We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Nearby Hotels
Reviews (38)
Filter reviews
38 results
Traveller rating
29
8
1
0
0
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
29
8
1
0
0
See what travellers are saying:
Filter
Updating list...
1 - 6 of 38 reviews
Reviewed April 24, 2017

Our overnight stay was not long enough to take advantage of this place which is difficult to precisely categorise. It’s not quite a B+B nor is it a routine holiday letting but more like a homestay in a charming self-contained cottage annexed to the owner’s private home. We took one of two discrete suites which share a common living area that opens to a pleasant balcony and had the place to ourselves but it was large enough to work fine if shared – or even better if taking both suites. Located – as the name alludes – on a roundabout, first impressions were that it could be noisy but it proved to be a very peaceful bushland setting.

The good: modern, conspicuously clean and comfortable guest suite (#2) that opens to a small semi-private balcony with views that stretch to Bass Strait. There is a small and nicely appointed kitchenette and spacious bathroom. The queen bed was comfortable and linens were plush. Everything expected was there and it all worked as expected. The décor is summerhouse eclectic which works fine in this setting. The host, Sue, was hospitable and informative and ever-willing to accommodate our preferences. Parking is at the front door and the wifi worked well on all our devices. A compendium of local information was provided in our suite. Breakfast is an optional quality DIY continental selection or opt out and dine out.

The not so good: luggage space was a little meagre in our suite. Some noise penetrated from the residence above into the shared living space. On the issue of noise, our guest suite would have been exceptionally quiet except if it wasn’t for the intrusive drone from the refrigerator. Much about Lorne is about the beach and this is ‘around about’ but not actually there. It’s a short drive or a 10-15 minute walk to the happening part of town but then there is the serenity. Your choice.

Date of stay: April 2017
  • Trip type: Travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Service
2  Thank Tedstravelblogs
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
susanbalderas, Owner at Around About Lorne, responded to this reviewResponded April 26, 2017

Gosh Ted that is the most detailed review.
Ps "Around About Lorne"
Thank you for taking the time.
I must check that Fridge. Thank you for mentioning.
Re the lounge.
This is also our" buffer zone" for noise, hopefully to give you a great sleep in your studio.
Purpose built and designed with this in mind.
We do our best to keep this noise at a minimal.

Yes our Beach is devine and only five to ten minutes walk down to.
However coming back up is ten to 15 minutes.
A two minute drive.
You really need to have more time next trip, to enjoy the bush walks and waterfalls we have in our "back yard". Even more devine!
Enjoy your remaining journey around our amazingly beautiful Country.
And hopefully we might see you again sometime.
You can remember us as a "Faulty Towers" experience!

All the best
Sue Darren Oscar and Fraser
Around About Lorne



Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed April 15, 2017

My husband and I were looking for a short drive from Melbourne before starting out on the Great Ocean Road. Lorne was the perfect place. Our room was very clean and comfortable, and the surroundings were really tranquil. After checking in, we followed our host's recommendations to go to a nearby lookout and were treated to a spectacular coastal view and a close encounter with a cooperative koala in a tree there.The next morning we saw a cockatoo in a tree in the front yard and took a short drive to Erskine Falls (only minutes from Around About Lorne). If you're traveling here, our only suggestion is that the property is literally on the roundabout. We missed it a couple of times initially as we didn't understand this.

Room tip: Either of their suites seems to be comparable.
Date of stay: April 2017
  • Trip type: Travelled as a couple
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
1  Thank Kscott_Odessa
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
susanbalderas, Owner at Around About Lorne, responded to this reviewResponded April 17, 2017

Karen pleased to hear you had a relaxing stay and enjoyed Lorne.
Now the King Parrotts decide to show up!?
Hope you enjoyed the remaining exciting Journey you had planned.

Many Thanks
Sue and Darren

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed February 27, 2017 via mobile

Have stayed here in October 2016 and was very very impressed and we plan to stay again very soon and can't wait. The owners are lovely and it was a perfect place to stay with our dogs. Was easy to walk down into lorne. The walk back up is a little tuff but if you enjoy a nice walk it's a great location close to everything at the top of the hill.
Very clean and cute little rooms to stay in.
Can't wait to stay again soon.

Date of stay: February 2017
Trip type: Travelled as a couple
Thank briennac2016
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed February 10, 2017

I found Lorne by accident and so glad we did. I was on way to exploring the Great Ocean Road and wanted a place to stay over night on my way back.

We turned late late in the evening and didn't appreciate where we were. We were met by John, he showed us to a beautiful studio room, it had everything you needed, clean towels amenities, tiny kitchenette. Lovely bed.

In the morning we were surrounded by the most beautiful cockatoos all white on the front lawn

There is a sitting room area where you could read in privacy, tv in the room itself.

Sue the owner was there on the morning, lovely lady so very helpful. We were able to leave all our belongings while we explored Lorne.

Highly recommended and would definitely stay again. I wish we could of stayed longer.

Room tip: Booth rooms are fab
Date of stay: January 2017
  • Trip type: Travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Thank DuquesaLondon
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed January 15, 2017

Unfortunately we only stayed one night at this beautiful little b&b. We were a family of 4 so we had the place for ourselves. The bedrooms are very nicely decorated, all very comfortable and really clean. Big, modern bathrooms. The owner, Sue, was very nice, chatty and helpful. She left tea, coffee and sweets for us in the little kitchenette. Would love to come back sometime and stay longer.

Date of stay: January 2017
  • Trip type: Travelled with family
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Asa F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews