We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Nearby Hotels
US$99
US$95
Expedia.com
View Deal
  • Free Parking
  • Restaurant
Big Brook Cottages(Pemberton)(Great Value!)
US$129
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Free Parking
Forest Lodge Resort(Pemberton)(Great Value!)
US$116
US$107
Agoda.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Parking
  • Restaurant
TripAdvisor
View Deal
  • Free Parking
  • Spa
TripAdvisor
View Deal
  • Free Parking
TripAdvisor
View Deal
  • Free Parking
  • Spa
Foragers(Pemberton)
Agoda.com
View Deal
  • Free Parking
TripAdvisor
View Deal
  • Free Parking
  • Restaurant
TripAdvisor
View Deal
Reviews (363)
Filter reviews
363 results
Traveller rating
306
54
3
0
0
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
306
54
3
0
0
Show reviews that mention
All reviewsanimal feedinggames roomthe cottagesevery morningorchard cottageowners markair hockeykerri annelectric blanketsgreat familyfriendly animalsfantastic hostsfamily holidaybeautiful propertydown to earthwe loved our staytrout fishing
Filter
Updating list...
251 - 256 of 363 reviews
Reviewed October 28, 2012 via mobile

This place is just perfect! Little self contained cottage in the most beautiful surroundings. The owner is great with the kids, knowledge of the area and animals.
Its peaceful but 5 to 10 mins in the car is 2 quaint villages with shops, cafes etc. It is ideal

  • Stayed: October 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Theprices78
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed September 28, 2012

My 2 children (16 months and 5 yrs), my wife and I had a fantastic time, even though the weather wasn't so kind. Mark was amazing, so relaxed and informative, happy to chat away and answer all our questions that he probably answers all the time. Each morning we fed the animals and learned all about their personalities and funny foibles (like Wilbur and Charlotte the pigs who like digging holes through the fence). The duck feeding was quite an experience (I wont say too much to spoil the surprise, but it is a unique experience).

However, this is not the place for a long-winded account of our holiday, so I shall summarise:
4/5 cottage was lovely, well kept and neat. All amenities as required
5/5 kid friendly, the gate was a nice thought to keep kiddies in (and sheepies out) and no open fire place was great, saved us going crazy keeping little hands from getting burned.
5/5 for thoughtfulness, large fridge for all our shopping, electric blankets on the beds, reverse cycle airconditioner kept us toasty warm.
6/5 service and friendliness of staff, Mark went above and beyond to make us feel like part of the family.

Only some small gripes, the weather, but Mark said he tried to arrange for warmer weather but the weather person didn't comply.

In all, a very nice place to go and we will definitely go back!

Room Tip: Great for families especially with young children
  • Stayed: September 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Amy250912
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed July 30, 2012

5 of us - 3 adults and 2 children (ages 4 and 7) stayed for 2 nights in Lavender Cottage in June. The owners of Diamond Forest Cottages are Mark and Jenny. They are genuinely very warm and hospitable people and we could tell that they truly wanted their guests to feel comfortable.

We were checked in by Mark, who gave us a map and orientated us to where the restaurants and supermarkets were located in Pemberton (15 mins drive away) and Manjimup (10 mins drive away). Coles and Woolworths are located in Manjimup, while Pemberton had a small IGA.

The cottages have 2 bedrooms in them. Ours had a queen bed in one bedroom, and in the other bedroom, we had a king single and a bunk bed. The queen bed in the first bedroom had an electric blanket on it. None of the beds in the other bedroom had electric blankets on them. We were worried about the room being cold at night as there were no heaters in the bedrooms (there is a reverse-cycle air-con in the living area) and my 4 year old is not good about sleeping under the doona. We voiced our concern to Mark, who very kindly (and without hesitation!) provided us with a portable heater and an extension cord for it. Mark also explained why he couldn't put electric blankets on those beds - it was an electric shock hazard for the bunk beds which had metal frames and there wasn't a right-sized electric blanket for the king single.

Really, we need not have worried about the cottage being cold at night. Mark and Jenny had generously installed a huge reverse-cycle air-con in the living area which is strong enough to heat up the entire cottage, bedrooms included!

Animal feeding happens every morning at 8.30am and Jenny encourages the kids to interact with the animals. For instance, the kids carried a lamb (assisted by Jenny) and when my daughter appeared keen to carry a rabbit, Jenny put one in her arms. There were many animals to feed - kangaroos, rabbits, pigs, chickens, ducks, a goat, sheep, an alpaca, cows, a horse, donkeys and miniature ponies. There were also 4 friendly dogs which come out with Mark and Jenny in the mornings during animal feeding. My 7 year old and my husband both had a great time playing fetch with the dogs.

Mark and Jenny are fine with guests feeding the animals (except the miniature ponies, which can eat too much and get sick) during the day with fresh fruits or vegetables. We bought carrots, apples and celery. Jenny had informed us that the rabbits love celery. We found that most of the animals love apples and carrots, but only the rabbits and donkeys ate the celery. So don't buy too much celery!

There are also free-roaming peacocks and chickens which come right up to the cottages and follow us around outside. They are friendly and the kids are always happy for them to walk with us.

There is no Internet and the only (patchy!) 3G signal we got was from Telstra. No Optus nor Vodafone. We were happy to be disconnected from the outside world for a few days!

During our stay there, we had lunch at Millhouse Café and Fizz Café, both in Pemberton. The 2 cafes both had really good food, but are very different. I would highly recommend Millhouse for a quiet lunch with a great ambience and fireplace. Fizz, on the other hand, was much smaller and noisier. Definitely less privacy as the tables are close to one another. I also felt that it was more of a breakfast place. Given the better ambience, Millhouse wasn’t very much more expensive than Fizz.

On our first night there, we bought takeaway pizza from a very unassuming shop named Farmhouse Pizza in Manjimup. It was a couple of doors down from the hotel. We weren’t expecting much of the pizza, but I have to say, they make the best pizza ever! The wait was long though (45mins) and when we got our pizza, we realised why. The ingredients on the pizza were all nicely and carefully laid out on it, none of the simply-toss-the-ingredients-on-the-pizza as you will find in most pizza shops. The slices of pizza were also carefully and neatly cut such that every piece was equally sized! Oh, and while you are there, please order their BBQ chicken wings. They are to die for and simply the best. Forget about the garlic bread though, we felt that it wasn’t spectacular.

In summary, if you are looking for a farmstay where kids can interact with lots of animals (the best in Pemberton/Margaret River region!), or want a cosy comfy cottage, this is it. My husband and I agreed that even though the cottage was not as big and modern (or new) as another farmstay we stayed at during this trip, our best 2 nights of sleep throughout our 2 weeks holiday were here at Diamond Forest Cottages. We will definitely want to come back if we get the chance to. And we’ll definitely want to stay for more than 2 nights. Thank you, Mark and Jenny, for the hospitality!

  • Stayed: June 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank breezergal
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed July 17, 2012

The Diamond Forest Farm is a great place to relax and recharge and we had such a great time there that we’re already planning the next holiday. The place is situated between Manjimup and Pemberton and is very tranquil and picturesque, even in winter. We spent one week there and were the only first time guests. The main reason we chose this place, and not similar ones, were the countless positive reviews and the pet friendly cottages. And pet friendly they are…our dog had the time of his life: he had a big run adjacent to the house and free access to the verandah to find shelter. In the morning he played with the 4 working dogs on the farm, chased some ducks (sorry again for that Jenny!), had a look at the other animals and by 10 am was exhausted and took his nap on the verandah. Later on he would either come with us to explore the area or stay in his run and stare at the cows (yes, he found them very fascinating :). He was allowed to sleep inside at night which he also liked. All up, we were glad we took him with us and did not put him in one of the kennels in Perth. We have a much happier dog now.
Other things we liked about the place: The cottages which overlook the whole farm and the magnificent sun rise, tranquility, the animals and the animal feeding, wildlife, nearby wineries, walks, fresh air, fresh produce, fishing & canoeing (on the farm), and so much more… it never got boring.
One last thing: The host, Jenny, is a lovely lady. She is very helpful and will make you feel welcomed and valued as a guest. Thanks for the lovely stay Jenny. Alina, Sean & Nova

  • Stayed: July 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Sean J
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed July 15, 2012

Had a great time at Diamond Forest Cottages with our 2 young children. The highlight was feeding the animals in the mornings, and the surrounds are fantastic. Try to get up early to catch the magical sunrise. Pemberton is a 10-15min drive away, with a great pub.

The cottages themselves are comfortable but basic - slate floors, reverse heater, and timber furniture, with a tiny shower. We rented 2-bedroom unit, which had 2 x single beds in addition to QB. Fully set-up kitchen with microwave. Another family member stayed separately with their dog, which is a great option.

It gets cold in winter, so bring thermals & lots of change for the kids due to mud. Gumboots are a must! Overall, a friendly country accommodation option.

Room Tip: 2-bedroom cottage is good for family of 4
  • Stayed: June 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank M H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews