We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Expensive ”
Review of Lorne Hotel Bistro

Lorne Hotel Bistro
Ranked #21 of 46 Restaurants in Lorne
Price range: US$12 - US$32
Cuisines: Fast food
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Dining options: Breakfast, After-hours, Reservations
Description: Our modern bistro offers unparalleled views and all day dining, serving your favorite pub classics, a large variety of seafood dishes and plenty of options for kids. There's always something delicious to compliment your choice of drink, while you soak in the stunning surrounds from inside the bistro or outside in the beer garden.
Reviewed 2 weeks ago via mobile

We came for lunch recently and couldn’t believe how expensive the menu was. It was typical pub food at fine dining prices.

Our experience was nothing to rave about!

We will try somewhere else next time we’re visiting.

Thank Span1357-
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (347)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

2 - 6 of 347 reviews

Reviewed 2 weeks ago

We were a group of 11 (adults and kids) camping nearby and decided to have a meal out on our last night. After spending the afternoon on the Lorne foreshore the younger kids were getting restless. I called to see if we could bring the booking forward and while our request was easily accepted they had failed to let the floor staff know who were not expecting us so soon. The food came out at reasonable speed except for one meal that was missed (poor communication on both sides) but quickly rectified.Food was nice but not terrific and overpriced for basically pub food but to be expected in a popular coastal tourist town. Booking is a must (during peak times) as it filled up very quickly. Communication is probably my biggest gripe. One of our group has a garlic allergy and asked a waiter if a part of his meal contained it, he said he would find out and never returned. After waiting 15 minutes we gave up and asked the girls at the bar (who were wonderful and friendly) who answered the question straight away. Overall it was a nice meal but will most likely try somewhere else next time.

    • Value
    • Service
    • Food
Thank Kylie357
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Lorne_Hotel_View, Manager at Lorne Hotel Bistro, responded to this reviewResponded 2 weeks ago

Kylie,

Thanks for your review and kind words.

We cater for large amounts of customer on busy weekends and agree bookings is a must.

My apologies for the staff not coming back and following up with you. I will cover this off in our weekly management meeting.

Kind Regards,

Paul Upham
Lorne Hotel

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 4 weeks ago

The negative reviews for this place really surprise me. I ate here a few weeks ago with two other companions. The food was great and service was very good. You can't beat the views. The only possible negative for us was that we could not linger and enjoy the great outdoor patio longer as our tour group would have left us behind.

    • Value
    • Service
    • Food
Thank MelissaPeery
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Lorne_Hotel_View, Manager at Lorne Hotel Bistro, responded to this reviewResponded 2 weeks ago

Melissa,

Thank you for your review and kind words.

Regards,

Paul Upham
Lorne Hotel

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 18 March 2018

We had a decent experience at the Lorne Hotel Bistro. The food was good but not special and view was quite nice. We had had a long day of driving so we really just wanted to get something decent to eat and call it a night. It did fit the bill but it is not overly memorable.

    • Value
    • Service
    • Food
Thank maureen_drew
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Lorne_Hotel_View, Manager at Lorne Hotel Bistro, responded to this reviewResponded 2 weeks ago

Thanks you for your review Maureen.

Any additional feedback about which meals you ordered would be of assistance to help us make our experience better.

Kind Regards,

Paul
Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 12 March 2018 via mobile

Great views, relaxed atmosphere. Food was very nice and staff were friendly. Would go back again. One of the better places to eat on Lorne.

Thank Michelle N
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Lorne_Hotel_View, Manager at Lorne Hotel Bistro, responded to this reviewResponded 18 March 2018

Thanks for your view, Michelle.

Great to hera you enjoyed the food and venue.

Hope to have you back at the venue soon.

Kind regards,

Paul
Venue Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Lorne Hotel Bistro also viewed

 

Been to Lorne Hotel Bistro? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing