We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Nearby Hotels
Reviews (38)
Filter reviews
38 results
Traveller rating
29
8
1
0
0
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
29
8
1
0
0
Show reviews that mention
All reviewsshort drivethe great ocean roadcommon living areaerskine fallscockatooskitchenetteguestsoznoisesuitelinens
Filter
Updating list...
4 - 9 of 38 reviews
Reviewed February 10, 2017

I found Lorne by accident and so glad we did. I was on way to exploring the Great Ocean Road and wanted a place to stay over night on my way back.

We turned late late in the evening and didn't appreciate where we were. We were met by John, he showed us to a beautiful studio room, it had everything you needed, clean towels amenities, tiny kitchenette. Lovely bed.

In the morning we were surrounded by the most beautiful cockatoos all white on the front lawn

There is a sitting room area where you could read in privacy, tv in the room itself.

Sue the owner was there on the morning, lovely lady so very helpful. We were able to leave all our belongings while we explored Lorne.

Highly recommended and would definitely stay again. I wish we could of stayed longer.

Room Tip: Booth rooms are fab
  • Stayed: January 2017, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Thank DuquesaLondon
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed January 15, 2017

Unfortunately we only stayed one night at this beautiful little b&b. We were a family of 4 so we had the place for ourselves. The bedrooms are very nicely decorated, all very comfortable and really clean. Big, modern bathrooms. The owner, Sue, was very nice, chatty and helpful. She left tea, coffee and sweets for us in the little kitchenette. Would love to come back sometime and stay longer.

  • Stayed: January 2017, travelled with family
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Asa F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed January 13, 2017

We wish we could have stayed much longer. This was our first stop along the Great Ocean Road. We were overwhelmed by the number of exotic birds surrounding the porch. As folks have said the accommodations are very comfortable. It's close to town where we bought some steaks and BBQ'd them on the porch. It's a few blocks below Teddy's Lookout magnificent view of the coast and a short drive from Erskin Fall. But most important Sue, is wonderful. She even packed a lunch for us to take along as we continued our journey.

  • Stayed: October 2016, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
Thank DavidR14230
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed December 18, 2016

This turned out to be a terrific BnB, comprising two separate ensuite rooms, with a spacious attractive lounge half a floor below to be shared with another set of guests. We were lucky enough to have the place to ourselves for two nights, but that wasn't what made it so great. Our host Sue was a joy -- warm, friendly, full of excellent tips and advice about Lorne and how to make the most of it.

Our bedroom was exceptionally comfortable -- (the jacuzzi in the bathroom was appreciated!) -- and was as well appointed as an upscale hotel.

AAL is situated on a roundabout at the top of a steep hill that means it's ensured from the bustle and noise of Lorne itself. It's a peaceful haven, and a fine place to start and end the day.

Sue was helpful in urging us to visit local beauty spots, including nearby Teddy's Lookout and also the Erskine Falls, a short drive away. And we benefitted from some insider neighbourhood knowledge on her part -- she informed us that each night just before dusk, half a dozen kangaroos arrive to graze on an empty lot between two houses on a suburban side street within easy reach. We saw them for ourselves, which was thrilling.

All in all, it was hard to find fault with AAL, and all credit must go to Sue for her thoughtful and imaginative approach to running the place. It's truly exceptional, and we'd return like a shot. Thank you so much, Sue!

Philippa and David

  • Stayed: December 2016, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Service
Thank philippa m
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed September 8, 2016 via mobile

This BnB was a suggestion from the Lorne Information Centre. It is away from the busy main street and is on a roundabout, hence the name. There are two separate rooms with ensuites in the front part of this lovely timber home. They share the use of a well furnished large lounge which has a gas log fireplace. We were the only guests when we stayed one night midweek. The host, Sue, is so warm and helpful. She made us very welcome and provided milk, tea & coffee & chocolates. If required, breakfast was extra over the daily rate. The room and large ensuite are beautifully decorated. The queen bed was super comfortable and warm. In the morning birds (king parrots, galahs & cockatoos) visit the verandah outside the room to be fed. We would definitely stay in this lovely BnB again.

Stayed: September 2016, travelled as a couple
Thank EABA10
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
susanbalderas, Owner at Around About Lorne, responded to this reviewResponded September 11, 2016

Thank you so much for your generous feedback . I hope the remaining part of your holiday was also as special.
We love where we live and always want our guests to enjoy the area as much as we do.
We are here to help you experience the best we have to offer.

Many Thanks
Sue

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews