We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“As bad as it gets...”

Catch22 Tapas & Cocktail Lounge
Ranked #17 of 229 Restaurants in Mandurah
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: US$0 - US$18
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Dining options: After-hours, Breakfast, Reservations
Description: Tapas and Cocktails our specialties.
Reviewed 3 weeks ago via mobile

Arrived at 7.30pm for dinner. Four of us told kitchens closing soon. Couldn’t sit outside they close that first. Ordered drinks and food. Lemon, lime bitters was completely flat. Arancini balls were reheated dry, stodgy. Pork belly dry luke warm and reheated. Really wanted to like the place as it’s a good spot but seriously. The “American sliders” are comical. Cut up bits of kids party sausages in coles dinner roles reheated on alfoil - a bargain at $17 for three. It’s rare I’ll criticise any place. I don’t usually say much even if service was poor, but seriously don’t waste your time or money. Over priced poor food served as tapas...

Thank rpd295
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Catch22restaurant, Owner at Catch22 Tapas & Cocktail Lounge, responded to this reviewResponded 3 weeks ago

Hi RDP295
We take negative feedback very seriously in our business and my staff work very hard to ensure that the customer gets an experience that is to their satisfaction and leaves happy. With this in mind I went back to my staff and asked the question of "what happened here"?
Firstly you came in just before 8.30pm not 7.30pm as stated above and yes the kitchen does close at 9pm as does most restaurant kitchens in Mandurah.. Yes they had closed the outside as with the evening air at this time of the year, being right on the ocean, we get the mist after a warm day and it can get very damp outside and becomes unpleasant for the customer to sit out there.In summer when it is the hot nights as well this is not an issue, but with the warm days and colder nights it is.Your lemon, lime and bitters, would have been made with a bottle of lemonade, that had only been open a short time, our bartender who has 10+ years experience would not have served a "flat" softdrink, his pride in what he does means he does not take shortcuts, maybe the ice made it not as "fizzy" as you expected. If it was not to your liking I would have expected you to raise this with your wait staff member to have it replaced, which from what I understand you did not ? Please correct me if I am wrong. None of our food is reheated, is cooked fresh, when ordered. The description in the menu of the "American Sliders" quite clearly states exactly what they are and again they are cooked fresh when ordered not reheated, we sit them on foil for presentation purposes and to make them easier to pick up to eat. You would have been asked once your food was served by the waitstaff if everything was to your satisfaction and again when paying, both times you had the opportunity to say that you were not happy, however you chose not to.Unfortunately we cannot fix things for you if we do not know at the time, we could have replaced everything you were not happy with and ensured that you went away happy. However if we only find out through a Trip Advisor review we cannot do anything to remedy anything for you.If you would like to send me an email catch22restaurant@bigpond.com, I would be happy to send you a voucher so that we have the opportunity to ensure that you experience with us is a good one, rather than what you have described above.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (568)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

5 - 9 of 568 reviews

Reviewed 4 weeks ago

Booking for 4 people for their Saturday night $55.00 all you can eat tapas, great idea - highly recommend you book.
Ushered to our table and met by Sam, our waiter for the evening. Pleasant, happy young lass, making a pleasant change in WA.
We all decided on the tapas buffet and were advised we start with 4 plates, then 2, then 1, then keeping going on 1 until we have had enough.
House Red was really good.
Cocktails around the table were well received.
Out of our dishes the only really memorable one was the salt and pepper squid. Nice thick pieces of squid, very light coating, and very tender. Definitely the winner.
The tapas fish and chips a very close second.
Overall, not a bad night, great company, great service (until Sam finished her shift).
A little disappointed the restaurant closed at 2100 though.

Tip - make sure you book ahead for Saturday Tapas buffet.

    • Value
    • Service
    • Food
Thank Craig O
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Catch22restaurant, Owner at Catch22 Tapas & Cocktail Lounge, responded to this reviewResponded 4 weeks ago

Pleased you enjoyed Craig.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 5 weeks ago via mobile

Catch 22. is another good Restaurant in Mandurah. . I like the location its easy to find . I like the Menu . Good Staff. Though a little pricey. . The food was prepared well on the night for Dinner.

Thank Heygood
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Catch22restaurant, Owner at Catch22 Tapas & Cocktail Lounge, responded to this reviewResponded 4 weeks ago

Pleased you enjoyed Heygood.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed September 7, 2018 via mobile

Make a point of going here whenever we visit Mandurah. The happy hour tapas and cocktails are great value and tasty. Sometimes the kitchen and bar service is slow when it gets busy and twice orders have been delivered to the wrong table and only after much toing and frowing was the problem identified. Will continue to visit as it is great value.

Thank Debra D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Catch22restaurant, Owner at Catch22 Tapas & Cocktail Lounge, responded to this reviewResponded September 8, 2018

Awesome Debra thanks for the great feedback looking forward to seeing you again.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed August 30, 2018

Wandering past for a late lunch at 2 pm and decided to check out the new lunch specials. And was served super fast and omg they were so good especially the honey chicken that was crispy and made from the chicken breast.

Will have to come back again and try some more of these amazing tapa's. Have been a couple of times and always find the service and food great.

    • Value
    • Service
    • Food
Thank MarkyS-6210
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Catch22restaurant, Owner at Catch22 Tapas & Cocktail Lounge, responded to this reviewResponded September 3, 2018

Thanks Marky S pleased to see you again. That Honey Chicken is divine one of my favourites as well.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Catch22 Tapas & Cocktail Lounge also viewed

Mandurah, Western Australia
Mandurah, Western Australia
 
Mandurah, Western Australia
Mandurah, Western Australia
 
Mandurah, Western Australia
 

Been to Catch22 Tapas & Cocktail Lounge? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing