. Not good business for them when baristas can't produce a good cup. Also my pocket was horrible. What's going on.... plus had to wait for a very long time when there was hardly any people here....

    • Value
    • Service
    • Food
Thank paulbyran
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
C M, Owner at The pocket BURLEIGH, responded to this reviewResponded 26 January 2017

We are really sorry to hear you had a bad experience at the pocket. We aim to provide good, healthy, tasty food, well served in a great atmosphere. We assure you that your complaint and feedback is really of value to us as this will give us the opportunity to remedy any problem that may exist and help to improve our service further. We take pride in what we have created and the service we provide, and we view any disgruntled customer as a setback. We hope that you will give us another try under better circumstances.
Thank you, THE POCKET MANAGEMENT

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 23 January 2017 via mobile

Food is still ok but a bit on the expensive side. Coffee ok but not as good as some other local places. Service is a bit off and very slow.

Thank Rob W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
C M, Owner at The pocket BURLEIGH, responded to this reviewResponded 26 January 2017

Thank you for your feedback. We will look into your concerns and endeavor to rectify any shortcomings. We are constantly training our staff in customer service and coffee. We really apologize that you did not have a great experience at the pocket as we do strive to do our best. Sorry we did not meet the mark this time around.
We hope to see more of you in the future.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 23 January 2017

I would never have known about this place, had a friend not told me, as many new "organic coffee" cafes are below par in Burleigh sadly except for a few old reliables I frequent. Its got all I want, great coffee, free wifi, laid back style, bright and quirky and some vintage decor, seems very busy yet relaxed and vibrant atmosphere, not tried the food yet, except a home made brownie with a mix of different seeds, as I am a people watcher and happy to drink cappuccinos which were very well rounded brew, consistent and served by happy easy going approachable staff. Its my go to place in the middle of the day. Its in the top spot right opposite the park. Seating inside the café on the right angle for the people watcher. Also another tick for it is my favourite Loose Leaf Madura tea on the drinks menu. Can it get any better? Its a Byron Bay style that fits right in at Burleigh now that the cafe scene here is being unindated by new blood. Usually I walk right past these cafes in this street as they all seem to be "fails" in my experience however, this is a winner. Well done to owners of The Pocket. Can't wait to go back.

Great mix of décor an old kitchen hutch,

    • Value
    • Service
    • Food
Thank malbertster
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
C M, Owner at The pocket BURLEIGH, responded to this reviewResponded 26 January 2017

Thank you for your feedback. Glad you enjoyed the experience. We hope to see more of you in the future. Please do try the food next time as we cater for gluten free, vegan and vegetarians.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 7 January 2017

Really good falafel so if you are in the mood something quick and easy this would be a great place to swing past - again does get very busy in the summer

Thank SEGIOZ
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
C M, Owner at The pocket BURLEIGH, responded to this reviewResponded 26 January 2017

Thank you for your feedback. Glad you enjoyed the experience. We hope to see more of you in the future.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed The pocket BURLEIGH also viewed

Burleigh Heads, Gold Coast
Burleigh Heads, Gold Coast
 
Burleigh Heads, Gold Coast
Burleigh Heads, Gold Coast
 

Been to The pocket BURLEIGH? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing