We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Nearby Hotels
Reviews (252)
Filter reviews
252 results
Traveller rating
69
65
47
34
37
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
69
65
47
34
37
Show reviews that mention
All reviewssunshine beachshuttle busmain beachdorm roomtoilet showersurfboard hiregreyhound stopmin walknoosa national parkhammockskitchenaustraliahippieincensechilloutbuddhasupermarket
Filter
Updating list...
77 - 82 of 252 reviews
Reviewed May 21, 2015 via mobile

Positives:-

Okay kitchen
Free wifi in common area
Films are shown on the night
Close to sunshine beach
Shuttle avaliable

Negatives:-

Very small rooms
Bathrooms are used by quite alot of people so get very dirty
Bedding was dirty when we arrived
40 min walk from central Noosa shops
Very basic facilties

Overall the hostel was okay but not the cleanest. Good that they showed films on the night for everyone but apart from the beach the location isn't ideal.

Stayed: May 2015, travelled with friends
1  Thank Chelseadaggers
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
dolphinsbeachhou4567, Reception Staff at Dolphins Beach House, responded to this reviewResponded May 31, 2015

Thank you very much for taking the time to leave Dolphins Beach House a review.

Firstly we would like to apologise that you arrived to dirty bedding, this is very uncommon as all laundry is cleaned daily as and when guest check out and new sheets are placed on the beds.

The bathrooms are cleaned twice a day due to the amount the bathrooms are used, we have 7 bathrooms all together that guests are able to use and we encourage guests to speak to staff if they would like something or feel somewhere doesn't meet standards so we are able to fix or clean any problems they have. Our friendly staff are always willing to help.

The walk to Noosa Junction from the hostel takes around 15- 20 minutes where Coles is situated but we also provide a shuttle bus which runs hourly too. Im unsure why it would have taken you 40 minutes but again any directions to local facilities our staff can point you in the right direction with the quickest route.

We try to create a laid back close knit backpackers where people feel comfortable to relax and enjoy the beauty of Noosa.

Regards

Dolphins Beach House Staff

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed May 3, 2015

We stayed at Dolphins twice on our east coast trip and loved it both times! First time we arrived we were shown to our Double room, It was spacious enough clean and had a decent sized TV and air con. The double rooms are separate from the main hostel which meant a quiet nights sleep! They have their own Kitchen and Balinese style open bathroom that's just shared between the Double rooms. It was nice modern and very clean!

The second time we stayed here we were in a 4 bed dorm. The rooms were clean and the beds are comfy, Each room has a kitchen and a bathroom shared with another room, this was great as it meant that if your kitchen or bathroom was busy you could just jump into another unit no problem so no waiting to cook or shower! There was Free WIFI in the common area and they put films on during rainy days. They also left a selection of DVDs out every night so we could help ourselves.

I read a few reviews about the 'Rules' before we came here and was surprised at how chilled out it was. There was a couple signs out about goon and not drinking after 7 but when we asked the staff they said as long as everyone was respectful and clean they don't mind. After asking why no goon we were told it was banned in Byron so they are leading by example as it isn't a massive party hostel. There are nights on in Noosa and the staff are more than happy to explain how to get to Nomads etc and what's going on each night.

The staff had a great knowledge of the area and explained all the national park walks and how to walk back from the town after a night out (only took us 20min). We did the coastal walk and would highly recommend it, gorgeous views and lots of beautiful beaches.

This hostel is for people that want to experience Noosa, the beautiful National Park and sunshine beach. If you want to meet backpackers and take a break from all the partying this is the place for you!

  • Stayed: February 2015, travelled as a couple
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank ChristianGriffiths
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
dolphinsbeachhou4567, Reception Staff at Dolphins Beach House, responded to this reviewResponded May 31, 2015

Thank you very much for taking the time to leave Dolphins Beach House a review.
We are glad you enjoyed your stay with us on both occasions. We appreciate your understanding of the vide we are trying to create in the hostel and hope that you will return in the not to distant future. Good luck with the rest of your travels.

Regards

Dolphins Beach House Staff

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed May 1, 2015 via mobile

We did not enjoy this hostel at all!! The room was a joke with very thin partition between and you couldnt see the TV from the bed. The only window in the room was the front door, the place was very dirty especially the bathroom.

Stayed: October 2014, travelled as a couple
Thank louise l
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
dolphinsbeachhou4567, Reception Staff at Dolphins Beach House, responded to this reviewResponded May 31, 2015

Thank you very much for taking the time to leave Dolphins Beach House a review.

We apologise for the fact that you had a less than enjoyable experience at our hostel.

The only window in the room to which you are referring to is a large patio window which is the main feature in these rooms it is fully made of glass which allows the room to be filled with sunlight when the sun is angled in the right place.

We can assure you that bathrooms are cleaned twice daily and we encourage guests to come to staff with any problems they are having or if they feel something doesn't meet their standards.

Regards

Dolphins Beach House Staff

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed April 28, 2015

I had originally stayed at another hostel in Noosa, but due to a cyclone further up the coast we had to move due to all the rooms booking up. I really enjoyed my stay - the chilled, low key vibe was exactly what we needed after a few hectic days of trying to find transport or accommodation. The free wifi was a great plus as was its proximity to the fairly quiet Sunshine Beach. On arrival my friend and I also got upgraded to a two bed room which was great. On the other hand, it is a fair distance from the main town so you are reliant on taxis and the shuttle service which can be slightly irregular. If you're looking for a party - this probably isn't for you.

Stayed: May 2014, travelled solo
Thank TheLilTraveller
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
dolphinsbeachhou4567, reception staff at Dolphins Beach House, responded to this reviewResponded May 31, 2015

Thank you very much for taking the time to leave Dolphins Beach House a review. We are so pleased to hear you enjoyed your stay here and glad to hear you understood and enjoyed the relaxed chilled vibe of the hostel. We hope you stay here again and wish you all the best for the rest of your trip.

Regards

Dolphin Beach House Staff

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed April 25, 2015 via mobile

A cozy hostel with a style of zen. It's great that they offer several kitchens and good wi-fi throughout the hostel but the whole place could be much cleaner. We saw a rat behind the fridge, a cockroach in a pot, a giant huntsman at the door and several different species of bugs in the bedroom. The staff was rude in general and unhelpful when trying to get some help with further bookings. The location of the place is far away from the city centre, but has a small selection of shops and resturants around the corner, near the beach. Would rather stay at another hostel for my next visit in Noosa.

Stayed: April 2015, travelled with friends
Thank Leivsa
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
dolphinsbeachhou4567, Reception Staff at Dolphins Beach House, responded to this reviewResponded May 31, 2015

Firstly, thank you so much for taking the time to bring your concerns to our attention. We apologise for the fact that you had a less than enjoyable experience at our hostel. As we are situated within an area of green we advise guests that a some creatures are expected however if we ever get anything such as cockroaches etc we treat the problem straight away. I can assure you that all rooms have a regular treatment process along with the kitchens, bathrooms and dinning areas. I can also assure you that all staff are more than happy and willing to help with any bookings or questions you have about Noosa or anywhere along the east coast and apologise that this was not the reception you received.
We hope that you will return to Dolphins so you can see the improvements we have put in place to rectify any concerns you had.

Regards
Dolphin Beach House Staff

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews