We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Surprisingly nice!”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
Makronisos Holiday Village
Ranked #23 of 102 Hotels in Ayia Napa
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 19 May 2012

We stayed here for a week booked with Olympic at a very good price for self catering week. Initially Ayia Napa didn't seem too appealing to us but we were very pleasantly surprised, situated just a few miles from Ayia Napa but the bus goes outside the apartments every twenty minutes at a fare of just 1 euro, well worth it. Apartment complex is very nice for 3 star set in lovely gardens (can still hear those birds chirpping!), very well kept, clean complex, entertainment for both the youngsters and adults (daytime + evening) with very nice friendly staff - cleaning ladies most happpy and friendly at their work! The apartment we had was really nice for 2 people with plenty of space, nice big separate bedroom, large living/kitchen area and good sized balcony. If you self cater the cooking facilitiesthough are very limited. All-in-all a most pleasant week - don't hesitate to book this one!

Room Tip: Complex is set out in bungalow style units, very nice layout, ask for a higher floor (3 levels) but...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: May 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Wanderer024
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (907)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

607 - 613 of 907 reviews

Reviewed 19 May 2012

Just back from Macronissos Village (May 2012) had to write a review the place is great !!!
We stayed in a Villa / Bungalow and thought the rooms were great and kept very clean, the grounds were a good size and the pool/bar area was lovely, the staff were also fantastic very friendly and nothing was too much trouble, The grounds around the village were kept very tidy. My kids went to the Kids Club every day and loved it 3 hours evey morning , it included face painting, drawing etc and Stacey who ran the club was fantastic.
We stayed self catering and found it was very cheap to eat out in Ayia Napa with 1 euro per adult fare on the bus you were 5 min away from the main strip, the variety was great we didn't have one bad meal the whole week we were there and great value for money kids meals were 5 euro and 3 course adult meal including Sirloin Steak was 10 euro each.
A special mention to the Macronissos BBQ Night 25 Euro all you can eat and free drink between 8-12 pm great value !!!
Also a special mention to all at the Kings Sword the food was fantastic with,karaoke, and live music each night the place was great it also showed all the football and was 2 min away from the village.
Macronissos Beach was also lovely, well kept and wasnt far away from the apartments either.
If you want something fancy and Five Star ....then go somewhere else !!!!!
If you want a good fun holiday with great food and a fun place with the kids..then this is the place for you ....because your 5 min of Ayia Napa its nice and peaceful with no larger louts in sight !!!

We will be back .....

Room Tip: Rooms 100 to 112 are at the entrance and away from the pool area so if you want an early night its a...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: May 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank Sirus73
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 25 April 2012

Myself and a mate stayed here last July the accomodation was basic and could do with an update!! But my biggest problem was the air conditioning which was poor and only in the bedroom its an extra cost to get air con in the living area! The pool was very nice with a lifeguard always on duty and kids entertainment at night was fantastic! We had a chat with our rep at We headed out most nights to Ayia Napa which is only a couple of Euro for a return ticket because taxis can be v expensive!

  • Stayed: July 2011, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank Carmella_10
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 6 January 2012

group of 4 women, 45-50. Nice place, clean and well equipped. Very family orientated, not really for couples or groups of adults but we had a good time! lack of sunbeds, and the usual procedure of having to get up at 7am if you wanted one! Food was ok, not much choice for my vegetarian friend, but she survived! I read peoples comments about the lack of choice, but Im one of those people who if there is too much choice I cant decide what to have! Good selection of salad, always a meat dish, fish, vegetables, potatoes and pasta, what else do you need! I agree the desserts were a bit hit n miss, not much left unless you got there early! All inclusive bar was a bit of a let down, drinks were very weak, but after midnight when you had to pay for them they were a lot stronger! Rooms were adequate, nice balcony area. Dont know if I would come here again unless I had children with me, too much splashing in the pool and inflatables for my liking! A short walk to macronissis beach was a good find, small secluded beach with a lovely bar/cafe for drinks n snacks, had to pay for the sunbeds but it was worth the peace and tranquility!

  • Stayed: September 2011, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank julie f
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 4 January 2012

The Macronissos Vacation Club was great fun with a lovely swimming pool area and amazing entertainment team, the kids club was lovely to with loads of fun-packed activities. We booked this hotel with olympic holidays - acomodation only and booked our flights seperately which worked out much cheaper and you could chose flights to suit yourself. The price for acomodation only with olypmic was very reasonable compared to other hotels in the area. You still get full use of the kids club etc for this price. We went self catering because we enjoy the local restaurants in the evening time. Its not cheap to eat out but the Olive Garden next to the hotel is a beautiful place to eat and relax in the evening before going back to the hotel for the entertainment. Overall this is a great place to visit - we have been to this area of cyprus 10 times now and 4 to this particular hotel - love it !!!

Stayed: October 2011, travelled with family
2  Thank beverley t
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 18 December 2011

I thought the Macronissos Village a great place to have a really relaxing holiday. It is located about 3 miles outside Ayia Napa, in a quiet area close to the waterpark. Just a few shops/bars/restaurants nearby but buses into Ayia Napa every 20 mins (1euro), which also serve all the best beaches and continue to Protaras. If you are hiring a car, the hotel is also handily placed for the motorway junction.
The hotel consists of many bungalows and 2/3 storey blocks set in lovely gardens. All on the level and wheelchair access good. Bar, restaurant and pool are clustered in the centre. The pool is lovely but max 1.3 mtr deep so no diving. Also has a jaccuzzi. Rooms are very spacious, clean and comfortable with huge balconies. They have a kitchen with fridge,kettle + toaster as S/C is also offered.
If you do go S/C the shop at the front of the hotel is very expensive. Worth going into Ayia Napa, which I found to be surprisingly nice and not at all what I expected. Lovely harbourside area. Much better exchange rates here too.
Bar entertainment is mainly disco, karaoke and bingo, which didn't suit some people but most seemed quite happy with it. Staff are all lovely and the drinks keep coming! Food choice is a bit limited as this is a fairly small hotel to be offering all/inc, but what there is is hot and tasty. Breakfast is great if you like your Full English!
A very pleasant place with great staff, peace and quiet, flowers, birds, and the biggest Geckoes I've ever seen!

  • Stayed: October 2011, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank lynwill53
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 16 December 2011

Lovel hotel the service at the bar is exceptional. Food was of a good quality but could of done with a little more variety. Snacks at the bar were all really nice. A bit of a way out from Ayia Napa but a nice walk in or a short bus journey make it easy to explore. Great for visiting the waterpark as it is just a short walk away and you can always nip back to the hotel for lunch before returing to the water park. Throughly enjoyed the holiday.

  • Stayed: July 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank KDB100883
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Ayia Napa hotels
0.3 km away
Mon Repos Design Hotel
Mon Repos Design Hotel
#22 of 102 in Ayia Napa
264 reviews
0.8 km away
Loutsiana Hotel Apts
Loutsiana Hotel Apts
#26 of 102 in Ayia Napa
609 reviews
1.7 km away
Nissiana Hotel & Bungalows
Nissiana Hotel & Bungalows
#33 of 102 in Ayia Napa
319 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
4.7 km away
Nestor Hotel
Nestor Hotel
#9 of 102 in Ayia Napa
840 reviews
3.6 km away
Euronapa Hotel Apartments
Euronapa Hotel Apartments
#11 of 102 in Ayia Napa
249 reviews
1.3 km away
Adams Beach Hotel
Adams Beach Hotel
#25 of 102 in Ayia Napa
1,754 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Makronisos Holiday Village? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Makronisos Holiday Village

Address: Nissi Avenue 148, Ayia Napa 5330, Cyprus
Region: Cyprus > Famagusta District > Ayia Napa
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Kitchenette Restaurant Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#1 Top resorts Hotel in Ayia Napa
#10 Spa Hotel in Ayia Napa
#25 Family Hotel in Ayia Napa
#39 Romantic Hotel in Ayia Napa
Price Range: $57 - $166 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Makronisos Holiday Village 3*
Number of rooms: 122
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Ideally located in a peaceful spot on the outskirts of Ayia Napa, The Makronisos Village is a complete tourist village with a rustic feel. The sweeping sands of Nissi Bay with its wide range of water sports are close by, as are tavernas and a water park. The pulsing nightlife in Ayia Napa can be reached in five minutes by car, or a quick hop on the bus from outside the hotel. Checking in at the lovely reception area, you will receive a warm welcome reflecting the attentive, high standard of service to come. Attractively decorated and well equipped bungalows with spacious terraces are set among extensive gardens filled with palms and beautiful bougainvillea. The gardens create a lush back drop to the large, beautiful swimming pool with children's pool attached. A wealth of facilities and an extensive leisure programme for all ages mean you'll be torn between an energetic time or a chilled out break. So why not have a bit of both? Engage with fellow guests in volleyball, football, tennis, or water polo, to name a few, before surrendering to a dreamy massage. Don't worry about the children; they'll be well taken care of at the Kids' club, with endless all-day fun with new-found friends. Buffet meals are served in the hotel's inviting restaurant, and sandwiches, ice cream and other snacks can be bought from the bar and by the pool. Each evening entertainment is laid on in the form of barbecues, bingo, karaoke and more. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Priceline, Bookcyprus.com and TripOnline SA so you can book your Makronisos Holiday Village reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Macronissos Vacation Club Hotel Ayia Napa
Macronissos Village Ayia Napa
Macronissos Village Hotel

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing