We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Right in the Centre of Town”
Review of Central Motel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Central Motel
Ranked #6 of 11 Hotels in Port Fairy
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 27 February 2016

Lovely comfortable bed and very central to everything that Port Fairy has to offer. Lots of lovely cafes restaurants and hotels close by. No air conditioning in our room just a plug in fan which was a bit disappointing ..

  • Stayed: February 2016, travelled as a couple
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Delmac46
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (234)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

68 - 74 of 234 reviews

Reviewed 27 February 2016 via mobile

Dab smack in the middle of wonderful Port Fairy this is a very run of the mill motel. The rooms have had work done on them but they still lack charm and the paintwork is a depressing grey. The beds are ok, and the shower is fine. There is a decent Tv and fridge. It was good to find a toaster, plates and bowls as well as cups and glasses but some of these were dirty and unusable. Generally this is an acceptable budget motel but the prices weren't as we paid as much as a lovely apartment in Lorne

Stayed: February 2016, travelled as a couple
1  Thank Neil R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 26 February 2016

Very close to Port Fairy small harbour and to Griffith Island, it's easy to walk down there and quite interesting to see wallabies and birds.
Very close to the restaurants in Port Fairy.
Quiet and comfortable room, nice staff. Kettle, coffee and tea provided for breakfaxt in room.

  • Stayed: February 2016, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
Thank marieTLyon_France
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 24 February 2016 via mobile

Nice people work here. The town is nice and has some cool shops. The room is clean and comfortable. It's not luxury but it will certainly work for a night or 2. No AC so if it's hot they have a fan. The wifi is also free and the signal and speed is good.

Stayed: February 2016, travelled solo
Thank Upnorthtransplant1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 17 February 2016

We had stayed in a cheaper motel the previous night (not that far away), and therefore came with certain expectations. They weren't met. This is a very tired motel which needs refurbishment, and with a management that seems happy to go through the motions and pocket the money, knowing most people won't returen. Their right. We won't.

  • Stayed: December 2015, travelled as a couple
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
1  Thank KentishMan56
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Centralmotel, Owner at Central Motel, responded to this reviewResponded 27 February 2016

Hi KentishMan56
I note you stayed December and reviewed late February probably after your trip around OZ. I wonder are you confused and reviewing the correct motel because the categories where you have chosen to give very low ratings being position, sleep quality and service are the categories most of our guests rate us very highly.
The entire interior of the motel has just been painted throughout some months ago and present fresh and immaculately clean.
I and the other staff take great pride in the service we provide and your comment here is the most alarming and disappointing.of your review. In fact every guest comments on the friendliness and helpfulness of the staff at Central Motel and we will strive to continue that in the future.


Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 15 February 2016

Staff are very helpful and accommodating. Rooms are a little dated but are clean and tidy. Even though located in main street it was very quiet. Walking distance to shops ,restaurants etc. Town itself is relatively quiet as well. Very good budget accommodation.

  • Stayed: November 2015, travelled as a couple
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank 4musketeers2014
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 9 February 2016

We have just returned from great couple of days inbeautiful Port Fairy , staying at the Central Motel. The location is perfect for any visitor, right in the middle of the town and only a short walk to the main attractions. Safe carparking at the door plus peace and quiet at night as it is off the road,behind the shops. The room was bright and had all we needed,especially a comfy bed! There are lovely gardens for guests to relax in.

Room Tip: Our room was upstairs - ask for a ground floor room if stairs are an issue for you.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: February 2016, travelled as a couple
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Thank TrishG34
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Port Fairy
0.3 km away
Ashmont Motor Inn & Apartments
0.2 km away
Comfort Inn Port Fairy
Comfort Inn Port Fairy
#1 of 11 in Port Fairy
467 reviews
0.3 km away
The Victoria Apartments
The Victoria Apartments
#4 of 11 in Port Fairy
406 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.2 km away
No photo provided
Port Fairy Motor Inn
#11 of 11 in Port Fairy
25 reviews
20.8 km away
Deep Blue Hotel & Hot Springs
Deep Blue Hotel & Hot Springs
#6 of 28 in Warrnambool
804 reviews
0.4 km away
Douglas Riverside
Douglas Riverside
#7 of 11 in Port Fairy
44 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Central Motel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Central Motel

Address: 56 Sackville St, Port Fairy, Victoria 3284, Australia
Region: Australia > Victoria > Port Fairy
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking
Hotel Style:
Ranked #6 of 11 Hotels in Port Fairy
Price Range: $138 - $227 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Central Motel 3.5*
Number of rooms: 19
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Central Motel is located right in the heart of beautiful Port Fairy. You will find us tucked away in a quiet cul de sac just off the main street. Our charming bluestone building is set amongst a delightful garden setting. We offer affordable, clean and comfortable 3.5 star accommodation. We take great pride in offering excellent value for money with our friendly 'family' style hospitality. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Agoda, Hotels.com and Priceline so you can book your Central Motel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Central Motel Port Fairy, Australia - Victoria

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing