We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great place to stay in Apollo Bay!”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Surfside Backpackers
Melbourne, Australia
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Great place to stay in Apollo Bay!”
Reviewed 28 December 2011

This is a really great hostel run by a woman -Robyn- who works hard, and tries her very best to help the backpackers who stay with her. The hostel is kept in excellent condition, and is very clean! It is a very welcoming atmosphere with a couple different common areas that are very open and easy to relax in. You will have no problems here, and it is a welcome change to some of the more dank city hostels. As far as a small town hostel, you can't really do much better as far as accommodation and friendly service is concerned. Highly recommended! Plus there is free wifi.....and unlike most "free wifi" it actually works!

  • Stayed December 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Matt F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

62 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    17
    23
    12
    5
    5
See reviews for
3
20
9
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (3)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
leipzig
Level Contributor
23 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
Reviewed 6 August 2011

we stayed in the hostel during the off season, so there were only 3 more people. but the owner was a very sweet and friendly women, the dorms were clean, beds comfortable and the bathroom was quiet good for an hostel as well.
all in all I would defenitely stay there again.
just one thing that u might wanna think of-it could be totally diffrent when it's fully booked during summer.

  • Stayed July 2011
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank menschki
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sydney, Australia
Level Contributor
25 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
Reviewed 19 July 2011

We decided to abandon camping, and take refuge for a couple of nights here. the room was cosy, with a heater and blankets, and we had a view of the ocean. the kitchen was well equipped, and the lounge had an awesoome view to the beach and rugged surf. As LP states, lovely little vinyl collection, board games, magazines, internet. A little home from home. Good outside area as well to chill and drink beer in teh summer!

  • Stayed August 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank hammockman
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Canada
Level Contributor
72 reviews
20 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 47 helpful votes
Reviewed 17 April 2011

This hostel had more couches and lounges than all of the previous hostels i stayed at put together.
Although, we didnt use them very much, as the music festival was on and we were out exploring. The facilities were a bit run down, but it was cozy. The bathrooms were slightly spartan, but clean enough.

Stayed April 2011, travelled with friends
Helpful?
Thank NadiaH84
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Paris, France
Level Contributor
82 reviews
58 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 51 helpful votes
Reviewed 30 August 2010

This place is with a special charm, with nice structure : different buildings, with different rooms. And very close to the sea.
We are not actually backpackers, therefore, the experience was a bit different than our other hotels and B&B and if we appreciate to have a big kitchen at disposal, the overall experience was not so pleasant.
- room was really dirty. spider's web. dust. smell of dust. We don't mind the basic furniture, but really you can make it clean.
- even though we were travelling during winter time we were awake during the night about 2 am by some people outside (can't tell if there were people from the backpacker hotel or neighbours), discussing laughing and trying theirs engine and listening to loud music. and you can hear them as if they were in the neighbour room.

Finally I think the price is too high for a backpacker.

  • Stayed August 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank mac_elina
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Glasgow
Level Contributor
23 reviews
19 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
Reviewed 14 January 2008

On business by myself and took a few days off driving from Melbourne to Adelaide on the Great Ocean Road. Surfside Backpackers suited me fine. Room was simple but clean. Apollo Bay has some good restaurants and a few bars - tested them out before heading back for a decent night's sleep. Good value.

Stayed March 2007
Helpful?
Thank Calgacus
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
carlton
1 review
Reviewed 26 September 2007

i highly recommend that anybody thinking of staying at surfside "backpackers" should look elsewhere, or even take a tent!
surfside is more like a family B & B and not for backpackers, for the main reason you cannot have fun! theres a curfew on what time you can stay in the lounge, which is around 10:30, you cannot play games such as drinking games (drinking games are prohibited at surfside) or games that may result in loud laughter and a good time!
Surfside would suit anybody who likes to go to bed early.

Stayed September 2007
Helpful?
Thank leebutters
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers are raving about these Apollo Bay hotels

Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Apollo Bay hotels
0.4 km away
Comfort Inn The International
0.6 km away
Best Western Apollo Bay Motel and Apartments
1.2 km away
Sandpiper Motel
Sandpiper Motel
#3 of 12 in Apollo Bay
604 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.5 km away
Apollo Bay Eco YHA
Apollo Bay Eco YHA
#6 of 32 in Apollo Bay
254 reviews
2.0 km away
Motel Marengo
Motel Marengo
#2 of 12 in Apollo Bay
291 reviews
0.9 km away
Apollo Bay Backpackers Lodge
Apollo Bay Backpackers Lodge
#28 of 32 in Apollo Bay
95 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Surfside Backpackers? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Surfside Backpackers

Property: Surfside Backpackers
Address: 7 Gambier St, Apollo Bay, Victoria 3233, Australia
Region: Australia > Victoria > Apollo Bay
Hotel Style:
Ranked #17 of 32 Speciality Lodging in Apollo Bay
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Number of rooms: 69

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing