We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Kungoni Centre of Culture & Art
Save
Review Highlights
Cultural Center is a Must!!

Before going to the museum, walk down the lane to the river, follow the river back up and around to... read more

Reviewed August 31, 2018
DareAcceptor
,
Orem, Utah
Great for Gule Wamkulu information

This is a "5* for Malawi" rating - don't arrive expecting a big, shiny western-style museum... read more

Reviewed August 28, 2018
occhiolist
,
Hong Kong, China
Read all 18 reviews
  
Reviews (18)
Filter reviews
18 results
Traveller rating
12
4
2
0
0
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
12
4
2
0
0
Show reviews that mention
All reviews lake malawi mission carvings church wood lodge shop information salima trees accommodation mua monkeys mask gallery christianity marriage
Filter
Updating list...
5 - 10 of 18 reviews
Reviewed October 23, 2017

We really enjoyed the cultural show (at least 2.5 hours). Lots to take in and learn. We all had big smiles watching the intricate dances and listening to the descriptions given by Claude and his team. Well worth seeing. We were honored that we could also give a (poor) demonstration of our own dance skills! In addition to our personal show we had a detailed guided tour around the museum containing rare cultural artefacts. Really good.
Accommodation at the paNtondo Lodge at Namalikhate is convenient but was suffering when we were there from regular and long power-cuts and water shortages. Food was simple but OK. A greater use of solar power might help.

Date of experience: September 2017
Thank BrabbenTE
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed March 16, 2017 via mobile

Mua mission: village, important tribe and mask museum, unescu cultural heritage, weekly dances, art center, hospital, catholic mission, morning church service, pan tondo lodge, remote riverside area. Nice package for 1-2 days on the road between Salima and monkey bay. Must have!!!!

Date of experience: March 2017
Thank Tino S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed October 3, 2016

This is certainly one of the highlights of our trip. When traveling from Lilongwe to Lake Malawi National Park via Salima one must stop and Mua Mission to visit the Kungoni Centre. Here there are fabulous murals of the history and legends of Malawi and a magnificent culture Museum. Also the church is a must see as well as all the magnificent carvings make by local sculptures. Google the site for details on the Centre. We loved the place and the friendly people.

Date of experience: October 2016
1  Thank westerntraveler2013
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed April 23, 2016

This has to be one place you visit in Malawi, The centre offers mix of Malawi culture with a shop that contains some real treasures at a great price. There is a museum open theatre the people are friendly and the surrounding area has much to offer in sculptures/buildings. We stayed for 5 nights the food is good but expensive at Mk 6000 per meal around the accommodation is wonderful ruff round the edges but clean and comfortable. rooms including breakfast are mk 22000 which is reasonable for the level of service and amenities.

this place is the best we have seen in terms of cultural Malawi and is a good marriage between the catholic and local traditions.

over all the food is over priced the accommodation is reasonable and service is fair. What makes this place is the wealth of culture, atmosphere and shire delight in a Malawi that is the cultural heart of the central region.

Date of experience: April 2016
1  Thank Dark Z
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed October 26, 2015

The centre is well worth a visit to gain a better understanding of Malawian culture. There are three main display rooms in the museum explaining the cultural background of the three main groups of people in malawi. However the (very informative) guide did whizz us through them quite quickly - although his commentary was very informative I would have a liked a few more minutes in each room to read some of the wall displays for myself in a bit more detail.
The attached art gallery and shop are highly recommended - brilliant talent on display in a range of media, although wood-working dominates. The work for sale in the shop is beautiful and amazingly cheap. I only wished I'd taken a bigger suitcase so I could have brought more home!

Date of experience: October 2015
Thank Lioux11
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews