We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Cracking For The Price!”
Review of Hotel Palma Mazas

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
Hotel Palma Mazas
Ranked #38 of 44 Hotels in El Arenal
Reviewed 25 April 2012

Went to mazas for a week. We were happy with the cleaners and staff they always made it a welcoming place. Met some great people there,Steve,Julie,Dave. There is a local spar around the corner witch was cheap and quick. The food was alright...But if you didnt want it down town were loads of pizzerias £2.00 for a big pizza. Only faults were really the food and some noisey Neighbours.But once we told the lovly english lady she went and told them. So all in all good holiday

Room Tip: if your paying for a 2star hotel and going to be fussy about it...go else where.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: April 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank oneillscooby
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (626)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

362 - 368 of 626 reviews

Reviewed 24 April 2012

my husband and myself stayed here for one week from 31st march, first impressions were as walked into hotel was clean, staff were friendly, and rooms very basic but spotless and sheets and towels changed daily, the food was basic but always found something to eat, yes drinks were served in plastic cups but that quite often is the case with all inclusive, you could go back to the bar as often as you like, sometimes there was a queue but most people took it in good humour and chatted, the barman was usually friendly and chatty , but some people would throw abuse at him, which wasnt right, we got on with everyone and although there was no entertainment we made friends with different people. remember this is a 2 star hotel, if you want 5 star hotel then you have to pay 5 star prices. we didnt use the pool, but walked down to the lovely beach every day, some people were complaining about nitty gritty things, at the end of the day you know what is on offer when you book it so dont complain if there is no entertainment or play facilities for children, i wouldnt come here with children, but as a quiet cheap getaway it is ok, a holiday is what you make it yourself, if you are going to let a continental breakfast or a drink in a plastic cup spoil your holiday then you should stay at home!!!

Room Tip: cheap and cheerful
See more room tips
  • Stayed: March 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Suefinney
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 22 April 2012

Myself and my husband stayed at this hotel (thankfully only for 3 nights) in April 2012.

On arrival at the Palma Mazas we were dropped at the end of the road and met by a very dingy looking hotel that certainly had seen better days. On entering the lobby we were plesently surprised as it looked clean and reasonable in quality. We had booked the hotel having been told it is a 3 star however the hotel itself states it is a 2 star. We were checked in by a pleasent member of staff and then ventured off to our room. Oh dear... The room was very basic to say the least and had graffiti dating as far back as 1997! There was also a strange smell in the room, we did not work out what it was and it was there thoughout the whole stay. We had glass door leading onto a balcony which sloped so much we did not feel safe even standing on it. The glass doors themselves were broken and didn't lock.

We went downstairs into the bar which had a very limited choice of drinks. The drinks (as with a lot of low cost all inclusive hotels) were served in small plastic cups and were clearly watered down. Despite this the barman tutted at us when we got to our 4th drink and later refused to serve us more than one drink at a time despite the person in front being served four drinks at once (we were not in any way drunk, you would have to drink all day and night to get drunk there).

The food was very bland and samey and was not labelled so you had no idea what it was. Generally it was pretty awful unless you are happy only to eat salad and nothing else.

Generally the hotel was in a very poor state of repair, with exposed wires etc. During our stay it did rain and one couple had a hole in their ceiling which let in rain over their bed. The hotels answer to this was to put a towel on the bed to soak up the rainfall! Also whilst we were there the sister hotel, the emperador was closed down due to the state that it wa in and dangerous wires.

They claim to change the sheets every day but didn't do it once. The towels were old and worn out, one was even ripped. The room was clean when we got there but despite me dropping my mascara which left a big black mark, the bathroom was not cleaned at all during our stay.

There is no evening entertainment and one night they didn't even put on music in the bar.

You can get very good cheap deals to stay in this hotel but really, no deal is cheap enough!

Room Tip: Best room tip I can give is to stay somewhere else.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: April 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Heather B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 17 April 2012

The properier has a sister hotel up the road called hotel emperador ( do not go to it ) he is using both hotels as one thus a bit busy !!!! There is one person behind the bar at night with orders to serve one drink to one person ! So you end up queuing up a lot !!!! We just booked into another hotel in the end due to disappointment

Room Tip: None there all basic
See more room tips
  • Stayed: April 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Davemac03
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 13 April 2012

We where a party of four ages 27-31and just wanted a bit of fun,, but was way off,, couldnt play are music (it wasnt loud). Food was terrible,,, Staff was lovely rooms was clean,,If they just sorted out the food and if they some enteraining it would of been all right.. Wouldnt go back to this hotel.
The hotel is up a very big hill,,

Room Tip: We stayed in the rooms beside the rep,,, stay away from them as its very noisy cuz theres a pool tab...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: April 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank katrina w
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 13 April 2012

we booked this as a last minute cheap deal thinking it couldn't be too bad. we've stayed in hostels before so we're used to cheap and cheerful but even we were surprised at how bad palma mazas was. the main issue was the food- we werent expecting jamie oliver standard for what we paid but we were expecting a bit more variety. breakfast consisted of bread rolls and some suspect ham, there was a 4 slice toaster for the whole hotel so we soon gave up on the toast idea. lunch was a vat of cupasoup, more bread rolls and pasta then for dinner more soup, carb overload and the always fun game 'guess the meat'. after a few days we ended up eating out for all our meals- full english at the sportsmens bar for 5euros then gorgeous evening meals at del sol which are about a 15min walk away from the hotel. the hotel is also v noisy and there always seems to be school trips staying there, or worse random foreign men who decide to just open your bedroom door and come into your room. the showers never stay constantly hot and sometimes ended up being just a dribble and we only had our towels changed once during the weeks stay. if you just want somewhere to crash then the hotels not too bad but steer clear of the all inclusive- even at the low price we paid it wasnt worth it.

  • Stayed: April 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank gembob82
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 12 April 2012

We arrived on the 3rd of April for one week, I am not one for writing reviews but it annoys me to read bad reviews from people wanting a 5 star hotel for the price of a 2 star hotel. The breakfast is a continental breakfast and not full english but then your not in an english hotel!! Dinner and tea can get quite repetitive but i am sure you will always find something. The beach is about a 10 minute walk and is well worth a visit, and there is a fairly steep hill on return to the hotel which some will find steeper than others. The bar is ok, the only problem is the use of plastic glasses but if you are paying for your beer then you get a glass, but you will find at most hotels you go to they will supply plastic glasses around the pool area. There is no entertainment but i found that because of this the kids meet more friends and so do us adults. At the end of the day its fine for what you pay and given the choice of returning to the Hotel Mazas or staying in England then i would choose to return. So go out there to enjoy yourself and dont be put off by others.

  • Stayed: April 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank LoopylouLaura
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these El Arenal hotels
0.8 km away
whala!beach
whala!beach
#17 of 44 in El Arenal
830 reviews
1.1 km away
Iris Hotel
Iris Hotel
#20 of 44 in El Arenal
81 reviews
0.2 km away
Manaus
Manaus
#22 of 44 in El Arenal
284 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.2 km away
Hotel Mix Alea
Hotel Mix Alea
#11 of 44 in El Arenal
387 reviews
0.7 km away
Hotel Don Pepe
Hotel Don Pepe
#4 of 44 in El Arenal
431 reviews
0.1 km away
azuLine Hotel Bahamas
azuLine Hotel Bahamas
#5 of 44 in El Arenal
494 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Palma Mazas? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Palma Mazas

Address: Carrer Girona, 17, 07600 El Arenal, Majorca, Spain
Region: Spain > Balearic Islands > Majorca > El Arenal
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Restaurant Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #38 of 44 Hotels in El Arenal
Price Range: $42 - $127 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:2 star — Hotel Palma Mazas 2*
Number of rooms: 109
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Travelocity.ca, TripOnline SA, getaroom.com and Cancelon so you can book your Hotel Palma Mazas reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Palma Mazas El Arenal
Hotel Palma Mazas El Arenal, Majorca, Spain

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing