We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Nearby Hotels
Reviews (252)
Filter reviews
252 results
Traveller rating
69
65
47
34
37
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
69
65
47
34
37
Show reviews that mention
All reviewssunshine beachshuttle busmain beachdorm roomtoilet showersurfboard hiregreyhound stopmin walknoosa national parkhammockskitchenaustraliahippieincensechilloutbuddhasupermarket
Filter
Updating list...
75 - 80 of 252 reviews
Reviewed June 12, 2015

I have stayed at Dolphins twice before and loved it but this time they got the booking wrong. Ended up in a terrible room - not what we booked. No apology or compensation for getting the booking wrong. Said they wdnt charge us if we decided to leave. How generous!!!! No reduced rate. Not even a TV remote. Lots of passing back packer trade here so they probably don't care that they have lost our custom.

Room Tip: Be sure you double triple check what room you are booking and don't expect a customer focused response if they get it wrong !
  • Stayed: June 2015, travelled as a couple
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Service
Thank julie51_11
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
dolphinsbeachhou4567, Reception Staff at Dolphins Beach House, responded to this reviewResponded June 27, 2015

We apologise for the fact that you had a less than enjoyable experience at our hostel. Unfortunately it was explained to you on arrival that the specific room you had requested had was an extended booking by long term guests who had been staying at the hostel for a long period of time so we were unable to move them for 1 night only, however you had booked a double ensuite which is what we moved you to just a different room. The only difference was it was a double bunk with a single on top however still a double and still an ensuite this was also at a reduced price which was explained to you why we were not going to reduce the room further.
We regret that you didn't enjoy your stay but we wish you luck with your future travels.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed May 24, 2015 via mobile

I think some people are being a little too harsh on the hostel in these reviews.

The location is a sticking point for many, while close to a beach it is also quite far away from anything f else of any significance. This is attempted to be remedied by I frequent shuttle services to town and the nearby supermarket/bus station. However you are at the mercy of the shuttle bus times and I can imagine that during the busy season it would be hard to get a ride back given that they would be picking up new guests at the bus station.

The free Wi-Fi works ok, no qualms about that.

Kitchen facilities are small but as they are separated to each room area they aren't too shabby either. It's one of the only hostels I've seen with a freezer and an oven. So not bad at all!

However only having one shower and toilet between 12 people could be a sticking point. Especially if there are more women then men.

I get the impression that the staff are very friendly but that the owners are not. There are signs up around the hostel for quite literally everything. It's these kind of anal things that bring down the score. Check out is at 9:30, if anyone wants to use the luggage room or to even sit in the hostel to wait for their bus then they are charged $5. It's not really an insane cost, but it's the principle that many are literally at the beck and call of the Greyhound and Premier bus timetable and the hostel is capitalising on this. I think the owners are out of touch of what other hostels offer. Don't fleece backpackers for what other hostels otherwise offer for free.

It's not a bad hostel, but I probably wouldn't stay there again either...

Stayed: April 2015, travelled solo
1  Thank RockinAllOverDaWorld
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
dolphinsbeachhou4567, Manager at Dolphins Beach House, responded to this reviewResponded May 28, 2015

Thank you very much for taking the time to leave Dolphins Beach House a review. We are pleased to hear that you enjoyed some of your stay here with us.

First of all with regards to the 12 people sharing a bathroom I apologise because technically there is 7 bathrooms for all guests staying in dorm the rooms and each unit contains 9 people – we encourage our guests to feel free and use any bathroom and kitchen in the hostel as sometimes throughout our busy season it can be a bit of a waiting game.

In regards to the $5 day rate it only starts from 12pm - we implemented this rule due to us having a lot of previous guests being disrespectful and sneaking on the property. It our way of maintaining capacity.

Keep mind, like other hostels we do not charge for things like cutlery, internet, and key deposits.

As for the shuttle bus, our staff are happy to do as many bus runs as needed.

Thanks

Regards

Dolphins Beach house staff.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed May 21, 2015 via mobile

Positives:-

Okay kitchen
Free wifi in common area
Films are shown on the night
Close to sunshine beach
Shuttle avaliable

Negatives:-

Very small rooms
Bathrooms are used by quite alot of people so get very dirty
Bedding was dirty when we arrived
40 min walk from central Noosa shops
Very basic facilties

Overall the hostel was okay but not the cleanest. Good that they showed films on the night for everyone but apart from the beach the location isn't ideal.

Stayed: May 2015, travelled with friends
1  Thank Chelseadaggers
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
dolphinsbeachhou4567, Reception Staff at Dolphins Beach House, responded to this reviewResponded May 31, 2015

Thank you very much for taking the time to leave Dolphins Beach House a review.

Firstly we would like to apologise that you arrived to dirty bedding, this is very uncommon as all laundry is cleaned daily as and when guest check out and new sheets are placed on the beds.

The bathrooms are cleaned twice a day due to the amount the bathrooms are used, we have 7 bathrooms all together that guests are able to use and we encourage guests to speak to staff if they would like something or feel somewhere doesn't meet standards so we are able to fix or clean any problems they have. Our friendly staff are always willing to help.

The walk to Noosa Junction from the hostel takes around 15- 20 minutes where Coles is situated but we also provide a shuttle bus which runs hourly too. Im unsure why it would have taken you 40 minutes but again any directions to local facilities our staff can point you in the right direction with the quickest route.

We try to create a laid back close knit backpackers where people feel comfortable to relax and enjoy the beauty of Noosa.

Regards

Dolphins Beach House Staff

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed May 3, 2015

We stayed at Dolphins twice on our east coast trip and loved it both times! First time we arrived we were shown to our Double room, It was spacious enough clean and had a decent sized TV and air con. The double rooms are separate from the main hostel which meant a quiet nights sleep! They have their own Kitchen and Balinese style open bathroom that's just shared between the Double rooms. It was nice modern and very clean!

The second time we stayed here we were in a 4 bed dorm. The rooms were clean and the beds are comfy, Each room has a kitchen and a bathroom shared with another room, this was great as it meant that if your kitchen or bathroom was busy you could just jump into another unit no problem so no waiting to cook or shower! There was Free WIFI in the common area and they put films on during rainy days. They also left a selection of DVDs out every night so we could help ourselves.

I read a few reviews about the 'Rules' before we came here and was surprised at how chilled out it was. There was a couple signs out about goon and not drinking after 7 but when we asked the staff they said as long as everyone was respectful and clean they don't mind. After asking why no goon we were told it was banned in Byron so they are leading by example as it isn't a massive party hostel. There are nights on in Noosa and the staff are more than happy to explain how to get to Nomads etc and what's going on each night.

The staff had a great knowledge of the area and explained all the national park walks and how to walk back from the town after a night out (only took us 20min). We did the coastal walk and would highly recommend it, gorgeous views and lots of beautiful beaches.

This hostel is for people that want to experience Noosa, the beautiful National Park and sunshine beach. If you want to meet backpackers and take a break from all the partying this is the place for you!

  • Stayed: February 2015, travelled as a couple
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank ChristianGriffiths
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
dolphinsbeachhou4567, Reception Staff at Dolphins Beach House, responded to this reviewResponded May 31, 2015

Thank you very much for taking the time to leave Dolphins Beach House a review.
We are glad you enjoyed your stay with us on both occasions. We appreciate your understanding of the vide we are trying to create in the hostel and hope that you will return in the not to distant future. Good luck with the rest of your travels.

Regards

Dolphins Beach House Staff

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed May 1, 2015 via mobile

We did not enjoy this hostel at all!! The room was a joke with very thin partition between and you couldnt see the TV from the bed. The only window in the room was the front door, the place was very dirty especially the bathroom.

Stayed: October 2014, travelled as a couple
Thank louise l
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
dolphinsbeachhou4567, Reception Staff at Dolphins Beach House, responded to this reviewResponded May 31, 2015

Thank you very much for taking the time to leave Dolphins Beach House a review.

We apologise for the fact that you had a less than enjoyable experience at our hostel.

The only window in the room to which you are referring to is a large patio window which is the main feature in these rooms it is fully made of glass which allows the room to be filled with sunlight when the sun is angled in the right place.

We can assure you that bathrooms are cleaned twice daily and we encourage guests to come to staff with any problems they are having or if they feel something doesn't meet their standards.

Regards

Dolphins Beach House Staff

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews