We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“We got a suite for the price of a room” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Wyndham Resort Torquay

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
Wyndham Resort Torquay
Ranked #3 of 5 Hotels in Torquay
Marlton, New Jersey
Level Contributor
641 reviews
105 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 561 helpful votes
“We got a suite for the price of a room”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 25 February 2012

I stayed here when it was the Crowne Point Plaza for our honeymoon. We had a room with a kitchen, living room, bedroom, bathroom and laundry for less than the price we paid at a motel in Port Campbell. I see some negative reviews, but we did not have any problems and were very pleased with our accommodations. The only thing that I didn't like was that you had to cross over the driveway outside to get to the elevator to the rooms. Everything was clean, the beds were comfortable and the beach was directly across the street. We were very happy here. It is at the end of the Esplande, so it is not within walking distance of town.

  • Stayed September 2011, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank angeleyes27
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

488 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    165
    180
    86
    30
    27
See reviews for
98
228
13
41
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (114)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Melbourne, Australia
Level Contributor
30 reviews
22 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 21 February 2012

I recently stayed at the newly named Wyndham Resort in Torquay, I had stayed here 3 times before when it was Crowne Plaza and had great stays so I returned with the same expectations...
Check in was really quick and easy and we were soon in our room. Walking to our room it was so hot and stuffy in the hallways. We had booked a 1 bedroom apartment with a queen size bed & sofa bed, it was nice to have the sofa bed already made up without needing to pull it our ourselves.
The sofa bed was the most uncomfortable bed I have ever slept in, there was a bar in my back and another at my knees, I don't even think this sofa bed would be suitable for children to sleep in.
I had booked a spa treatment which I can say I was very relaxed, however the therapist had bad breath & some really strange facial techniques that I had not experienced before in the many facials I have had.
Checkout was again quick & efficient, however I was not asked if we enjoyed our stay.
I will probably not return to this resort again. I feel it was overpriced and not worth our money which is a shame as it's in a great location and has such great potential.

  • Stayed February 2012, travelled with family
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Traveller255100
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sydney
Level Contributor
27 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 20 February 2012

This is quite a large holiday resort with a huge central pool and apartments laid out around it. I was in a studio room and it was quite large and had a nice sense of space with a separate kitchen, lounge room and large bathroom. The kitchen has miele appliances and a drawer dishwasher but only a bar fridge, which has no mini bar items. Saying that, there is a small shop by reception which would probably offer better value than a mini bar.

My lounge area only had two armchairs rather than a lounge and they aren't particularly comfortable. It has a LCD TV though and a large coffee table. There are sliding doors to the central area off both the lounge and bedroom areas and the curtains are very effective at keeping the light out (but not the noise).

The bathroom is quite impressive with a very large double shower with excellent water pressure and a separate large spa bath. The laundry with a washer and dryer is hidden in cupboards in here. Shampoo, conditioner, shower gel, moisturiser, ear buds, shower cap and soap are all provided.

There are floating floors throughout the room and they feel a bit cheap and like they haven't been laid properly. The bed was reasonably comfortable but has wheels and slides around a lot on these floors. I found that every time I rolled over, the bed would move a couple of inches. By the time I got up the bed had moved about a foot! Also the sheets used on the bed seem cheap. They had 50/50 written on it but they certainly didn't feel like 100% cotton and made me hot and a bit uncomfortable during the night. Maybe a polyester blend? Thankfully the room did have aircontidioning which was effective.

My biggest gripe with the room was that there was no drawer space at all. There was a huge double wardrobe but it was all hanging space with about four hangers. I personally like to unpack in any hotel and this meant I had all my tshirts, jeans and smalls just on the floor of the wardrobe. As the whole room seemed to be reasonably new, it seemed a huge oversight not to include a chest of drawers or even side drawers by the bed so clothes could be packed away.

The other problem was the noise from the pool area. Noise travels over water and while I understand people want to have a laugh, playing music until other guests complain seems like a very strange strategy. On the Friday night there was a guy playing guitar. He was quite good and this is fine but after I came back from dinner in town there seemed to be general music on. I was in the room literally furthest away from reception and the bar area and it was crystal clear. I watched a movie and it was still going past midnight. At 12.30am I rang reception as Hotel California was belting out and asked exactly when the music might be stopping. They turned it off immediately but given this is a hotel and every single room facing the pool would have been hearing the music loud and clear, is this a really good policy? I think they need to figure out if they are a hotel or a night club. If they want to keep the music going, bring it inside and shut the doors so it doesn't affect your sleeping (or trying to sleep) guests. The same thing happened the following night which I really find very strange as there were a lot of families in the resort over the weekend. Maybe they are trying to attract a younger crowd who want to sing bad songs long into the night?

The staff were very helpful and friendly throughout. I was here for a conference and the facilities for that were very good. We also ate here most meals and, apart from the first night when we were all late due to delayed flights and the food had been sitting in bain maries for hours, it was all pretty good for a hotel of this sort.

Room Tip: If you want to get some sleep, I'd suggest getting rooms that don't face the pool although s...
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2012, travelled on business
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank bacchaebabe
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Glenelg, Australia
Level Contributor
10 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 19 February 2012

This is our 2nd visit here (first while was Crowne Plaza). We chose a one bedroom pool view apartment and this was spacious, clean, great bed and 2 tv's. We wre on the ground floor and had no problems with any noise from the pool area (although we did arrive on a Sunday and left Wednesday so missed the peak weekend guest numbers). Had dinner in their restaurant twice and all up food and service was very good - although we were set to have the seafood platter until we were advised what was on offer - very limited that night compared to other places in town so ask first before you order. We initially booked direct 6 weeks out but saw much better deals through Wotif in the final week before we travelled.

  • Stayed January 2012, travelled as a couple
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank RenrowMandK
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Daylesford, Australia
Level Contributor
86 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 48 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 28 January 2012

Hubby and I took advantage of a day off to try out the newly acquired Wyndham Resort Torquay. We found it well-equipped with a lap pool, gym, spa, outdoor pool, bar and cafe and fine dining restaurant. The room was clean and comfy and best of all it was a mere stone's throw away from the beach. We missed having dinner at the fine dining restaurant as we've been out for a long drive to see the 12 Apostles so we had dinner at the bar cafe while enjoying the tennis on one of the many flat screen TVs. I must say the fish and chips I had was the best ever the prawn pizza hubby had was superb. More pleasant surprises came with the bill. 4 drinks and the meals only cost us $58 how good is that? Service was excellent too. Will definitely come back.

  • Stayed January 2012, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
4 Thank Marita S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Lemon Tree Passage, Australia
Level Contributor
109 reviews
28 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 60 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 27 January 2012

The resort is right on the beach but walk to the room was a long distance from the reception and car park. It had no direct access and you had to go up 2 different lifts to get to the room. The room faced onto a wall.

Room Tip: Ask for a room with an ocean view or one close to reception to save you walking a long distance to g...
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2011, travelled on business
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Susan G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Melbourne
Level Contributor
7 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 16 January 2012

My husband and I stayed for 2 nights with the possibility of staying 3. We tried to get the same midweek rate for the Friday night which would've been $40 less but they wouldn't budge. Due to the weather being quite ordinary while down there we decided to see what the weather had installed for us. It was still quite cool after that 2nd night so we opted to put that money towards a trip into Crown Casino, Melbourne. With that said we were upgraded to a pool view room which over looked the grounds which is lovely. The room itself, like others have said is on the smaller side but quite comfortable. The hallways and room were quite stuffy/warm so it was necessary to open the window. Air conditioning was available but personally I don't like the air blowing right down on me while I'm trying to sleep. Cocktails were nice and overall the staff were quite pleasant and accommodating. Parking is limited so we opted to pay $7 per day to park in the basement. The weather was blowing a gale and the rain was torrential at times so it was worth paying the extra $$ to have direct lift access to our floor. We had run to our car previously outside and got quite wet. One more thing...our room wasn't serviced and I would normally expect this from a 4.5 star resort.

  • Stayed January 2012, travelled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
6 Thank mounsta
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Torquay
1.2 km away
Torquay Tropicana Motel
Torquay Tropicana Motel
#4 of 5 in Torquay
4.0 of 5 bubbles 84 reviews
39.1 km away
Grand Pacific Hotel Lorne
2.5 km away
RACV Torquay Resort
RACV Torquay Resort
#1 of 5 in Torquay
4.5 of 5 bubbles 442 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.8 km away
Peppers The Sands Resort Torquay
15.8 km away
Great Ocean Road Resort
Great Ocean Road Resort
#1 of 1 in Anglesea
3.5 of 5 bubbles 64 reviews
0.9 km away
Whitesbeach Guesthouse
Whitesbeach Guesthouse
#1 of 7 in Torquay
5.0 of 5 bubbles 238 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Wyndham Resort Torquay? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Wyndham Resort Torquay

Property: Wyndham Resort Torquay
Address: 100 The Esplanade, Torquay, Victoria 3228, Australia (Formerly Crowne Plaza Hotel Torquay)
Phone Number:
Region: Australia > Victoria > Torquay
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #3 of 5 Hotels in Torquay
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — Wyndham Resort Torquay 4*
Number of rooms: 71
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Wyndham Resort Torquay, offers guests stylish and comfortable accommodation, showcasing sweeping views of the beautiful Zeally Bay Beach; located at the gateway to the Great Ocean Road. Torquay is home to the world famous Bells Beach and iconic surf brands including Quicksilver and Ripcurl. Immerse yourself in the epic surf culture of Victorians surf capital and begin your spectacular, Great Ocean Road adventure from the official starting point in Torquay. Wyndham Resorts luxury accommodation features quality hotel rooms and spacious one bedroom apartments, providing a private balcony or patio overlooking the swimming pool, stunning gardens or the magnificent ocean. The exceptional hotel facilities will be sure to complement your stay with us. The Resort features an impressive outdoor swimming pool and spa, fully equipped gym facilities and a full tennis court. During leisure time, a BBQ area, superb function venues and an outstanding restaurant and bar won’t fail to impress. Wyndham Resort Torquay, creates the perfect atmosphere for families and hopeless romantics to kick back and unwind. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Agoda and Travelocity so you can book your Wyndham Resort Torquay reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Wyndham Resort Torquay Hotel Torquay
Crowne Plaza Torquay

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing