We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Hellhole” 1 of 5 bubbles
Review of River Reggae Apartments

We can't find prices for this hotel
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this hotel, but we can search other options in Ayia Napa
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
River Reggae Apartments
Ranked #102 of 106 Hotels in Ayia Napa
Glasgow, United Kingdom
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Hellhole”
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 3 October 2011

River Reggae Apartments should be shut immediately. They are unsafe (electrically), unsafe again (items stolen), insecure (broken door locks), infested with cockroaches and ant nests, rusty appliances, damaged appliances, filthy appliances, no hot water, no kitchen utensils, no towels provide, shower curtains inadequate (floods every day), broken beds, cleaners rare and uncaring, pool filthy (probably vomit), staff uninterested, reps unhelpful. Expected basic but clean as described in the brochure. Got a filthy, unsafe, infested hell hole. Don't even contemplate going unless you don't mind any of the above because staff and reps will do ABSOLUTELY NOTHING to make it anty better.

Room Tip: Go elsewhere because that certainly isn't an option at River Reggae!
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2011, travelled with friends
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Brian H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

130 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    21
    29
    13
    15
    52
See reviews for
1
2
Solo
0
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    2 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    2 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    2.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    2.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    2 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (28)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Wallasey, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
18 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 13 September 2011

i have just come back from staying in this so called hotel. Was absolutely disgusted by the standards in this place. no towels bedding was never changed cleaners just made the bed again so looked like they had changed it. No hot water in the shower which u could spit faster than the pressure. Loud music all though the night so no chance of any sleep. room was covered in ants had to go out and by ant killer. went to the pool for about 5 mins walked around and walked straight back out wouldnt even get in that water people having sex in it in the night! if you have no self respect and want to feel unclean and cheated for your whole stay then go if not stay away!

  • Stayed September 2011, travelled as a couple
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank ayme_ryan
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers are raving about these Ayia Napa hotels

Cambridge, United Kingdom
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 11 August 2011

before we went we were all dreading staying at these apartments, all the reviews showed horrible photos and nothing but bad comments. but when we were arrived we were pleasantly surprised, it wasnt dirty and everything was in order. no mould anywhere! yeah we had ants and cockroaches but anywhere in ayia napa has that! the maid came round and cleaned the room and bathroom, the only problem we had was the shower being blocked but the maid sorted that for us! i would reccomend buying the air conditioning though our room was boiling! also there was never any thefts of anything in our room or the surrounding ones, it actually felt quite safe compared to some other hotels we had seen! and its in the best location too! not far from the sqaure to walk and the after party is on your doorstep :) on a clubbing holiday who cares about music playing into the morning - dont go to napa if you do! best holiday ever, we will be returning next year!

  • Stayed July 2011, travelled with friends
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank vicky s
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Maidstone, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
10 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 8 August 2011

After reading these reviews me and my friends were a bit worried about what we'd let ourselfs in for but its completely different to these bad reviews you have nothing to worry about going here, sure its not 5 star but you know that when you book it. The atmosphere, location and staff are all excellent. I never once heard of a room break in and there is a few ants but there everywhere in ayia napa. The rooms are very basic but this hotel never sleeps so if you like a party loads of nosie and freedom this hotel is deffo for you! I would go back again tomorrow if i was going again! the beach is a short taxi ride away and its about 6-8 euros each way which is fine. The hotel is pretty much right on the strip which is insane!!!! this holiday is for the people who purposly want to party! It was by far 1000 times better then my expectations. I would also recommend the kandi beach party which is every friday in napa!

Room Tip: Room 29 is the best room!
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2011, travelled with friends
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank princessebx
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Leeds, United Kingdom
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 23 July 2011

Well me and my friend went to ayia napa on the 6th of july and to be honest we shopped about for our hotel. In the end we chose the pambos magic, we read lots of different reviews and we thought well it cant be as bad as people are making out well we never found out... when we got to pambos magic we was told we would be getting moved due to an over book. Lets just say we was very annoyed! We was told we would be staying in a lovely called the river reggae, the very friendly maybe a little too friendly taxi man dropped us off at the river reggae our first thought was hmm it cant be that bad, we got there and the reception man was lovely he was so kind, we was also greeted by an 18-30s rep who was a lovely lad and helped us so much. We got given our room, our apartment door looked like a shed door and you couldnt even see the number off the door because it had rusted off, we went inside and a load of ants greeted us running by our feet. We went to check out our beds and i pulled back my sheet and a patch of blood (not mine) was sat waiting for me i had to sleep on my beach towel for 2 days before our bed sheets got changed. We had 3 hangers for our clothes and about a 5 inch wide wardrobe where we was to keep our clothes and one draw. In the bathroom the shower wasnt even hooked up we had to hold the shower head to get a shower, there also wasnt any hot water AT ALL. The toilet was manky with mould on the bottom and the rim. The sink wasnt too bad but could of done with a new tap and plug and basin :) The nights sleep lets face it there wasnt much of it the music was pumping 6 while 6 next morning it just didnt stop. The next morning we went down to the corner shop (very cheap) to get some water we took the water back and put it in the fridge and extremely cold (bonus!) apart from it was leaking all over the floor, after wiping it up we went down to the pool and the first thought was "oh its actually quite nice" until i saw what happened init at night. Lets just say it wasnt just condoms floating there was alot more. i never went in again. Overall the staff and the location of the hotel was good, BUT i wouldnt send my dog to live in it. The amount of people i heard on the phone asking their parents to get them an early flight home was ridiculous i couldnt count them on one hand. If your wanting to stay in an hotel with nice rooms a good bed a shower which only trickled out cold water, ants running the place and a toilet with mould the river reggae is the place too stay.

P.S THE NIGHT LIFE IS MINT :) DO CASTLE :)

Room Tip: full of ants, sheets with blood on, toilet that wouldnt flush, a RADIATOR hanging off the wall, a fr...
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2011, travelled with friends
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank alicex037
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 17 July 2011

All these people who keep moaning about this place are to stuck up and need to sort there lives out me and two mates went for two weeks and only paid 500 each so you know your not paying for 5 star. The reps in the hotel are wicked and will help you with anything you need. The staff are also helpful and even though the rules are strict they still let you off a few things. So the rooms arnt the best but you spend most your time by the pool which is amazing or down the beach.

  • Stayed June 2011
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank scottysmith
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Chesterfield, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
13 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 12 July 2011

I was supposed to stay at the river reggae for 2 weeks starting from 6th july, today is the 12th and im home. I booked the first flight out of that place! when we arrived on the 6th the reps were fab!! thats the only good thing i can say about it. We got to are room, there were ants crawling all over the bed, there is no hot water after 4/5 o clock and the shower just drips on you, you'd be better off washing your hair in the swimming pool in which we found a condom!! The hotel is a free for all as the club opens at 4:30am until 8am. and everybody can come in and out of the hotel as they please, so watch your valubles! your lucky if you get a full nights sleep, i woke up one morning to two boys fighting outside are room. There are no fans in the rooms and aircon is 70-80 euros per week which only works in the bedroom! I didnt expect luxury as its 18-30 but come on being bit to death is not my kinda holiday! Good luck if your going!

Room Tip: Dont stay unless you like dirt or ants!
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2011, travelled with friends
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank hannahbabe85
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Ayia Napa hotels
0.0 km away
Tsokkos Holiday Apartments
Tsokkos Holiday Apartments
#94 of 106 in Ayia Napa
3.5 of 5 bubbles 308 reviews
0.0 km away
Evabelle Napa Hotel Apartments
0.0 km away
Green Bungalows
Green Bungalows
#44 of 106 in Ayia Napa
4.0 of 5 bubbles 352 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.0 km away
Paul Marie Apartments
Paul Marie Apartments
#89 of 106 in Ayia Napa
3.0 of 5 bubbles 114 reviews
0.0 km away
Napa Plaza Hotel
Napa Plaza Hotel
#5 of 106 in Ayia Napa
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,690 reviews
0.0 km away
Adams Beach Hotel
Adams Beach Hotel
#20 of 106 in Ayia Napa
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,425 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to River Reggae Apartments? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about River Reggae Apartments

Property: River Reggae Apartments
Address: Ayia Napa, Cyprus
Region: Cyprus > Famagusta District > Ayia Napa
Amenities:
Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #102 of 106 Hotels in Ayia Napa
Number of rooms: 337
Also Known As:
River Reggae Apartments Hotel Ayia Napa

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing