We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Blazing Stump Motel and Suites
Nearby Hotels
Border Gateway Motel(Wodonga)(Great Value!)
US$82
Travelocity
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Murray Valley Motel(Wodonga)(Great Value!)
US$76
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
US$65
US$61
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Best Western Stagecoach Motel(Wodonga)(Great Value!)
US$85
US$82
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Motel 24(Wodonga)(Great Value!)
US$64
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Belvoir Village Motel & Apartments(Wodonga)(Great Value!)
US$85
Hotwire.com
View Deal
  • Free Parking
  • Pool
Albury Paddlesteamer(Albury)(Great Value!)
US$86
US$83
Travelocity
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
US$64
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Best Western Plus Hovell Tree Inn(Albury)(Great Value!)
US$106
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Reviews (320)
Filter reviews
320 results
Traveller rating
189
97
22
4
8
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
189
97
22
4
8
Show reviews that mention
All reviewspub next doorcomfort innkids playgroundbreakfast roomwe stayed in a two bedroommain roadlarge bathroomordered room serviceeasy accesscomfortable bedsquiet locationair conditionerstay there againfree wifigreat place to staystayed one nightshort walk
Filter
Updating list...
305 - 310 of 320 reviews
Reviewed November 24, 2011

This hotel was a bit further east of Wodonga than I had expected but was conveniently located for a trip around the Hume Weir. It was clean and comfortable. The complex is next door to a popular hotel bistro which serves good meals.

  • Stayed: November 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank hebburnman
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed November 2, 2011

For the position of this Hotel, it was overpriced. It is on the outskirts of town. On a positive, the rooms were quite new and a decent size and the bed was extremely high quality and comfortable. We arrived after dark and did not have a booking, so maybe they could see we were tired and price hiked.

  • Stayed: October 2011, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank LynneOz
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
MotelManagerWodonga, General Manager at Blazing Stump Motel and Suites, responded to this reviewResponded November 3, 2011

Dear Minnie006

I would like to assure you that we NEVER price hike nor do we vary our rates on daily basis, we take pride in offering our same Best Available Rate whether you arrived with or without a reservation or time of day.

Unfortunately it is widely believed that a country town should offer lower rates yet have a similar standard of accommodation to capital cities or popular tourist destinations. As a 4.5 STAR accommodation provider it is important that we continue to meet the expectations of our guests, therefore to continue to upgrade our suites and services and offer great quality bedding as experienced, we do need to ensure that an appropriate rate is charged. Many of our social media reviews believe we are value for money.

Thank you again for your review. We are pleased that you found the suite to be of a good size, modern and with a comfortable bed.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed October 29, 2011

After much hype from relatives and friends I felt really let down with my families stay here. On arrival I spent 10 minutes being ignored by the receptionist who was on the phone. I didnt expect her to hang up but a "with you in a minute" or even ackowledgment via eye contact and a smile would have been nice.

The room was "meh". Small, old and a bit smelly. The bathroom wasnt clean the shower was filmy and had a funny odour. Apart from the bathroom the rest of the room was fairly clean, but I didnt feel comfortable giving my young child a shower there so she waited till we arrived at our destination.

  • Stayed: October 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank MrsMag00
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
MotelManagerWodonga, General Manager at Blazing Stump Motel and Suites, responded to this reviewResponded November 2, 2011

Thank you MrsMag00 for your comments.

I must say that I share your disappointment however mine is twofold. We pride ourselves on offering a high standard of service and accommodation, however I am also disappointed that this is the first we are hearing about it. I cannot impress how important it is to advise us of any issues that may occur during a guest stay to allow us to correct the situation. Unfortunately after leaving there is nothing to do but try and obtain further details to ensure it won't happen again. This being said I would very much appreciate you contacting me directly to allow me to obtain further details as to which team member was on and which suite, apartment or cabin you stayed in. In the interest of future guest satisfaction, I trust that you will be able to assist us in ensuring that all future guests have an enjoyable stay. We look forward to using your comments for further training and hope that should you choose to stay again you will be satisfied with your accommodation and will be able to have open communication with our team.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed September 29, 2011

Stayed here recently for one night during a business trip. The Blazing Stump is part of a large hotel motel complex on the eastern outskirts of Wodonga, a few minutes drive from the Melbourne Sydney Highway. Got an internet deal for $140 which included breakfast.

They have a small breakfast restaurant near the rooms with the main lunch/dinner restaurant being next door at the pub. Had a fantastic big steak cooked to perfection for dinner with chips and salad and 3 large beers for $42. The place is well patronised by locals.
They have a drive through / walk in bottle shop for take away alcohol / soft drinks as well.

(A tip, the bottle shop sold a great range of local wines from small wineries at great prices, you would not be able to get these wines in Melbourne or Sydney)

The room (No. 14) was very clean, large with one double and one single bed. It had a kitchenette with fridge, microwave, kettle (tea, coffee. milk, sugar supplied) utensils, etc. Bathroom was large and bright with additional hot lamp heating. The room was quiet with rendered and painted brick walls.

The only minor issues I could see were the wardrobe was very small (about 600mm wide) 3 people staying here for several days would have trouble hanging up clothes.

Also the drive through reception was a bit tight with a couple of hard turns required to enter off the main road. If you were towing a trailer or caravan you should enter via the pub end of the complex and walk to reception.

The management are very professional, details were confirmed direct to my mobile phone after booking, and a courtesy thankyou message left later in the day once I checked out.

My trip was due to a project at the nearby Murray Goulburn dairy plant at Tangambalanga (many people from this project were staying here). Other reasons to stay here would be to explore the nearby Murray River and Lake Hume, Kiewa Valley, North East snowfields and wineries. Lots of watersports, great fishing and golf courses in the area.

Would suggest that if you have time driving back to Melbourne take the scenic and historic detour through Yackandandah (great old pub and second hand shops), Beechworth (famous cake and pie shop), Milawa (Brown Bros winery and cheese factory) and then back to the freeway at Wangaratta.

The motel is close to the local Bandiana Army base also

For the kids there is a 24 hour McD's 100 metres away, for the big kids the Wodonga horse racing track which holds several events a year is within walking distance. The pub next door has poker machines in a seperate area.

All in all, liked it and will be back in a couple of months.

  • Stayed: September 2011, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank H-and-S-Langwarrin
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
MotelManagerWodonga, General Manager at Blazing Stump Motel and Suites, responded to this reviewResponded October 10, 2011

Dear H-and-S-Langwarrin

Thank you so much for your review. We place much emphasis on guest experience and we are delighted that you enjoyed our motel and had a great experience in our region.

We have many different styles of accommodation and as you have suggested these twin suites such as you experienced are great for overnight or a couple of days, however for longer stays we also offer 14 two bedroom suites and 2 one bedroom spa suites which offer larger living spaces for that home-away-from-home feeling.

We look forward to welcoming you again on your next visit and thank you for your review.

Yours Sincerely

The Comfort Inn & Suites Blazing Stump Family

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed September 1, 2011

We stayed in a Two Bedroom Spa Suite for one night. It had one king sized bed (room 1) and two single beds (room 2).

From the outside, you may be forgiven for thinking this place is your typical country hotel, but don't judge a book by its cover!

Pros

1. Very Clean. The place was spotless.

2. Modern. TV, Heater, Fridge, Microwave - all looked new.

3. Attention to detail. eg: lovely eco friendly shampoo/conditioner. We were given some "kids packs", drawing, crayons etc.. for the drive home.

4. Kids play area. Fenced off with slide & quality equipment incl sand etc..

5. Very, very fast check in/check out. Staff were very friendly and asked if everything was ok.

6. Firm bed, high quality sheets.

Cons

1. The rooms (at the back of the hotel) don't appear to get a lot of natural light, just by the way they are facing. The good thing about those rooms, is that they are very quiet!

2. The design of our room was in a horseshoe type style (which took awhile to get used to). It wasn't your "typical" hotel design.

Note: I didn't have breakfast there, so I'm unable to rate it.

Summary

I get the impression that the hotel staff enjoy what they do. They really care and they have put a lot of effort into this place.

If you are travelling through Albury/Wodonga (especially with a family) and needed a place to stay (and you dont need to be in Albury for any reason), then I'd stay here. Albury (city) is about 10 mins drive.

Room Tip: Ask not to be placed in an adjacent room to another guest. That way, it might reduce any noise.
  • Stayed: August 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank SimonAJohnson
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
MotelManagerWodonga, General Manager at Blazing Stump Motel and Suites, responded to this reviewResponded September 5, 2011

Dear sj-au

Thank you so much for your review. We strive to ensure each guest experiences a positive stay and are so pleased to know that we have achieved this.

We are so proud to have a wonderful team who take pride in offering a wonderful guest experience and who do not come to work just for the money.

We loved your comment about not judging a book by it's cover, as it is so true for our property.

If we can assist you in any other way, please do not hesitate to call us or come back through and visit us again to see our ongoing improvements.

Yours Sincerely

The Comfort Inn & Suites Blazing Stump Family

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews