We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Nearby Hotels
Reviews (233)
Filter reviews
233 results
Traveller rating
155
68
8
1
1
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
155
68
8
1
1
Show reviews that mention
All reviews wilderness trail koala walk flinders chase national park cape barren geese powered site camp kitchen western end of the island log cabin transfer service remarkable rocks kelly hill caves food supplies hanson bay park owners toilet shower kangaroo island raptor domain
Filter
Updating list...
171 - 176 of 233 reviews
Reviewed December 19, 2012

We visited after reading other reviews on trip advisor. Camped in a tent. Only 22 bucks per night for u/p site. Bargain. Saw more wildlife here than in the nat. Park up the road! Koalas, roos, wobblies, parrots, possums. Great value. Camp kitchen excellent. Best weve seen. Will def revisit.

Date of stay: December 2012
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
Thank missmnmrf
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed November 27, 2012

We stayed at this park with friends for 3 nights from 15th November. We had 2 unpowered sites as our friends had a camper trailer with their own power. There was plenty of room and we were able to choose whichever campsite we wanted, despite the fact that we had already booked one. We chose one overlooking the "oval" from where we could observe Cape Barron geese, kangaroos and joeys, and koalas. The bird life was prolific - rainbow lorikeets and other parrots. We even had kangaroos coming into our annexe at night (while we were still sitting around fortunately) and 3 ducks which visited and just made themselves at home. We were quite close to the ensuite amenities block which was spotless and very hot water. There is another amenities block also. There is a large camp kitchen which we only used for washing up but was used very much by other campers. We did the walk around Becky Lagoon and saw black swans and cygnets, egrets and many other birds as well as kangaroos. Unfortunately we did not have time to do the koala walk but many other reviewers have said it is well worth doing. We liked the location of the park, close to Flinders Chase National Park and many other attractions on this part of the island. A car is a necessity on Kangaroo Island if all attractions are to be visited, but in saying that we did notice bus tours run by Sealink. This park was certainly a wonderful experience, well run, tidy and spacious and I would recommend without hesitation.

Date of stay: November 2012
  • Trip type: Travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank molletts
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed November 15, 2012 via mobile

We spend only one night there since we did the Sealink "special" that offers only the two other caravan parks on the island.
This place is the best! Tiny overall but spacious sites, clean ablutions, big campkitchen and close to Flinders Chase NP. Plus, of course, the free koala walk! I recommend staying here!

Date of stay: November 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank CayeK
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed November 2, 2012

We had great memories of Western KI Caravan Park from 10 years ago and returned recently to find to our relief that the place is just as charming and beautiful as we remembered.
We picked a non powered site for tents. There is so much room. We had a firepit and the fire wood was $10 for a very full wheelbarrow load which lasted us for 4 nights. The communal kitchen is large and the best I have seen. The wildlife is the main reason we chose to come back. We went to sleep to the sound of hundreds of frogs and woke to the sound of turkeys. Their koala walk is lovely and we saw koalas, walabies, kangaroos, lizards, turkeys, swans, ducks,......so many other birds I don't know what they are called. The toilets are clean and airy and not busy. They even have a filleting shack equiped to scale and fillet your catch.
Looking forward to another stay with the nephews in the next 12 months.

Room tip: If you want a fire ask for a site with a fire pit as not all sites have one.
Date of stay: September 2012
  • Trip type: Travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Ingrid K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed October 8, 2012

We stayed here in our Britz campervan for one night in September and this was by far our favourite place to stay on KI (other places we stayed were Kangaroo Island Shores and Kingscote Tourist Park). Our powered site cost less than $30 and was spacious and quite private, with wallabies wandering right up to the door! At around dusk we did the Koala Walk and saw a koala! We also saw another koala run past our site and up a tree. Very exciting for us poms. There were also lots of wallabies and possums.

The showers were hot, water pressure good and amenities block clean.

There is a great little shop at reception, selling things from shampoo to ice to milk. Very handy on KI where you sometimes don't pass a shop for a while.

Very friendly owners who have obviously put a lot into the place.

I only wish we'd stayed longer!

Date of stay: September 2012
  • Trip type: Travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank maddyb123
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews