We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A Very Mixed Review”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Bicheno's Ocean View Retreat
Ranked #4 of 6 Bicheno B&B and Inns
Reviewed 19 December 2017 via mobile

Upon driving up the bumpy pot- holed driveway we were greeted by a whiteboard with instructions of which room was our accomodation for the evening. Unfortunately for us our first impressions of the room not so great as it smelt like wet dog. Let's face it we can agree with every other review- the views are outstanding. The room was small, the shower was small and the shower head didn't want to stay on. Now getting past this, the bed was extremely comfortable, there was a microwave, kettle and crockery to suit. But wait- we were served the most incredible breakfast...fresh fruit and yogurt, porridge, fresh milk, toast with an assortment of spreads and then still to come was poached eggs, bacon on fresh baby spinach. Wi fi was an issue the entire stay. So a hard one to review because we seemed to get average to extremely impressed with brekky!!!

Stayed: December 2017, travelled with family
Thank Grange73
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (168)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

2 - 8 of 168 reviews

Reviewed 6 December 2017

We were just delighted with everything about Ocean View Retreat, from the booking to the check out. The unit was exactly as Sarah had described for us and we have very specific requirements. Michael was so pleasant and helpful but not intrusive.
The view from the unit was just glorious. The unit was very comfortable and beautifully clean and little extras were included as in butter sachets and jam, vegemite and peanut butter sachets as well as milk. The washing machine in the large bathroom is a bonus. There is a clothes line outside and plenty of pegs and also a drying rack.
It was quiet and so peaceful but not far from anything. Seeing lots of wild life was a bonus. I wouldn't want to drive in in the dark for the first time because the track from the road is narrow but perfectly safe and it is easy to follow directions.
All in all, I can't imagine anywhere in Bicheno I'd rather stay, it was perfect. Bicheno is unspoilt and beautiful and Ocean View Retreat as good as it gets.

Room Tip: Email any request and you will have excellent and prompt response to your query.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: November 2017, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
1  Thank Patricia D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 17 November 2017 via mobile

Located a decent distance outside of Bicheno the lodges provide a decent level of facilities although ours didn’t have air con and the mobile and wi fi reception was at best poor.
The views however are simply great and make an outside breakfast a wonderful experience!

Stayed: November 2017, travelled with friends
2  Thank Stephen H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 6 November 2017

This location was excellent, being the only accommodation on a hill with an awesome view of Bicheno Ocean. The self-contained unit is complete with appliances for cooking and washing, a comfortable bedroom and living cum dining room facing the ocean.
This was our base for 4 days in September 2016. Perfect location to explore the areas of Freycinet Park, for fresh oysters, Bay of Fires, Wineglass Bay, Campbell town.

Sarah was a wonderful host who made sure that all our needs were met.

Room Tip: 2-bedrom on the ground floor
See more room tips
  • Stayed: December 2016, travelled as a couple
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Kath295
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 6 October 2017

A very convenient place to stay in Bicheno with beautiful views. Beds were comfortable, all needed amenities were provided. There was also a washing machine & dryer very accessible. Looking forward to staying there again.

Stayed: April 2017
Thank Davidl60
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 25 April 2017 via mobile

The accommodation is not far from town but you will need a car to head to town. Should not be an issue if you've got yourself to Bicheno. Town is about 3kms away. The unit was great and had everything we needed to cook our meals. It was very warm inside and the owner had the heating on for our arrival which was nice. The view is amazing and the unit feels very private and homely.

Stayed: April 2017, travelled as a couple
Thank DavidandPeta
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 25 March 2017 via mobile

After a bumpy drive up the uncared for entrance track we eventually found our welcome - a note on a whiteboard. Obviously other guests had the same problem because they came knocking on our door to find out how to check in.
No contact with staff before during or when we left. This was bazar. The room was old and tired, dishes and pans in the cupboard were dirty. WiFi is a non existent to patchy at best. No phone reception. The views were spectacular so if this is all you want this place is good.

Stayed: March 2017, travelled as a couple
Thank Bruce3479
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Bicheno
2.9 km away
Beachfront Bicheno
Beachfront Bicheno
#2 of 4 in Bicheno
403 reviews
1.1 km away
Diamond Island Resort & Penguin Show
36.9 km away
Piermont Retreat
Piermont Retreat
#1 of 3 in Swansea
489 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2 km away
Wintersun Gardens Motel
2.5 km away
Tidelines of Bicheno
Tidelines of Bicheno
#1 of 6 in Bicheno
140 reviews
28.4 km away
Edge of the Bay Resort
Edge of the Bay Resort
#2 of 2 in Coles Bay
434 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Bicheno's Ocean View Retreat? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Bicheno's Ocean View Retreat

Address: 18067 Tasman Hwy, Bicheno, Tasmania 7215, Australia
Region: Australia > Tasmania > Bicheno
Amenities:
Beach Free Parking Kitchenette Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa
Hotel Style:
Ranked #4 of 6 B&Bs / Inns in Bicheno
Price Range: $108 - $193 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Bicheno's Ocean View Retreat 4*
Number of rooms: 6
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Bicheno's Ocean View Retreat has ultimate views over McLeans Bay, Diamond Island and Dennison Beach. Sunrise and phenomenal Sunsets are definitely a highlight 365 days a year with Winter sunsets being earlier and more magnificent and Summer sunrises gifting an enlivening start to the day (a joyful, inspiring morning high! An exquisite white sandy cove below is perfect for swimming, relaxing and experiencing the exhilerating purity only the ocean and fresh air can imbibe. A 10 minute walk to beautiful pristine Dennison Beach enables you to explore endlessly and find coveted artifacts. Bicheno's Ocean View Retreat is home to a family of Kangaroos, Wallabies and Possums, which you are most certain to be able to see in the evening. The bush is part of Ocean View as are the stars and tranquility. Nearby Wildlife tours and world renown nature environment parks make Bicheno's Ocean View REtreat fabulous for two day stays, and with cozy and comfortable Queen beds! 1 - 8 guests can be accommodated in the 6 well equipped units (4 self catering and 2 B+B. Breakfasts are well received and can be supplied not only in the B+B but also in the self catering accommodation. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Priceline, TripOnline SA and HotelQuickly so you can book your Bicheno's Ocean View Retreat reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing