We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Nearby Hotels
Reviews (225)
Filter reviews
225 results
Traveller rating
79
68
26
20
32
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
79
68
26
20
32
See what travellers are saying:
Filter
Updating list...
12 - 17 of 225 reviews
Reviewed May 20, 2011

Cala Joncols..Our escape haven!!!

It is fair to say that Cala Joncols certainly isnt a place for people who like the 'all inclusive' package holidays, instead, it is for people who want to be cut off from the real world and be surrounded by beautiful scenery, charming people and enjoy stunning dives.

Yes, there are no tv's in the rooms and no kettles to make tea in the morning..instead, you have a clean, comfortable and simply decorted room. I have to say, that this is half of the appeal for me. My partner and I always fall in love with each other again and actually TALK to each other and laugh together instead of being distracted by internet, tv and x box lol...

Yes, there is only one choice of food if you are staying all inclusive however..one thing you can be certain of is you will not be served chips or sausages, instead, you will be served fresh fish....at this point it is only fair to mention the farther or the establishments AMAZING piella...my god..you have not tried piella until you have tried his piella!

The dive school that is attached to the hotel is run by a lovely lovely couple who couldnt do more to assist you..nor could their instructors and dm's.

We took our kids to Joncols for the first time last year and in the kids words..they had an 'ace' holiday! Not once were thery bored. We took them snorkelling, kayaking, swimming, walking and spent alot of time around a table playing cards with them. It was a really nice holiday where the kids were allowed to explor and enjoy the type of childhood I was so lucky to have when I grew up..we wouldnt think twice about taking them back!

I have to say that I am disappointed that people have given bad reviews on this hotel. Myself and my partner are both divers and have stayed at Cala joncols for the past four years and we will return year on year and would certainly encourage our friends to discover this little haven!

  • Stayed: June 2010, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank Kezbowbow83
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed May 19, 2011

Somewhat the same as other reports ......dinner dreadful....soup, a little fish with bread and a pear (1) for desert @€62.50 for half board is not acceptable Breakfast was a little better if you come down early. This was like a poor standard hostel.
The staff of the hotel and the diving school were most helpful and friendly.
As other reports there were no soaps or shampoo in the bedrooms and when I asked for some I was told that I would have to wait until the maid came in at 1900hrs. When nothing happened by 1930 I came down again to reception and she was able to put her hands on some immediatly. I got the impression that this receptionist was not there to help the guests.
The setting is beautiful but for lots of reasons would not or could not recommend a stay.

  • Stayed: May 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank catkilkenny
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed October 16, 2010

We arrived in this beautiful bay after a long, slow journey along the dirt track that takes you there. We were trying to get from Roses to Cadaques (apparently impossible) when we stumbled on the spot.

Staying just inside France, we didn't fancy the drive back and the bay was enchanting, so we popped in to the hotel to enquire about rates. The garden was stunning too, an olive grove with an inviting pool in the middle and tables out for the bar on a large terrace. The restaurant was on the next floor, with a large open terrace and sea views while you eat. Lovely!

Rates-wise, it was a little steep, but we thought we'd treat ourselves. We agreed to stay without checking the room. Mistake!

When we went upstairs to check the room we were gutted. Three single beds, all different heights, the cheapest the management could get hold of, surely. Our 'sea view' terrace was on the side of the building, so we had to peer over the end wall, over our neighbours' (genuine) sea view terrace to see the sea.

The bathroom was awful. It should have been renovated 30 years ago, and that's being kind. We had not intended to stay the night, but we weren't worried, thinking the hotel would provide the necessary, but no. There wasn't even a hand soap! We had to go and ask at reception for soap and shampoo. Then my wife had a bath, I went to have one straight after and there was no more hot water. You can imagine my mood.

This little spot in paradise was rapidly turning in to a Fawlty Towers-esque experience.

Disappointed, mainly angry at the price we paid for a truly poor room, but determined not to spoil our evening, we went down to the restaurant. Here it got worse. There was no menu - everything was fixed price and no choice whatsoever. You simply had to eat what you were given, vegetarians would be hungry. In fairness, the restaurant staff were very friendly and the food was OK, even good, but hardly the nice restaurant you hoped you'd eat in while watching the moon over the bay!

After that we went to the bar for a few drinks, which was actually nice, and then retired to bed. We slept well enough, though cuddling up was impossible thanks to the hotch-potch of beds the management had slung together. Next morning we paid and left.

In summary, this is a zero star hotel which does enough to pretend it's some kind of five star luxury spa to draw in the gullible and unwary (yes, that's us). It grossly over charges for the poorly equipped rooms and shabby toilet arrangements and the restaurant, despite decent food and pleasant staff, is also a rip off with no choice except what is being brought out.

One thing, the hotel was clean and the staff were very nice. But everything else about it was very over-priced, and in many cases poor.

This is probably a good hotel if you are coming for the on site scuba diving school and have booked in for a week of activity, full board. But in this case you'll have paid a lot less per night than we did and you'll be enjoying the comradery of your group. (Unless you're vegetarian. Then you'll be very hungry.)

If you turn up unannounced as a romantic couple/family hoping to enjoy the beauty of the bay from the comfort of a pretty hotel and eat a quiet dinner looking out across the water, walk away! You will be highly disappointed! What you'll get is a cheaply-furnished room, without even so much as a TV or minibar, a shabby bathroom devoid of toiletries and hot water and a fixed price meal in a canteen with no options - and you'll pay through the nose.

  • Stayed: September 2010, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank gharvey
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed May 9, 2010

This part of the coast is surpringsinly unspoiled....but hotel cala jóncols is really a horrible place.
There have no serious investment on its premises during the last 50 years. Baths and rooms, despite of their cleaninless are all and in bad condition.
At restaurant there is no menu. You get the dish available and that's all.
Before visiting it think twice because it is expensive and the quality VERY POOR.

  • Stayed: May 2010, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank barux
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed yesterday
Google Translation

  • Stayed: September 2018, travelled as a couple
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews