We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Nearby Hotels
The Horatio - Suites & Motel(Mudgee)(Great Value!)
Free cancellation until 27/07
Book now, pay at stay
US$98
US$91
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Parking
  • Pool
Comfort Inn Aden Hotel Mudgee(Mudgee)(Great Value!)
Free cancellation until 27/07
Book now, pay at stay
US$81
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Cobb & Co Court Boutique Hotel(Mudgee)(Great Value!)
Free cancellation until 21/07
US$124
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Restaurant
Mudgee Bed and Breakfast(Mudgee)(Great Value!)
Free cancellation until 21/07
US$107
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Free Parking
US$89
US$84
Agoda.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Cudgegong Valley Motel(Mudgee)(Great Value!)
US$85
US$83
Agoda.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
US$92
Priceline
View Deal
  • Free Parking
Ingenia Holidays Mudgee Valley(Mudgee)(Great Value!)
US$64
US$56
Priceline
View Deal
  • Free Parking
  • Pool
The Mudgee Homestead Guesthouse(Mudgee)(Great Value!)
US$143
US$133
Agoda.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Savings alert! 13% below average rates

The price you found is 13% lower than this hotel's average rate of US$153/night.

We analyze rates over a 60 day period, and compare your selection to the average rate of comparable stays to ensure you're getting the best possible deal.

Ingenia Holidays Mudgee(Mudgee)(Great Value!)
Free cancellation until 26/07
US$66
US$53
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Parking
  • Pool
Reviews (13)
Filter reviews
13 results
Traveller rating
8
3
1
1
0
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
8
3
1
1
0
See what travellers are saying:
Filter
Updating list...
3 - 8 of 13 reviews
Reviewed June 14, 2016

One of the owners was extremely rude to us, very unreasonable and headstrong. She made us pay a ridiculous amount of cash for having one extra person around even though there is plenty of room for more, otherwise she'd kick us all out on the spot. Would not recommend staying here because you never know what she'd come up with next. She was also very rude when we showed up late in accordance to when we said we'd arrive. We got lost so ended up arriving 2.5 hours later. The other owner was very nice, but she wasn't around for anything. When we left, we saw the one lady peeking through the bushes to make sure we were out by 10am on the dot. It's $100 per hour if you leave later, and she refused adamantly that there would be no option for late check out whatsoever. Not a pleasant person at all.

  • Stayed: April 2016, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank blairrehnquist
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Vanessa J, Owner at Protea Farm Cottages, responded to this reviewResponded June 20, 2016

Thank you for your feedback. Glad you enjoyed the fresh baked bread, cake and eggs and the fire burning awaiting your arrival.
The cottage you booked for the weekend has a maximum occupancy of 6 people (3 Queen beds). You agreed to this when you paid and accepted the very clear terms and conditions of the stay. It was also covered in an additional email prior to your stay that the cottage was booked with its maximum number of guests and that we could not accommodate 2 extra people.
When it was discovered you had in fact brought in 2 additional adults, doing your utmost to hide them, you were given the option to pay for these 2 extra guests or terminate your stay. You may have felt that there was plenty of room, but two double air mattress crammed into the living room blocking the fire exits is not acceptable and invalidates our fire and public liability insurance. We would love to take additional guests over busy periods but cannot due to insurance restrictions. If we do overfill our houses we risk losing our livelihood.
I understand your grievance as you were obviously not expecting the owners of the property to be present nor that they would insist you comply with the terms and conditions of your stay.
Late checkouts carry no extra charge if agreed in advance and are dependent on whether another party is booked to arrive on departure day (which was indeed the case).
Had there been honesty from the start there would have been no need to revisit the terms and conditions during the stay.
Fiona & Vanessa

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed October 7, 2015

We enjoyed our 3 night stay at Protea Farm cottages. Lovely district views, well equipped and comfortably appointed 3br cottage with friendly hosts. Our boys enjoyed strolling through the bush, the animals and especially the nicely located tennis court.

Downsides for some may be the 10 minute drive into Mudgee (but it is a country getaway location), bedding rather than electric blankets (but a good slow combustion stove and airconditioning) and no dishwasher (but that's just being soft).

Recommended - we'd be happy to head back for a longer stay!

  • Stayed: September 2015, travelled with family
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Inego
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Vanessa J, Owner at Protea Farm Cottages, responded to this reviewResponded June 20, 2016

Thank you for your feed back. We really appreciate it. Hopefully I will have the third longer bush walk finished before your next visit for the boys to explore.
Thanks again.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed November 1, 2014

The setting was beautiful - very peaceful and quiet. The homemade marmalade, butter and warm bread delivered to our door for breakfast was sensational at a charge of $7 a loaf. The cottages were very clean and homely. Fiona and Vanessa were very nice and friendly.
The animals were delightful and we loved sitting on the front veranda watching the little blue wrens hop around the grass and the chickens roam freely around the yard.
We thought our bed was a bit hard, but I guess you can't please everyone. We wished that there were block out curtains/blinds because the light woke us very early in the morning. We were a bit annoyed that the minimum 3 night stay included a Thursday night and none of us could make it on the Thursday, so we paid for a night we couldn't use.
It was close enough town for convenience.

Stayed: November 2014, travelled with friends
Thank Anne S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Vanessa J, Owner at Protea Farm Cottages, responded to this reviewResponded June 20, 2016

Thank you for staying with us and your feed back, we will address the issues you raised.
Many thanks.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed June 25, 2014

We've just returned from a lovely three night break at Protea Farm Cottages. We were warmly welcomed by Fiona and shown around the beautifully appointed cottage. Our group of five couples booked the two cottages even though the weather was cool we had a lovely slow combustion stove and at no time were we cold. The kitchens are very well appointed with plenty of crockery and well equipped to make your stay enjoyable. The bedrooms were well furnished with crisp linen. This would be a great property for children, the animals appeared to be a happy bunch and friendly. Certainly a lovely clean cottage, many thanks for allowing us to share your peaceful farm.

  • Stayed: June 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Jennifer B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Vanessa J, Owner at Protea Farm Cottages, responded to this reviewResponded June 20, 2016

It was a delight to have you stay with us and so pleased you all enjoyed your stay and took the time to leave feed back. Hope to see you all again soon.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed January 14, 2014

Stayed here recently for 3 days and had a wonderful time. The hosts Fiona and Vaness have thought of everything you could need and even leave you fresh eggs, marmalade jam and ground coffee for your stay.
They will even bake you a fresh loaf of bread if you want.
The property is ideally located just out of Mudgee and is a lovely spot to unwind. I wondered if we would get mobile reception on Optus but it was excellent and we could use internet no problems.
Has a bonus of two bathrooms so for a few couples it really helps.
Very relaxing place to stay and I would highly recommend it.

  • Stayed: January 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Roberre164
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Vanessa J, Owner at Protea Farm Cottages, responded to this reviewResponded June 20, 2016

Lovely feed back-much appreciated. Glad you had a great break. Thank you very much for staying with us.

Fiona

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews