We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Knight Inlet Lodge
Nearby Hotels
Cozy Pines Motel(Castlegar)
US$62
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Room Service
US$98
US$88
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Sandman Hotel Castlegar(Castlegar)
US$109
Expedia.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
US$94
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
US$80
US$67
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Savings alert! 12% below average rates

The price you found is 12% lower than this hotel's average rate of US$76/night.

We analyze rates over a 60 day period, and compare your selection to the average rate of comparable stays to ensure you're getting the best possible deal.

US$97
US$95
Expedia.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Chameleon Hotel(Castlegar)(Great Value!)
US$60
US$56
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
US$124
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
US$142
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Cloudside Hotel(Nelson)(Great Value!)
US$155
US$150
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Reviews (424)
Filter reviews
424 results
Traveller rating
393
22
7
2
0
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
393
22
7
2
0
Show reviews that mention
All reviewsknight inletcampbell riversalmonfloat planebald eaglesbear viewingblack beansnight packagemarine tourvancouver islandwhale watchingwonderful experiencetheir natural habitatwhole experiencerainforest walktwo daysbucket list
Filter
Updating list...
312 - 317 of 424 reviews
Reviewed September 25, 2011

This is a top place to visit. Great staff who are both knowledgeable and helpful, lots of activities and - on both of our visits - lots of bear sightings (both grizzly and black). We stayed 3 nights on both of our visits and also took a boat to Johnstone Straight to see whales. Again on both occasions we saw Orca and Minke and the Orcas came very close by us (their choice not ours but very exciting) and we could hear their calls without a hydrophone.

Even after two visits we want to go back during the next few years. It is just a magic place.

  • Stayed: August 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank ruralidle
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed September 21, 2011

We Kiwi's (4) stayed at Knight Inlet Lodge, (4 nights) in August 2011. This experience was a highlight of our month long holiday. Away from civilisation and the mod-cons we all think we need to rely on! From the moment we arrived we were whisked away to start our amazing experience of viewing bears, and other wildlife, in this idyllic enviornment. The floating lodge has character, all the necessary requirements & comforts without being over-the-top. The staff were great multi-taskers all round.The meals were healthy & plentiful, catering for most tastes and preferences. The organisation & excursions are varied and well planned so that NO time is wasted, giving you the opportunity to see the amazing wildlife in their natural habitat surrounded by beautiful scenery. All the necessary gear is provided - making you feel warm, comfortable and safe.
We saw brown bears, grizzly catching salmon, seals, deer, golden eagle, other birdlife, and the playful otter under the lodge. The nightly wild-life talks were a bonus and cleverley the shop was only open for 30mins at night to buy souvineers etc. Dont go there expecting luxury - its a natural, comfortable & organic with respect & support of the wildlife & environment. We couldn't recommend it more highly, so much so that we didnt want to leave. It was a nature lovers haven to enjoy.

  • Stayed: August 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank RamboWellington
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed September 21, 2011

Wow!! We have been on some great safaris in Africa, and Knight Inlet is on a par with the best.
Seaplane transfer from Campbell River to the Lodge was a great experience, beautiful scenery, one of the best flights we have been on. On arrival, Dean greeted us and showed us around the Lodge. We had our first coffee and cake whilst staff transferred luggage to our room, and within 40 minutes we were all on our first estuary trip in small boats, and yes, we saw a Grizzly bear with two cubs playing in the inlet!! Back for a great buffet lunch, then out again for bear watching from one of the platforms by the salmon river. You travel to the stands in a small boat, then a small bus transfer along an old logging road, then two hours hoping for the bears to arrive. They did, and in fact we saw several on the drive to the stand. Back again to the Lodge for a comfort break, and more cake, then a boat trip along the Inlet. Return to the Lodge where everyone there ate together outside on three long tables. First you have hors d'oevres, then the chef comes out to tell you what they have cooked, the food is fabulous. Wine is complimentary with dinner, and when we asked for another bottle, no problem. A black bear walked right behind the lodge while we were having dinner. The next day we went on a whole day whale watching trip. We saw Orcas and humpback whales, really amazing, and we learnt so much from Shaun, the marine guide. We then spent the third day with more bear watching from the stands, in the morning we saw two grizzly mums with their cubs trying to catch the salmon. In the afternoon we took a trip up the lazy river with Lori, wonderfully peaceful, and this time we saw a seal with a salmon in its mouth, along with bald eagles and kingfishers. I would definitely recommend staying at least three nights if you can, but those people who stayed only one night really loved the experience. The Lodge is very safety conscious. Lifejackets and other protective equipment is provided, even wellies for transferring from boats to the stands. I can fully understand people crying when they leave, it is a truly magical experience.

  • Stayed: September 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank travelcaro
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed September 18, 2011

My visit to Knight Inlet Lodge came at the end of a 4 week tour of Canada & Alaska and I certainly saved the best to last! The wildlife encounters were fanatastic! The bear viewing stands provide an excellent opportunity for everyone to see the Grizzly bears doing what grizzlies do best.......catch salmon!

Full marks to the team for the great food, wonderful tours and a very memorable experience. Special thanks to Dean for helping this very nervous kayaker get home safely and to everyone else for sharing their knowledge and passion for wildlife and the wilderness.

  • Stayed: September 2011, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Service
Thank Linda0z
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed September 5, 2011

This trip to knight inlet was one of the best things I have ever experienced. The scenery was breathtaking and the wildlife viewing was fantastic. We only stayed one night but managed to see black bears, grizzlybears, bald headed eagles, herons and seals.
The staff, food, accommodation was great and my only disappointment is that we didn't book for at least 3 nights.

  • Stayed: September 2011, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank TEEWestSussex
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews