We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Good old fashioned values at Norman House Albany”
Review of Norman House

Norman House
We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Albany
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Norman House
Ranked #12 of 17 Albany B&B and Inns
Mandurah, Australia
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Good old fashioned values at Norman House Albany”
Reviewed 14 January 2012

A BNB to remember run by a careing couple who have the guest in mind . great tucker and so comfortable ,close to everything by foot or car . When you can remember the good old days a visit to Norman House will show that service and comfort are the way to go . I,m sure they get many return visitors . We will be back. Tell them Doug sent you..

Douglas C

  • Stayed December 2011, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank ygm2010
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

42 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    18
    18
    4
    2
    0
See reviews for
10
19
6
4
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (9)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Petra - Wadi Musa, Jordan
Level Contributor
17 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed 13 January 2012

Had to go to Albany on Business over night & sick & tired of doggy motels I
Decided to stay on the Water Front in Down town Albany at Norman House a really
old two storey home that has become a very chic B & B walking
distance to Shops & Restaurants Coffee Shops & Bars. Very Clean & Traditional English
Decor & each room as been decorated very elegantly.
Looking forward to my next visit to Albany to stay with the wonderful caretakers Burt & Sheila
& experience some more of Burts great home cooking & friendly atmosphere not to mention the terrific view of the Bay.
Julie McKenzie Perth WA

  • Stayed October 2011, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Julie M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Perth, Australia
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 13 January 2012

Norman House is a cosy old world charm heritage house
Warm hospitality
Family friendly
Easy parking
Lots of books to read in comfortable reading room
I find norman house comfortable, relaxing, friendly and feels like home away from home, by the way breakfast is good

  • Stayed February 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Rosemary B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Shanghai, China
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 14 August 2011

Good location within walking distance to town center. Comfortable lounge for reading or board games for family in the event of inclement weather. Nice large & clean bedrooms at affordable rates. I recommend for family outings & couple retreat.

Room Tip: Spacious & Clean. Ample parking spaces. Lots of room size & bedding options.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Dennis N
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Montgomery, Alabama
Level Contributor
19 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
Reviewed 27 July 2011

The Norman house is right around the block from the main part of town...easy to walk everywhere. The blow holes, gap, natural bridge and whaling museum are an easy 15 minute drive. The accommodations were large, very comfortable and peaceful. The breakfast was excellent. We were able to help ourselves to the continental breakfast items and also able to order for the hot menu. I only wish I would have made plans to stay in Albany for at least another day or two. So much to see and do, but the town wants you to relax, especially in such a wonderful B&B!

  • Stayed June 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank airpower4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Perth, Australia
Level Contributor
9 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
Reviewed 24 April 2011

great street appeal, lush garden - feel like you are pulling up to a grand old home...
decore is a little dated however is very cosy and charming, rooms are generous in size and spotlessly clean... walking distant to the high street and the harbour.
really good country style cooked breakfast and a welcoming hello from the hosts each day made for a truely great stay!
i'll be back and can thoroughly recommend.
cheers!

  • Stayed March 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Stew68
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Wirral
Level Contributor
40 reviews
34 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 50 helpful votes
Reviewed 13 January 2010

We stayed for one night in December and although this B & B is quite old fashioned in style, it is really comfy. We had a large en-suite room (although the bathroom was quite small) and the bed was enormous. There was no TV in the room but there were a couple of TV lounges. I would have preferred a TV in the room personally.
The hosts were pleasant and helpful and made a mean cooked breakfast in the morning.
The house itself is on the Albany Heritage Trail so has quite a lot of history about it. At the end of the day it is an old house so would probably be strange if it was decorated any differently to how it is now!

  • Stayed December 2009, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank MooeyWirral
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Albany hotels
0.2 km away
Albany Foreshore Guest House
5.6 km away
Emu Point Motel & Apartments
0.1 km away
Best Western Albany Motel & Apartments
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.0 km away
Three Chimneys B&B
Three Chimneys B&B
#5 of 17 in Albany
28 reviews
0.2 km away
Albany Harbourside Apartments and Houses
4.3 km away
Beach House at Bayside
Beach House at Bayside
#1 of 17 in Albany
396 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Norman House? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Norman House

Property: Norman House
Address: 28 Stirling Tce, Albany, Western Australia 6330, Australia
Region: Australia > Western Australia > Albany
Hotel Style:
Ranked #12 of 17 B&Bs / Inns in Albany
Number of rooms: 20

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing