We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Nearby Hotels
Reviews (151)
Filter reviews
151 results
Traveller rating
127
12
7
3
2
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
127
12
7
3
2
Show reviews that mention
All reviewsvip skiski holidayguide eddiebreakfast selectionski guidingmueslidietary requirementson arrivalthe hotel staffwonderful stayhome from homecakesspaaustriaslopesquizmountains
Filter
Updating list...
10 - 15 of 151 reviews
Reviewed March 6, 2017 via mobile

From the little touches to the important stuff - this chalet hotel run by VIPSki was just perfect. The food was particularly good and I had the best meal I've ever had during my stay. There was a meat, fish or veggie option for evening meals. The bar was cheap for Lech. The staff were brilliant. Everything was made easy and it all ran like clockwork in every way. Lech itself is lovely and the skiing varied and extensive - but the slopes were very busy due to Austrian school holidays which we hadn't bargained for. Great holiday - thank you Hotel Theodul!!

Stayed: March 2017, travelled as a couple
Thank 111JLM
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed March 6, 2017

Our ski holiday (Feb 26th–March 5th 2017) this year with VIP Ski at Hotel Theodul in Lech, Austria, booked through the excellent Ski Solutions, has been one of the best ski holiday experiences we can remember. As a group of 7 skiers, everyone agreed that this trip was right up there with the best. Hotel Theodul is actually run very innovatively as a large chalet, but with substantial added value in the excellent quality of the accommodation, huge bedrooms, some having his & hers ensuite bathrooms, brilliant shower/baths, and more wardrobe space than you could ever hope to use. The hotel staff are the most wonderfully proactive and engaged people we have been looked after by on any holiday we can remember. Hotel Theodul has the most homely & relaxed atmosphere of any similar skiing accommodation we have stayed in anywhere.
The hotel has a free to use, genuine high speed Wifi connection for all guests.
Bar prices at Hotel Theodul are surprisingly, substantially less expensive than at bars & restaurants in the center of Lech generally. The hotel provides free tea & coffee all day, and provides snacks paid for through an honesty box on the bar. At 16:00 every day, hotel guests are treated to freshly made cake to absolutely die for. The hotel food is outstandingly good, and was consistently so right throughout our holiday. Breakfast is a wide choice of cooked or buffet food, and the dinner menus are of the highest quality & variety for all dietary requirements. We had a vegetarian and a pescatarian in our group, both of whom considered themselves wonderfully provided for. Our flights for this holiday were with British Airways from Gatwick to Friedrishafen Airport (in Germany). Friedishafen Airport is very relaxed, with none of the usual herded cattle feel about it. Lech is a very reasonable transfer time of just under 2 hours from the Airport. VIP Ski provide the coach transfer service, with free water and fresh fruit provided on the transfers, both from the Friedrishafen Airport to Lech, and for the return trip to Friedrishafen Airport. Although this holiday was at the higher end of our budget, the easily discernible benefit and value we feel we experienced on this holiday, definitely made the holiday price worth the extra expense.
With regard to the skiing in the resort of Lech and surrounding ski areas, the skiing is both varied and challenging. There is substantial opportunity to ski safely off-piste (for those appropriately equipped and sufficiently experienced for such activities).
From Hotel Theodul, there is a short (5 - 10 minutes) walk to the main lifts and ski hire Centre (Strolz, beside the main piste 200), where you can hire & store your boots and skis. Hotel. Theodul provide a free shuttle service to and from any of the local lifts or hire centres.

Our personal favourite skiing days out were in the much larger neighbouring ski resort of St Anton, which is surprisingly easy to get to from Lech. The route is as follows: From Lech Centre, take the Rufikopf Cabin Lift up the Rufikopf Mountain at 2362 metres. Follow the beautifully picturesque blue piste 180, down to the short Schuttboden "T" bar drag lift. At the top of this drag lift, turn right on to blue piste 185 down to the Trittalp 6 Person Chair Lift. Off this lift, follow blue piste 123 down to the Trittalm Bergrestaurant, turning sharp left, still on blue piste 123, down into the ski resort of Zurs, keeping left, then down to the main Trittkopfbahn Cabin Lift. Take this lift up to join the Flexenbahn Cabin Lift to the small ski resort of Stuben (just above St Christoph). From the Flexenbahn Cabin Lift at Stuben, follow the impressively wide and connected blue pistes 100, 78, 56, 55, & 50 (superb cruising run) down into St Anton, where a myriad of superb skiing options opens up in front of you. A truly brilliant area to ski, both on and off piste!
We all agreed we would definitely use VIP Ski for a ski holiday again, and would also recommend both Ski Solutions & VIP Ski to our friends.

Room Tip: Ask for room No 1 (Our room) on the first floor, huge, his & hers Bathroom, very quiet.
  • Stayed: February 2017, travelled with friends
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
2  Thank Jim H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed March 4, 2017

We stayed at the Theodul with Vip Ski. It was our third time in Lech, but our first time at the Theodul, by far our best hotel stay here. One of our family party was taken ill for most of the week which always makes for a tough stay, however, the staff at the hotel could not do enough to be helpful and make us comfortable. Skiing time was limited due to some adverse weather conditions, but fortunately Lech is pretty enough to while away the hours with coffee and Apple Strudel.

Room Tip: The rooms facing out to the back of the hotel are quieter
  • Stayed: February 2017, travelled with family
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Thank susanne1mj
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed February 5, 2017 via mobile

VIP ski have rented the winter season at Hotel Theodul, a beautiful hotel which appears to have been recently renovated throughout. The rooms are a good size with balconies and new clean bathrooms.

Lech is a great ski resort, very pretty and the hotel is nicely located near to the lifts and for those that ski or don't like to walk the bus will drive you right to the ski lift.

The food was to a very good standard throughout and the staff are very conscientious, please remember they are chalet staff not hotel staff and politeness goes a long way.

Overall a fantastic ski holiday!

Stayed: February 2017, travelled as a couple
Thank Corinna B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed January 14, 2017

If you are looking for a superb skiing holiday in a beautiful resort, staying in an immaculate hotel with amazing cuisine and attentive, happy staff, look no further.
We are leaving this haven tomorrow and it will be with a heavy heart as the whole experience has been second to none.
And to the staff....
All I can say is that if this is you first season folks, you are all going to get better and better.
Thank you !

  • Stayed: January 2017, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank Happymidwife65
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews