We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great camping spot!”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
Western KI Caravan Park and Wildlife Reserve
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 2 January 2013

We spent 3 nights at Western KI in our camper on an un-powered site. It was very quiet as it was off season so we got to pick our spot. We found the caravan park to be very pleasant, ammenities were clean, and staff were nice to deal with. Used the fire pit one night, the kids taught some German tourists how to toast marshmallows over the fire! Loved the lagoon nature walk, we did it at dusk, then I went back with my camera and did it at dawn, it was just beautiful! Great base to explore the western end of KI, we went down to Flinders Chase NP & as far as Little Sahara. Highly recommended!!

  • Stayed: November 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Ranksontour
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (188)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

134 - 140 of 188 reviews

Reviewed 19 December 2012

We visited after reading other reviews on trip advisor. Camped in a tent. Only 22 bucks per night for u/p site. Bargain. Saw more wildlife here than in the nat. Park up the road! Koalas, roos, wobblies, parrots, possums. Great value. Camp kitchen excellent. Best weve seen. Will def revisit.

  • Stayed: December 2012
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
Thank missmnmrf
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 27 November 2012

We stayed at this park with friends for 3 nights from 15th November. We had 2 unpowered sites as our friends had a camper trailer with their own power. There was plenty of room and we were able to choose whichever campsite we wanted, despite the fact that we had already booked one. We chose one overlooking the "oval" from where we could observe Cape Barron geese, kangaroos and joeys, and koalas. The bird life was prolific - rainbow lorikeets and other parrots. We even had kangaroos coming into our annexe at night (while we were still sitting around fortunately) and 3 ducks which visited and just made themselves at home. We were quite close to the ensuite amenities block which was spotless and very hot water. There is another amenities block also. There is a large camp kitchen which we only used for washing up but was used very much by other campers. We did the walk around Becky Lagoon and saw black swans and cygnets, egrets and many other birds as well as kangaroos. Unfortunately we did not have time to do the koala walk but many other reviewers have said it is well worth doing. We liked the location of the park, close to Flinders Chase National Park and many other attractions on this part of the island. A car is a necessity on Kangaroo Island if all attractions are to be visited, but in saying that we did notice bus tours run by Sealink. This park was certainly a wonderful experience, well run, tidy and spacious and I would recommend without hesitation.

  • Stayed: November 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank molletts
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 15 November 2012 via mobile

We spend only one night there since we did the Sealink "special" that offers only the two other caravan parks on the island.
This place is the best! Tiny overall but spacious sites, clean ablutions, big campkitchen and close to Flinders Chase NP. Plus, of course, the free koala walk! I recommend staying here!

  • Stayed: November 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank CayeK
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 2 November 2012

We had great memories of Western KI Caravan Park from 10 years ago and returned recently to find to our relief that the place is just as charming and beautiful as we remembered.
We picked a non powered site for tents. There is so much room. We had a firepit and the fire wood was $10 for a very full wheelbarrow load which lasted us for 4 nights. The communal kitchen is large and the best I have seen. The wildlife is the main reason we chose to come back. We went to sleep to the sound of hundreds of frogs and woke to the sound of turkeys. Their koala walk is lovely and we saw koalas, walabies, kangaroos, lizards, turkeys, swans, ducks,......so many other birds I don't know what they are called. The toilets are clean and airy and not busy. They even have a filleting shack equiped to scale and fillet your catch.
Looking forward to another stay with the nephews in the next 12 months.

Room Tip: If you want a fire ask for a site with a fire pit as not all sites have one.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: September 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Ingrid K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 8 October 2012

We stayed here in our Britz campervan for one night in September and this was by far our favourite place to stay on KI (other places we stayed were Kangaroo Island Shores and Kingscote Tourist Park). Our powered site cost less than $30 and was spacious and quite private, with wallabies wandering right up to the door! At around dusk we did the Koala Walk and saw a koala! We also saw another koala run past our site and up a tree. Very exciting for us poms. There were also lots of wallabies and possums.

The showers were hot, water pressure good and amenities block clean.

There is a great little shop at reception, selling things from shampoo to ice to milk. Very handy on KI where you sometimes don't pass a shop for a while.

Very friendly owners who have obviously put a lot into the place.

I only wish we'd stayed longer!

  • Stayed: September 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank maddyb123
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 7 October 2012

Peaceful, plenty of wildlife, good camp kitchen, friendly staff, great location. Kids loved it and so did we. Highly recommend as a base for the western end of the island. Koalas, kangaroos, possums and turkeys (believe it or not) wander the grounds giving you plenty of close encounters and photo opportunities.

Stayed: October 2012, travelled with family
Thank DRailieur
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Kingscote
2.1 km away
Kangaroo Island Wilderness Retreat
82.3 km away
Aurora Ozone Hotel
Aurora Ozone Hotel
#3 of 5 in Kingscote
870 reviews
89.7 km away
Mercure Kangaroo Island Lodge
Mercure Kangaroo Island Lodge
#1 of 2 in American River
428 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
82.6 km away
Kangaroo Island Acacia Apartments
80.4 km away
Kangaroo Island Cabins
Kangaroo Island Cabins
#5 of 7 in Kingscote
32 reviews
82.0 km away
Kangaroo Island Seaview Motel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Western KI Caravan Park and Wildlife Reserve? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Western KI Caravan Park and Wildlife Reserve

Address: 7928 South Coast Road | Karatta, Kingscote, Kangaroo Island, South Australia 5223, Australia
Phone Number:
Region: Australia > South Australia > Kangaroo Island > Kingscote
Amenities:
Free Parking Kitchenette Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 7 Speciality Lodging in Kingscote
Price Range: $122 - $205 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Western KI Caravan Park and Wildlife Reserve 4*
Number of rooms: 9
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, TripOnline SA, Priceline and Agoda so you can book your Western KI Caravan Park and Wildlife Reserve reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Western KI Caravan Park And Wildlife Reserve Kangaroo Island/Kingscote

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing