We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Nearby Hotels
Reviews (57)
Filter reviews
57 results
Traveller rating
34
13
6
1
3
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
34
13
6
1
3
Show reviews that mention
All reviews cod penguin nook fairy penguins two story second bedroom home away from home washer and dryer king size bed upper floor the kitchen large tv short stroll stayed nights couple of nights backyard lounge cottage
Filter
Updating list...
13 - 18 of 57 reviews
Reviewed June 7, 2017

We stayed in the aptly named Penguin Nook. Fantastic apartment true to the website images. Tastefully furnished and recently refurbished. Very well appointed in an amazing location. And yes, the penguins do walk up and wander past the door. What more could you ask for? Will definitely stay here again on our next Tassie trip. Thank you David.

  • Stayed: June 2017, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
Thank Leann B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed March 22, 2017 via mobile

I stayed in the two story cottage with family members. It's really lovely and has a spacious bedroom and bathroom on the top floor, with the second bedroom and bathroom downstairs. The lounge room, dining and kitchen areas are appointed with quality fittings. It's a very easy home to live in - we booked four nights and could have stayed longer. The place was very clean and had everything we needed. I even saw penguins in the yard at night!

Stayed: March 2017, travelled with family
Thank Gail B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed October 18, 2016 via mobile

OMG what an amazing first night here. Lovely comfortable cottage beautifully located on the beach edge and tonight we went to the beach about 8.15 and just waited...yes we could hear the penguins talking with each other then there they were toddling along the rocks towards our cottage up on the bank. We shone our tourch on them briefly and there were several. We decided we would move back to our cottage and unfortunately they were on the same path we were. They were not startled just moved to the side to let us pass. Back at our cottage we opened our back doors and there they were..several but only 2 were cheeky enough to almost come in. We closed the door and they went around the side of the cottage. Amazing i would recommend this place especially "penguins nook.

Stayed: October 2016, travelled as a couple
1  Thank Tony P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed September 24, 2016

I booked and stayed recently at Anchlia Cottages with a friend from overseas. The cottages are in an excellent spot right on the waterfront so that the penguins come into the garden at night .The accommodation was very clean thoughtfully furnished and equipped .The beds are very comfortable and good quality .
The owner was helpful and informative and we really enjoyed this place.Would definitely return here.

Room Tip: Best views for penguins and walking distance to shops
  • Stayed: September 2016, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
1  Thank beachlovers019
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed June 28, 2016

We first stayed here in Dec 2014, squiring our 2 teenage grandchildren on a pretty full - on hire car trip around Tassie, visiting old favourite places. And Bicheno was on that list. This time, we had my wife's step-mum with us, on a similar tour.

We needed the house (as distinct from the 2 charming and adjoining 'cottages') as it has huge sprawling space, all the appliances one could wish for, and 2 very spacious bedrooms.

Owner Trevor called in to greet us soon after we had arrived and let ourselves in via the password - released entry key process that one needs to be aware of (instructions are in the reservation notes), and he was very friendly and helpful.

Bicheno with it's foreshore including Diamond Island, 'sea-bird central' Governor Island separated from the mainland by intriguing Waub's Gulch and the amazing Blowhole (high tide, good on-shore wind), is a terrific little place. And, at least as good, it is a wonderful base from which to explore beautiful and historic Freycinet Peninsula.

Penguin lover? Well Anchila House is definitely your spot. The Fairy Ps are magic and this time they didn't try to keep us awake all night with their ......... umm, 'getting friendly and competitive' activities as they did previously, in the December mating season. We still knew they were there however (some actually have their nests in cunning spots around the property), so best to keep windows shut at night : -)

As Big Arnie said, "I'll - make that We'll - be back".

Room Tip: Just depends on how many in the group. They are great.
  • Stayed: May 2016, travelled with family
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Service
2  Thank growingold_never13
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews