We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Hotel Theodul
Ranked #26 of 53 Hotels in Lech
Reviewed 6 March 2017

Our ski holiday (Feb 26th–March 5th 2017) this year with VIP Ski at Hotel Theodul in Lech, Austria, booked through the excellent Ski Solutions, has been one of the best ski holiday experiences we can remember. As a group of 7 skiers, everyone agreed that this trip was right up there with the best. Hotel Theodul is actually run very innovatively as a large chalet, but with substantial added value in the excellent quality of the accommodation, huge bedrooms, some having his & hers ensuite bathrooms, brilliant shower/baths, and more wardrobe space than you could ever hope to use. The hotel staff are the most wonderfully proactive and engaged people we have been looked after by on any holiday we can remember. Hotel Theodul has the most homely & relaxed atmosphere of any similar skiing accommodation we have stayed in anywhere.
The hotel has a free to use, genuine high speed Wifi connection for all guests.
Bar prices at Hotel Theodul are surprisingly, substantially less expensive than at bars & restaurants in the center of Lech generally. The hotel provides free tea & coffee all day, and provides snacks paid for through an honesty box on the bar. At 16:00 every day, hotel guests are treated to freshly made cake to absolutely die for. The hotel food is outstandingly good, and was consistently so right throughout our holiday. Breakfast is a wide choice of cooked or buffet food, and the dinner menus are of the highest quality & variety for all dietary requirements. We had a vegetarian and a pescatarian in our group, both of whom considered themselves wonderfully provided for. Our flights for this holiday were with British Airways from Gatwick to Friedrishafen Airport (in Germany). Friedishafen Airport is very relaxed, with none of the usual herded cattle feel about it. Lech is a very reasonable transfer time of just under 2 hours from the Airport. VIP Ski provide the coach transfer service, with free water and fresh fruit provided on the transfers, both from the Friedrishafen Airport to Lech, and for the return trip to Friedrishafen Airport. Although this holiday was at the higher end of our budget, the easily discernible benefit and value we feel we experienced on this holiday, definitely made the holiday price worth the extra expense.
With regard to the skiing in the resort of Lech and surrounding ski areas, the skiing is both varied and challenging. There is substantial opportunity to ski safely off-piste (for those appropriately equipped and sufficiently experienced for such activities).
From Hotel Theodul, there is a short (5 - 10 minutes) walk to the main lifts and ski hire Centre (Strolz, beside the main piste 200), where you can hire & store your boots and skis. Hotel. Theodul provide a free shuttle service to and from any of the local lifts or hire centres.

Our personal favourite skiing days out were in the much larger neighbouring ski resort of St Anton, which is surprisingly easy to get to from Lech. The route is as follows: From Lech Centre, take the Rufikopf Cabin Lift up the Rufikopf Mountain at 2362 metres. Follow the beautifully picturesque blue piste 180, down to the short Schuttboden "T" bar drag lift. At the top of this drag lift, turn right on to blue piste 185 down to the Trittalp 6 Person Chair Lift. Off this lift, follow blue piste 123 down to the Trittalm Bergrestaurant, turning sharp left, still on blue piste 123, down into the ski resort of Zurs, keeping left, then down to the main Trittkopfbahn Cabin Lift. Take this lift up to join the Flexenbahn Cabin Lift to the small ski resort of Stuben (just above St Christoph). From the Flexenbahn Cabin Lift at Stuben, follow the impressively wide and connected blue pistes 100, 78, 56, 55, & 50 (superb cruising run) down into St Anton, where a myriad of superb skiing options opens up in front of you. A truly brilliant area to ski, both on and off piste!
We all agreed we would definitely use VIP Ski for a ski holiday again, and would also recommend both Ski Solutions & VIP Ski to our friends.

Room Tip: Ask for room No 1 (Our room) on the first floor, huge, his & hers Bathroom, very quiet.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: February 2017, travelled with friends
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
1  Thank Jim H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (144)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

4 - 10 of 144 reviews

Reviewed 4 March 2017

We stayed at the Theodul with Vip Ski. It was our third time in Lech, but our first time at the Theodul, by far our best hotel stay here. One of our family party was taken ill for most of the week which always makes for a tough stay, however, the staff at the hotel could not do enough to be helpful and make us comfortable. Skiing time was limited due to some adverse weather conditions, but fortunately Lech is pretty enough to while away the hours with coffee and Apple Strudel.

Room Tip: The rooms facing out to the back of the hotel are quieter
See more room tips
  • Stayed: February 2017, travelled with family
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Thank susanne1mj
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 5 February 2017 via mobile

VIP ski have rented the winter season at Hotel Theodul, a beautiful hotel which appears to have been recently renovated throughout. The rooms are a good size with balconies and new clean bathrooms.

Lech is a great ski resort, very pretty and the hotel is nicely located near to the lifts and for those that ski or don't like to walk the bus will drive you right to the ski lift.

The food was to a very good standard throughout and the staff are very conscientious, please remember they are chalet staff not hotel staff and politeness goes a long way.

Overall a fantastic ski holiday!

Stayed: February 2017, travelled as a couple
Thank Corinna B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 14 January 2017

If you are looking for a superb skiing holiday in a beautiful resort, staying in an immaculate hotel with amazing cuisine and attentive, happy staff, look no further.
We are leaving this haven tomorrow and it will be with a heavy heart as the whole experience has been second to none.
And to the staff....
All I can say is that if this is you first season folks, you are all going to get better and better.
Thank you !

  • Stayed: January 2017, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank Happymidwife65
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 4 July 2016

Just got back from Lech Austria having stayed at the hotel Theodul.. My wife and I stayed fo r a holiday with Omega holidays for eight days. The first impression we got was how clean the hotel was, the toilets were immaculate. We got a room that we asked for with a view and a balcony. Ample sized room with all that is required. The television was of good quality for the tennis! We were on a bed and breakfast stay, breakfast was continental style with an excellent choice. The dinner was five courses which varied every evening. Food was excellent. The waiting staff were efficient and friendly. In particular a nice young French girl Charlotte( Charlie is cool.) she looked after us very well. The family run hotel were very friendly and and helpful which made our stay very nice. The hotel is situated in the town of Lech which is right on the doorstep.

Room Tip: At the rear of the hotel , 35. There is a loud noise from the mountain stream outside which was...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: June 2016, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
2  Thank ChristopherJFord
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 15 March 2016 via mobile

Spotlessly Clean hotel , friendly staff. A wonderful location for skiers and non skiers in the center of town. Very organized and helpful owners. Ski lockers for all. Buffet breakfast and choice of three meals at night. large bar area. Staff great especially Peter the sommelier . For the American visitors, no room service but think standard in most European ski hotels. Would return but if you looking for modern or American style you would pay a lot more down the road at the larger hotels

Stayed: March 2016, travelled with friends
Thank Yenooc
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 6 March 2016 via mobile

Outstanding hospitality and food and drink the daily treat. Martina Peter and their staff are attentive and discreet - available to help the children and think ahead on organising your holiday. Our second year and planning the third. Can wait to go back.

Stayed: March 2016, travelled with family
1  Thank 705RKrishnan
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Lech hotels
0.2 km away
Pfefferkorn's Hotel
Pfefferkorn's Hotel
#27 of 53 in Lech
85 reviews
0.3 km away
Der Berghof
Der Berghof
#2 of 53 in Lech
246 reviews
1.3 km away
Hotel Brunnenhof
Hotel Brunnenhof
#41 of 53 in Lech
61 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.4 km away
Hotel Plattenhof
Hotel Plattenhof
#40 of 53 in Lech
54 reviews
0.3 km away
Hotel Jagdhaus Monzabon
0.3 km away
Kristiania Lech
Kristiania Lech
#32 of 53 in Lech
87 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Theodul? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Theodul

Address: Omesberg 332, Lech 6764, Austria
Region: Austria > Austrian Alps > Vorarlberg > Lech
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Ski-In / Ski-Out Spa Suites
Hotel Style:
#3 Family Hotel in Lech
#8 Romantic Hotel in Lech
#19 Ski-In / Ski-Out Hotel in Lech
#20 Spa Hotel in Lech
#23 Luxury Hotel in Lech
Hotel Class:4 star — Hotel Theodul 4*
Number of rooms: 29
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Familiar 4 star hotel in the heart of Lech. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with TripOnline SA so you can book your Hotel Theodul reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Theodul Hotel Lech

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing