We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
“Management cares about your stay”
other traveller has booked this property

Review of Smith Street Villa

Front of Smith Street Villa
Bookings for this home are first-come, first served. Lock in your dates before they are gone
Front of Smith Street Villa
Kitchen and dining area Living room with combustion heater
Check Availability
Request to Book
Make Enquiry
Excellent
21 reviews
Front of Smith Street Villa
Kitchen and dining area
Living room with combustion heater
Main bathroom with bath, shower, vanity and WC
Kitchen
Living room with TV and DVD player
Twin bedroom with two single beds
Second of the two double bedrooms
Back verandah and outdoor setting
Back verandah and garden view
First of the two double bedrooms
Second bathroom with shower over half-bath
View of living room
Back porch with laundry facilities including clothesdryer
Queen bedroom (one of two queens) at front of house
Queen bedroom (one of two queens) in centre of house
This property is not available for these dates.
Don't give up! Enquire about other rentals just like this one that are available -
Show all rentals available
Overview
Private Room, 2 Bathrooms, Sleeps 8
Naracoorte, South Australia

Reviews from our community

Excellent - based on 21 reviews
Write a Review

Reviews from our community

Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
English first
Any
English first
Simon C
Adelaide, Australia
1 review
“Management cares about your stay”
Reviewed 17 August 2015 for a stay in May 2015

In my 2 night stay, the telephone & wifi was cut during the second morning apparently because of work carried out on the street by SAWATER. We've informed the management about this after the stay and received apologies which are well accepted. Many weeks later the management sent me a cheque as compensation for the inconvenience after chasing this up with SAWATER.

This demonstrates that the management cares about the enjoyment of your stay - and indeed the stay was enjoyable abeit the slight convenience which is out of control of the management.

We are a small family of 3 but there are many more rooms available in the house which should suit much larger groups.

Travelling group: Young Children
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Families with young children Large groups
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
18 Aug 2015
Thank you. It was so unfortunate that a plumber, working for SA Water, cut the telephone line in front of Smith Street Villa, which meant that we lost the landline and the free wifi during a stay by guests. While it was beyond our control, we made sure to claim some money for the damage so that we could partly reimburse our guests. with kind regards Richard Peake
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Jo C
Adelaide Hills, Australia
Level 3 Contributor
17 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Better than staying a motel”
Reviewed 8 August 2015 for a stay in June 2015

Stayed in the cottage with a couple of work colleagues while in Naracoorte for a workshop. Much nicer than staying a motel. Two bathrooms and large bedrooms allowed for privacy. Large modern kitchen, complete with family sized kitchen table, and fully equipped laundry would make this cottage very suitable to extended family holidays. Decor is a little tired, but the cottage is clean and tidy and everything works. Fridge was filled with a comprehensive breakfast pack and complementary wine.

Overall condition of the property Bedding & mattresses
Kitchen & utensils Bathroom cleanliness
Liked best: Nice warm bed
Liked least: Decor
Travelling group: Other
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway People with disabilities
Older travelers Families with young children
Large groups People with pets
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
9 Aug 2015
Thank you very much for taking the time to review Smith Street Villa and for your recommending it for groups and family holidays. I have also noted your comment about the decor being a little tired: I will certainly work on that as Naracoorte Cottages prides itself on continuously improving the furniture, furnishings and amenities. Only this month we replaced all 8 kitchen/dining chairs with more substantial and comfortable chairs; and repainted the front 2 bedrooms. With kind regards, Richard Peake
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Margaret...
Adelaide, Australia
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
“Made our getaway all the more enjoyable”
Reviewed 17 July 2015 for a stay in July 2015

Good location close to main shopping street. Large rooms, comfortable beds and most importantly for our mid winter getaway, WARM. All beds had electric blankets plus ducted heating.
House very clean and well presented.
Management were very helpful.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: Big and roomy. Warm in winter
Liked least: Nothing
Travelling group: Extended Family
Your age range 50-64
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Older travelers
Families with young children Large groups
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
18 Jul 2015
Thank you very much. We're glad you enjoyed the warmth of Smith Street Villa in winter. With air conditioners in the living rooms, ducted AC in the bedrooms, combustion heater in the living room and electric blankets, we aim to ensure the house is cosy. regards Richard Peake
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Triphine
Sydney, Australia
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Comfy, lot's of space, calm”
Reviewed 2 February 2015 for a stay in December 2014

The house was very comfortable with lot's of space for everybody. Well located in the village as well as well equipped. Would go back again.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness
Travelling group: Extended Family
Your age range 35-49
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Older travelers
Families with young children Large groups
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
3 Feb 2015
Thank you, it was a pleasure to have you stay at Smith Street Villa, regards Richard Peake.
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Danny K
Canberra, Australia
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
“Large comfortable and welcoming......... and caring management”
Reviewed 20 January 2015 for a stay in January 2015

The whole house, the back verandah and backyard were oh so comfortable - our party of 7 could easily relax in solitude in the different living areas with every mod con required of such a stay. Breakfast items were too much - could not finish the ample supplies. Very cool for the summer weather. the house is only let down by the town of Narracoorte itself.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: many large comfortable rooms
Liked least: Narracoorte eateries
Travelling group: Extended Family
Your age range 50-64
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Older travelers
Families with young children Large groups
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
25 Jan 2015
Thank you very much. We aimed to make Smith Street Villa very versatile for families and groups. We're glad that you were able to make good use of the indoor and outdoor spaces. regards Richard Peake
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Melina_s1...
1 review
“Dream home with everything you need”
Reviewed 20 January 2015 for a stay in January 2015

Very convenient and quite location close to the shops. It was like a dream home. Had all the facilities we needed and a nice size backyard. We were 8 people and we each had our own space. Beds were comfortable and the storage was unbelievable. Enough hanging space for clothes. Overall we had a lovely stay and were provided with we needed.

Value Rooms
Location Cleanliness
Service
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
25 Jan 2015
Thank you so much for your review. Smith Street Villa is an ideal place to stay in Naracoorte if you like being close to the town centre. regards Richard Peake
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
KLJDot
Adelaide, Australia
Level 3 Contributor
9 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Very generous home, but it was the litle things that made the difference”
Reviewed 7 January 2015 for a stay in January 2015

We were spending a couple of days in the Coonawarra exploring the great wines with friends and.left it a bit late to book our accommodation. We couldn't find anything in Penola, so decided to travel a bit further and stay in Naracoorte. We were so glad we did! Richard replied very promptly to my email enquiry about leaving one of our cars in the driveway for the day and left the key for us to let ourselves in (and unpack the wine from our Clare stay, so it didn't cook in the boot on the 40 degree day). Back at home after a day of tasting, we opted for an easy meal coked on the BBQ on the back deck, made up of leftovers from our picnic basket and the very generous breakfast provisions, including eggs, bacon and tomatoes. There was, oil, salt and pepper, butter, real milk - for all our tastes, from skinny to full cream, jams and spreads. The shady back garden even provided us with mulberries for dessert. The air-con was effective on the hot night and the country style kitchen was a great space for breakfast. What a treat! We will definitely be returning to this gorgeous house. Thanks!

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Travelling group: Friends
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Older travelers
Families with young children Large groups
People with pets
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
8 Jan 2015
Thanks, Karyn, I'm glad you enjoyed your stay. The review is one of the most comprehensive, generous and positive that we've ever received for Smith Street Villa, so Judy and I appreciate your comments very much. Having built a large back verandah at the house for al fresco living 2 years ago, we now plan to improve the back garden and fencing in 2015 to make Smith Street Villa more enjoyable for groups and families. With kind regards, Richard Peake
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Enter dates for more accurate prices
2 guests
Adults2
Children0
Apply
from
US$139
/ Night
Book Now
Or, send the owner a message
This property has Payment Protection
Never pay for your vacation rental by wire transfer.
Learn more about paying safely.
Do you own a vacation rental? List it here.
Extra income
Earn money by renting out your home. With no up-front fees and no contract, you keep more for yourself.
Easy to manage
Confirm bookings in one click and track everything from enquiry to check-out – even while you're on the go.
Trusted by travellers
With millions of reviews and protected online payments, TripAdvisor helps travellers book your home with confidence.
Set up your free listing