We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Beautiful stay”
Review of Around About Lorne

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Lorne
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Around About Lorne
Ranked #3 of 8 Lorne B&B and Inns
Reviewed 27 February 2017 via mobile

Have stayed here in October 2016 and was very very impressed and we plan to stay again very soon and can't wait. The owners are lovely and it was a perfect place to stay with our dogs. Was easy to walk down into lorne. The walk back up is a little tuff but if you enjoy a nice walk it's a great location close to everything at the top of the hill.
Very clean and cute little rooms to stay in.
Can't wait to stay again soon.

Stayed: February 2017, travelled as a couple
Thank Brienna C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (37)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

3 - 9 of 37 reviews

Reviewed 10 February 2017

I found Lorne by accident and so glad we did. I was on way to exploring the Great Ocean Road and wanted a place to stay over night on my way back.

We turned late late in the evening and didn't appreciate where we were. We were met by John, he showed us to a beautiful studio room, it had everything you needed, clean towels amenities, tiny kitchenette. Lovely bed.

In the morning we were surrounded by the most beautiful cockatoos all white on the front lawn

There is a sitting room area where you could read in privacy, tv in the room itself.

Sue the owner was there on the morning, lovely lady so very helpful. We were able to leave all our belongings while we explored Lorne.

Highly recommended and would definitely stay again. I wish we could of stayed longer.

Room Tip: Booth rooms are fab
See more room tips
  • Stayed: January 2017, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Thank DuquesaLondon
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 15 January 2017

Unfortunately we only stayed one night at this beautiful little b&b. We were a family of 4 so we had the place for ourselves. The bedrooms are very nicely decorated, all very comfortable and really clean. Big, modern bathrooms. The owner, Sue, was very nice, chatty and helpful. She left tea, coffee and sweets for us in the little kitchenette. Would love to come back sometime and stay longer.

  • Stayed: January 2017, travelled with family
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Asa F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 13 January 2017

We wish we could have stayed much longer. This was our first stop along the Great Ocean Road. We were overwhelmed by the number of exotic birds surrounding the porch. As folks have said the accommodations are very comfortable. It's close to town where we bought some steaks and BBQ'd them on the porch. It's a few blocks below Teddy's Lookout magnificent view of the coast and a short drive from Erskin Fall. But most important Sue, is wonderful. She even packed a lunch for us to take along as we continued our journey.

  • Stayed: October 2016, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
Thank David R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 18 December 2016

This turned out to be a terrific BnB, comprising two separate ensuite rooms, with a spacious attractive lounge half a floor below to be shared with another set of guests. We were lucky enough to have the place to ourselves for two nights, but that wasn't what made it so great. Our host Sue was a joy -- warm, friendly, full of excellent tips and advice about Lorne and how to make the most of it.

Our bedroom was exceptionally comfortable -- (the jacuzzi in the bathroom was appreciated!) -- and was as well appointed as an upscale hotel.

AAL is situated on a roundabout at the top of a steep hill that means it's ensured from the bustle and noise of Lorne itself. It's a peaceful haven, and a fine place to start and end the day.

Sue was helpful in urging us to visit local beauty spots, including nearby Teddy's Lookout and also the Erskine Falls, a short drive away. And we benefitted from some insider neighbourhood knowledge on her part -- she informed us that each night just before dusk, half a dozen kangaroos arrive to graze on an empty lot between two houses on a suburban side street within easy reach. We saw them for ourselves, which was thrilling.

All in all, it was hard to find fault with AAL, and all credit must go to Sue for her thoughtful and imaginative approach to running the place. It's truly exceptional, and we'd return like a shot. Thank you so much, Sue!

Philippa and David

  • Stayed: December 2016, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Service
Thank philippa m
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 8 September 2016 via mobile

This BnB was a suggestion from the Lorne Information Centre. It is away from the busy main street and is on a roundabout, hence the name. There are two separate rooms with ensuites in the front part of this lovely timber home. They share the use of a well furnished large lounge which has a gas log fireplace. We were the only guests when we stayed one night midweek. The host, Sue, is so warm and helpful. She made us very welcome and provided milk, tea & coffee & chocolates. If required, breakfast was extra over the daily rate. The room and large ensuite are beautifully decorated. The queen bed was super comfortable and warm. In the morning birds (king parrots, galahs & cockatoos) visit the verandah outside the room to be fed. We would definitely stay in this lovely BnB again.

Stayed: September 2016, travelled as a couple
Thank EABA10
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
susanbalderas, Owner at Around About Lorne, responded to this reviewResponded 11 September 2016

Thank you so much for your generous feedback . I hope the remaining part of your holiday was also as special.
We love where we live and always want our guests to enjoy the area as much as we do.
We are here to help you experience the best we have to offer.

Many Thanks
Sue

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 28 January 2016

Around About Lorne is fantastic. The hosts are so kind and willing to help in any way. The rooms are comparable to a 4-star hotel. The in-room jacuzzi is fabulous as well as the fireplace in the living room. It was very quiet and homey at night. We were lucky in that we had the whole place to ourselves. Not sure how it would have been sharing the living room if the other bedroom had been occupied. I would stay here if I ever came back. The location along the Great Ocean Road is perfect.

  • Stayed: November 2015, travelled with friends
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank JaneWalker24
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
susanbalderas, Owner at Around About Lorne, responded to this reviewResponded 12 February 2016

Thank you Jane for your kind words
We can actually offer varied ways of renting our property.
One is as a semi detached cottage with private lounge, not shared.
This can be arrange upon arrival. Of course the price may vary but it is an option if you want the place to yourselves.. Yes it is a lovely quiet environment, away from the main street but only a 5 minute walk down to beach, however 10 to 15 minutes to walk back up. Its a good hill!
Pleased you enjoyed your stay and look forward to your return.
We have quite a few return guests which is so nice.
Again thank you for your kind words.
Regards Sue and Family

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Lorne hotels
1.5 km away
Grand Pacific Hotel Lorne
1.1 km away
Lorne Coachman Inn
Lorne Coachman Inn
#8 of 9 in Lorne
204 reviews
0.5 km away
The Sandridge
The Sandridge
#4 of 9 in Lorne
178 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.9 km away
Mantra Lorne
Mantra Lorne
#3 of 9 in Lorne
3,423 reviews
0.2 km away
La Perouse Lorne
La Perouse Lorne
#1 of 8 in Lorne
117 reviews
0.5 km away
Cumberland Lorne Resort
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Around About Lorne? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Around About Lorne

Address: 86 Otway St, Lorne, Victoria 3232, Australia
Region: Australia > Victoria > Lorne
Amenities:
Spa
Hotel Style:
Ranked #3 of 8 B&Bs / Inns in Lorne
Number of rooms: 2
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Two new privately ensuited studios, including luxury double bath spas, queen size beds, linens, towels, kitchenette. ... more   less 

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing