We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
“worth a stay”
other travellers have booked this property
Front view with roses
Bookings for this home are first-come, first served. Lock in your dates before they are gone
Front view with roses
Main bathroom with two person spa, double shower, double vanity and WC Kitchen and dining area
Check Availability
Request to Book
Make Enquiry
Excellent
35 reviews
Front view with roses
Main bathroom with two person spa, double shower, double vanity and WC
Kitchen and dining area
One of three queen bedrooms
Queen bedroom (one of three queens) with ensuite bathroom
Third bathroom with shower, vanity and WC
Rear garden view
Side garden view
Outside deck with shelter, shadecloth, table and chairs for eight guests
View of rear garden and outside deck with shelter and shadecloth
View of front garden
Living room with TV/DVD
View of king bedroom
One of three queen bedrooms
This property is not available for these dates.
Don't give up! Enquire about other rentals just like this one that are available -
Show all rentals available
Overview
Private Room, 3 Bathrooms, Sleeps 8
Naracoorte, South Australia

Reviews from our community

Excellent - based on 35 reviews
Write a Review

Reviews from our community

Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
English first
Any
English first
mike p
Adelaide, Australia
Level 5 Contributor
57 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
“worth a stay”
Reviewed September 23, 2014 for a stay in September 2014

three friends and I stayed for 2 nights. On arrival we found the place to be immaculate and the AC was on. This was a bonus given the fact the nights were very chilly. Each room was well equipped with a queen or double bed and a nice sound system. Three bathrooms was a bonus along with the food provided for breakfast.
The location was great, only minutes from anywhere. We'll be back.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Service
Liked best: cleanliness
Liked least: nothing
Travelling group: Friends
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Older travelers
Families with young children Large groups
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
JoeDobb
Adelaide, Australia
Level 3 Contributor
12 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
“Great Weekend”
Reviewed September 6, 2014 for a stay in September 2014

What a great place to stay to enjoy all that Narracoorte has to offer. We where a party of four couples and the house provided every thing we needed and more. The bedrooms and living areas are beautiful and the location to the town centre was get. If you are plan to stay here then you must go to Tender Cuts butcher for the best sausages in SA. So good we are having them shipped to Adelaide for our friends to enjoy. Thank you Richard we will be back again soon to see the caves and sample some more wines.

Regards Joe

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: The house felt like staying with old friends. loved it
Liked least: Loved it all
Travelling group: Friends
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway People with disabilities
Older travelers Families with young children
Large groups
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Caroline...
Adelaide, South Australia, Australia
Level 2 Contributor
6 reviews
“Outstanding”
Reviewed September 5, 2014 for a stay in August 2014

My husband and I stayed here whilst on a limestone coast break. The house was beautifully clean, wonderfully appointed. Top quality kitchen and lovely and warm when we arrived on a cold day. Close to everything and superbly equipped. Great, comfortable bed and relaxing spa. One of the most enjoyable stays we have experienced. We would definitely recommend and will return for a longer break.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: Everything
Liked least: Nothing to fault
Travelling group: Spouse/Partner
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway People with disabilities
Older travelers Families with young children
Large groups People with pets
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Chieko M
Melbourne, Australia
1 review
“Fantastic”
Reviewed July 23, 2014 for a stay in July 2014

We arrived MacDonnell house on the very cold day. We opened the door, and everyone smiled. Nice big house, clean kitchen and bathrooms, and the house was WARM !! The housekeeper left the heater on for us. In the fridge, there were plenty of food for the breakfast, and bottle of wine on the kitchen table. Many DVDs to keep busy young children. This house was the best of the best during our two weeks driving holiday from Melbourne to South Australia.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Travelling group: Young Children
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Families with young children
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Karyn B
Adelaide, Australia
Level 3 Contributor
14 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Family catch-up”
Reviewed May 21, 2014 for a stay in May 2014

We all wanted to stay together and this property suited our requirements. Close to town centre and playground across the road.
Wish you were pet friendly as then we could of bought our kitten. The back veranda would of been perfect for him.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: The property accommodates large groups.
Liked least: Size of the rooms didn't really fit porta cot. It was a tight squeeze.
Travelling group: Spouse/Partner
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Large groups
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sue M
Adelaide, Australia
2 reviews
“Excellent Accommodation for very reasonable cost!”
Reviewed March 31, 2014 for a stay in March 2014

MacDonnell House Bed & breakfast has everything you need for a very comfortable holiday! All bedrooms were of a generous size as were the kitchen, dining, lounge and 3 bathrooms! Breakfast staples provided were more than ample or a full cooked or continental breakfast! Care has been taken to ensure all needs are met and the house was well presented and clean! I would certainly stay here again and recommend it to anyone venturing to Naracoorte for business or pleasure.

Value Rooms
Location Cleanliness
Service
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
melissa k
Adelaide, Australia
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Everything we wanted and more!”
Reviewed February 2, 2014 for a stay in December 2013
1
person found this review helpful

We had 2 families with young children sharing the house. There was plently of room for everyone, and it was great to be able to allow the children to run around in the secured yard. The house itself was fantasic with all the modern facilities, and all the neccessites included. We were all very impressed, and would come back again.

Travelling group: Young Children
Your age range 25-34
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Enter dates for more accurate prices
2 guests
Adults2
Children0
Apply
Do you own a vacation rental? List it here.
Extra income
Earn money by renting out your home. With no up-front fees and no contract, you keep more for yourself.
Easy to manage
Confirm bookings in one click and track everything from enquiry to check-out – even while you're on the go.
Trusted by travellers
With millions of reviews and protected online payments, TripAdvisor helps travellers book your home with confidence.
Set up your free listing