We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Clean, comfortable hostel with good facilities”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
Dolphins Beach House
Ranked #111 of 141 Speciality Lodging in Noosa
Reviewed 29 September 2015

Apart from the garish pink walls this hostel is a quite, chilled place with clean and well maintained rooms and facilities. Free wifi is provided in the communal area and all dorms contained their own kitchen and bathroom. The communal area features wicker sofas and chairs, hammocks and bean bags. Comfortable beds in the rooms and the bathroom and shower were modern and clean.

The only downside is it is situated about a 15 minute taxi drive from Noosaville (the main area for excursions) however a courtesy bus does run to take you there if you go at certain times. The atmosphere was a little hostile with staff members providing blunt answers but overall was a comfortable stay.

Room Tip: The hostel is quiet and easy to sleep in with all rooms clean and comfortable
See more room tips
  • Stayed: September 2015, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
Thank dannyalder88
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (240)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

62 - 68 of 240 reviews

Reviewed 29 July 2015

Location direct to nationalpark and beach!! (surf beach is near the town, but they take you there for free!)

Rooms so relaxed and easy! Cool rooms no noise and every dorm has his own kitchen area toilet and shower!!

Free wifi, Free tv and movies, Relaxing area with lounge banks! Staff was excellent!!

I want to go back there and live there for the rest off my life ;-)

Room Tip: Room 4 is the one you should ask for!!
See more room tips
  • Stayed: August 2014, travelled solo
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Tom J
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 28 July 2015 via mobile

Actually stayed here in august 2006 while backpacking up the coast. It was my fave hostel ever so chilled and relaxed. . Lovely staff and right by the beach. We used to use the shuttle bus service daily. Loved the bbq nights around the camp fire with the staff and other guests. Made some great friends and memories at dolphins.

Stayed: August 2014, travelled with friends
Thank Emily L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 27 July 2015 via mobile

Hostel is a bit out of the way from most attractions in Noosa. Stayed in a private bedroom which was actually nice for a hostel. We had a TV and en suite bathroom.

Our coach was leaving Noosa Junction at 10:10am and we planned to get the 09:50 shuttle bus which didn't leave till 10:05am. The driver showed no concern and was very sarcastic about us potentially missing our coach.

Recommend the hostel but don't trust the shuttle service...rest of the staff were great apart from the individual who thought buying a present is more important than doing his job.

Stayed: July 2015, travelled as a couple
Thank TravellerGLTP
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 30 June 2015

As soon as we got to the bus stop we were greeted by a lovely guy who drove the free shuttle bus, which is available throughout the day to and from the bus transit center and Main Beach, at the top of Noosa. He gave us recommendations of things to do in Noosa for the short amount of time we were there. The Check-in staff were equally lovely, showing us on a map where we needed to go for our coastal walk, telling us not to be alarmed if we saw nudist on the nudist beach, and directing us to Coles.
The Wifi was free and fast. The rooms affordable and the amenities were clean and spacious; I actually saw the staff every morning cleaning up the kitchens, replacing towels, sponges and washing up liquids.
There was lots of space to chill out on hammocks, bean chairs and wooden garden furniture. Everyone was so friendly and happy.
Our friends turned up after the office closed without a booking, due to unusual circumstances; they called the emergency contact number on door and were shortly greeted by a lovely lady who reassured them everything was fine, they could check-in and hopefully spend a comfortable couple of nights with them.

  • Stayed: June 2015, travelled with friends
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank jess_barrett89
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 12 June 2015

I have stayed at Dolphins twice before and loved it but this time they got the booking wrong. Ended up in a terrible room - not what we booked. No apology or compensation for getting the booking wrong. Said they wdnt charge us if we decided to leave. How generous!!!! No reduced rate. Not even a TV remote. Lots of passing back packer trade here so they probably don't care that they have lost our custom.

Room Tip: Be sure you double triple check what room you are booking and don't expect a customer focused re...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: June 2015, travelled as a couple
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Service
Thank julie51_11
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
dolphinsbeachhou4567, Reception Staff at Dolphins Beach House, responded to this reviewResponded 27 June 2015

We apologise for the fact that you had a less than enjoyable experience at our hostel. Unfortunately it was explained to you on arrival that the specific room you had requested had was an extended booking by long term guests who had been staying at the hostel for a long period of time so we were unable to move them for 1 night only, however you had booked a double ensuite which is what we moved you to just a different room. The only difference was it was a double bunk with a single on top however still a double and still an ensuite this was also at a reduced price which was explained to you why we were not going to reduce the room further.
We regret that you didn't enjoy your stay but we wish you luck with your future travels.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 24 May 2015 via mobile

I think some people are being a little too harsh on the hostel in these reviews.

The location is a sticking point for many, while close to a beach it is also quite far away from anything f else of any significance. This is attempted to be remedied by I frequent shuttle services to town and the nearby supermarket/bus station. However you are at the mercy of the shuttle bus times and I can imagine that during the busy season it would be hard to get a ride back given that they would be picking up new guests at the bus station.

The free Wi-Fi works ok, no qualms about that.

Kitchen facilities are small but as they are separated to each room area they aren't too shabby either. It's one of the only hostels I've seen with a freezer and an oven. So not bad at all!

However only having one shower and toilet between 12 people could be a sticking point. Especially if there are more women then men.

I get the impression that the staff are very friendly but that the owners are not. There are signs up around the hostel for quite literally everything. It's these kind of anal things that bring down the score. Check out is at 9:30, if anyone wants to use the luggage room or to even sit in the hostel to wait for their bus then they are charged $5. It's not really an insane cost, but it's the principle that many are literally at the beck and call of the Greyhound and Premier bus timetable and the hostel is capitalising on this. I think the owners are out of touch of what other hostels offer. Don't fleece backpackers for what other hostels otherwise offer for free.

It's not a bad hostel, but I probably wouldn't stay there again either...

Stayed: April 2015, travelled solo
1  Thank RockinAllOverDaWorld
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
dolphinsbeachhou4567, Manager at Dolphins Beach House, responded to this reviewResponded 28 May 2015

Thank you very much for taking the time to leave Dolphins Beach House a review. We are pleased to hear that you enjoyed some of your stay here with us.

First of all with regards to the 12 people sharing a bathroom I apologise because technically there is 7 bathrooms for all guests staying in dorm the rooms and each unit contains 9 people – we encourage our guests to feel free and use any bathroom and kitchen in the hostel as sometimes throughout our busy season it can be a bit of a waiting game.

In regards to the $5 day rate it only starts from 12pm - we implemented this rule due to us having a lot of previous guests being disrespectful and sneaking on the property. It our way of maintaining capacity.

Keep mind, like other hostels we do not charge for things like cutlery, internet, and key deposits.

As for the shuttle bus, our staff are happy to do as many bus runs as needed.

Thanks

Regards

Dolphins Beach house staff.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Noosa
3.8 km away
Noosa Backpackers Resort
Noosa Backpackers Resort
#33 of 41 in Noosaville
177 reviews
0.7 km away
Flashpackers Noosa
Flashpackers Noosa
#4 of 141 in Noosa
651 reviews
2.2 km away
Nomads Noosa
Nomads Noosa
#137 of 141 in Noosa
630 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
31.1 km away
Mooloolaba Beach Backpackers
Mooloolaba Beach Backpackers
#25 of 29 in Mooloolaba
165 reviews
9.4 km away
Ingenia Holidays Noosa
Ingenia Holidays Noosa
#4 of 41 in Noosaville
430 reviews
2.9 km away
Sofitel Noosa Pacific Resort
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Dolphins Beach House? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Dolphins Beach House

Address: 14 Duke Street | Sunshine Beach, Noosa, Queensland, Australia
Region: Australia > Queensland > Sunshine Coast > Noosa
Amenities:
Beach Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Shuttle Bus service Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #111 of 141 Speciality Lodging in Noosa
Price Range: $67 - $102 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:2 star — Dolphins Beach House 2*
Number of rooms: 7
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Chill out and enjoy the relaxed atmosphere of Dolphins Beach House at beautiful Sunshine Beach, Noosa.This secluded, hippy-style haven is the closest hostel to the beach in Noosa, situated next to Noosa National Park with a boutique shopping village just one minute away.The ambience of this family-run hostel is quirky and unique - definitely not part of a franchise backpackers business. The owners are experienced travelers themselves, and Dolphins Beach House reflects their love of travel, with many exotic artifacts from India to Burma and Thailand. Once you slip past the gardens, the trees, the funky pink walls and the Guatemalan architecture, you'll realize that you have found a restful retreat.It's no wonder that Dolphins Beach House is Lonely Planet's best pick for Noosa for 2010 / 2011. Relax, unwind, enjoy.Our friendly staff are always happy to recommend where to go and what to see next. Office hours are 8:00 am to 7:00 pm ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com so you can book your Dolphins Beach House reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing