We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Stunning Holiday Destination”
Review of Knight Inlet Lodge

We can't find prices for this hotel
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this hotel, but we can search other options in Glendale Cove
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Knight Inlet Lodge
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Glendale Cove
Certificate of Excellence
Newport Shropshire
Level Contributor
4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
“Stunning Holiday Destination”
Reviewed 26 September 2011

I am in love with Knight Inlet! We stayed for four nights - for probably the best holiday we have ever had. Every day was a magical, and more often than not, jaw dropping experience! From the minute we arrived we were looked after with great care by enthusiastic, highly competent, cheerful guides whose sole aim was to give us a wildlife adventure to remember forever! Which will I remember most? watching Grizzly Bear Bella and her cubs feeding in the estuary, experiencing a Humpback Whale diving under our boat on a marine trip, or meeting a group of Pacific White Sided Dolphins on a kayaking trip? Probably all of them and more! The accommodation is clean, and comfortable; the food is wonderful and plentiful - I doubt many people return to civilisation without gaining a few pounds - and you return home feeling enlightened, educated, and hopefully with a determination to encourage a greater understanding of wildlife conservation in your own part of the world. Knight Inlet is a rare and special place - Go!

  • Stayed September 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
7 Thank Gwyndave
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

354 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    326
    19
    7
    2
    0
See reviews for
94
207
11
1
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (63)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Shropshire, UK
Level Contributor
82 reviews
30 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 43 helpful votes
Reviewed 25 September 2011

This is a top place to visit. Great staff who are both knowledgeable and helpful, lots of activities and - on both of our visits - lots of bear sightings (both grizzly and black). We stayed 3 nights on both of our visits and also took a boat to Johnstone Straight to see whales. Again on both occasions we saw Orca and Minke and the Orcas came very close by us (their choice not ours but very exciting) and we could hear their calls without a hydrophone.

Even after two visits we want to go back during the next few years. It is just a magic place.

  • Stayed August 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank ruralidle
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Wellington
Level Contributor
6 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed 21 September 2011

We Kiwi's (4) stayed at Knight Inlet Lodge, (4 nights) in August 2011. This experience was a highlight of our month long holiday. Away from civilisation and the mod-cons we all think we need to rely on! From the moment we arrived we were whisked away to start our amazing experience of viewing bears, and other wildlife, in this idyllic enviornment. The floating lodge has character, all the necessary requirements & comforts without being over-the-top. The staff were great multi-taskers all round.The meals were healthy & plentiful, catering for most tastes and preferences. The organisation & excursions are varied and well planned so that NO time is wasted, giving you the opportunity to see the amazing wildlife in their natural habitat surrounded by beautiful scenery. All the necessary gear is provided - making you feel warm, comfortable and safe.
We saw brown bears, grizzly catching salmon, seals, deer, golden eagle, other birdlife, and the playful otter under the lodge. The nightly wild-life talks were a bonus and cleverley the shop was only open for 30mins at night to buy souvineers etc. Dont go there expecting luxury - its a natural, comfortable & organic with respect & support of the wildlife & environment. We couldn't recommend it more highly, so much so that we didnt want to leave. It was a nature lovers haven to enjoy.

  • Stayed August 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank RamboWellington
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
england
Level Contributor
91 reviews
64 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 60 helpful votes
Reviewed 21 September 2011

Wow!! We have been on some great safaris in Africa, and Knight Inlet is on a par with the best.
Seaplane transfer from Campbell River to the Lodge was a great experience, beautiful scenery, one of the best flights we have been on. On arrival, Dean greeted us and showed us around the Lodge. We had our first coffee and cake whilst staff transferred luggage to our room, and within 40 minutes we were all on our first estuary trip in small boats, and yes, we saw a Grizzly bear with two cubs playing in the inlet!! Back for a great buffet lunch, then out again for bear watching from one of the platforms by the salmon river. You travel to the stands in a small boat, then a small bus transfer along an old logging road, then two hours hoping for the bears to arrive. They did, and in fact we saw several on the drive to the stand. Back again to the Lodge for a comfort break, and more cake, then a boat trip along the Inlet. Return to the Lodge where everyone there ate together outside on three long tables. First you have hors d'oevres, then the chef comes out to tell you what they have cooked, the food is fabulous. Wine is complimentary with dinner, and when we asked for another bottle, no problem. A black bear walked right behind the lodge while we were having dinner. The next day we went on a whole day whale watching trip. We saw Orcas and humpback whales, really amazing, and we learnt so much from Shaun, the marine guide. We then spent the third day with more bear watching from the stands, in the morning we saw two grizzly mums with their cubs trying to catch the salmon. In the afternoon we took a trip up the lazy river with Lori, wonderfully peaceful, and this time we saw a seal with a salmon in its mouth, along with bald eagles and kingfishers. I would definitely recommend staying at least three nights if you can, but those people who stayed only one night really loved the experience. The Lodge is very safety conscious. Lifejackets and other protective equipment is provided, even wellies for transferring from boats to the stands. I can fully understand people crying when they leave, it is a truly magical experience.

  • Stayed September 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank travelcaro
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Melbourne, Australia
Level Contributor
38 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
Reviewed 18 September 2011

My visit to Knight Inlet Lodge came at the end of a 4 week tour of Canada & Alaska and I certainly saved the best to last! The wildlife encounters were fanatastic! The bear viewing stands provide an excellent opportunity for everyone to see the Grizzly bears doing what grizzlies do best.......catch salmon!

Full marks to the team for the great food, wonderful tours and a very memorable experience. Special thanks to Dean for helping this very nervous kayaker get home safely and to everyone else for sharing their knowledge and passion for wildlife and the wilderness.

  • Stayed September 2011, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Linda0z
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
WEST SUSSEX
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed 5 September 2011

This trip to knight inlet was one of the best things I have ever experienced. The scenery was breathtaking and the wildlife viewing was fantastic. We only stayed one night but managed to see black bears, grizzlybears, bald headed eagles, herons and seals.
The staff, food, accommodation was great and my only disappointment is that we didn't book for at least 3 nights.

  • Stayed September 2011, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank TEEWestSussex
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Leeds. UK.
Level Contributor
33 reviews
23 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 50 helpful votes
Reviewed 3 September 2011

I don't think I quite believed we would see as much widlife or be as close as all the previous reviewers recount but this wonderful place lived up to and exceeded all our expectations and I too was in tears when we got back to Vancouver after our stay . No cars , no TV , no Email ,no phones ..just the most beautiful place I have ever been and the chance to see all these beatiful creatures in the wild ...we loved every minute and want to return as soon as possible .Our room was huge with a lovely view but we were only in it to literally fall into bed and sleep before more trips the next morning .You don't have to get up early and some people miss some of the trips but there is so much to see and do it seems a shame not to.There is fabulous food available round the clock and the weather gear is superb ..you don't need to even take a coat ! The guides really make this place the success it is however ..you are asked what you want to do and then allocated a guide at random and we were lucky enough to be with Bob for most of ours as he is incredibly experienced and knows everything there is to know about not just bears but all the other animals as well ..and he has a wonderful sense of humour and kept all the children very amused ! He has also written an amazing book called Seasons of the Grizzly which is our favourite souvenir. We also talked to Kristina and Lori and their tracking trip was great too ..in fact they are all so enthusiastic and determined to make sure everyone is happy .An amazing place you will never forget .At least four nights next time as this place is worth every penny!

  • Stayed August 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank Juliacarling
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Glendale Cove
21.2 km away
Comfort Inn & Suites
Comfort Inn & Suites
#1 of 16 in Campbell River
262 reviews
21.3 km away
Old House Hotel & Spa
Old House Hotel & Spa
#1 of 9 in Courtenay
781 reviews
20.8 km away
Coast Discovery Inn
Coast Discovery Inn
#3 of 16 in Campbell River
320 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
6.0 km away
Oyster Bay Resorts
Oyster Bay Resorts
#8 of 16 in Campbell River
49 reviews
24.5 km away
Painter's Lodge
Painter's Lodge
#2 of 16 in Campbell River
1,013 reviews
24.5 km away
April Point Resort & Spa
April Point Resort & Spa
#1 of 2 in Quathiaski Cove
393 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Knight Inlet Lodge? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Knight Inlet Lodge

Property: Knight Inlet Lodge
Address: 8841 Driftwood Rd, Glendale Cove, British Columbia V9J 1A8, Canada
Phone Number:
Region: Canada > British Columbia > Glendale Cove
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free Parking Restaurant Shuttle Bus service
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Glendale Cove
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$$
Hotel Class:3 star — Knight Inlet Lodge 3*
Number of rooms: 16
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Knight Inlet Lodge is Canada's premier grizzly bear viewing destination. With over 15 years of experience and a world wide reputation for excellence we are the place to see grizzly bears in British Columbia. Our remote floating lodge has 16 guests rooms and offers a full range of activities for our guests including hiking,kayaking, marine wildlife tours, tracking and whale watching. Open from mid May until mid October with pacakges starting on any day of the week. ... more   less 
Also Known As:
Knight Inlet Hotel Glendale Cove
Knight Inlet Resort All Inclusive
Knight Inlet Lodge British Columbia, Canada - Glendale Cove

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing