We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Wow!”
Review of Knight Inlet Lodge

We can't find prices for this hotel
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this hotel, but we can search other options in Glendale Cove
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Knight Inlet Lodge
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Glendale Cove
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 13 December 2011

From someone who has been fortunate enough to travel on all 7 continents I can honestly say that this is the best travel experience that I have ever had. The scenery is stunning, the days are full and the animals do their part too, obliging us with their presence on every outing we had (a special mention to Bella and her cubs who wandered past the lodge each evening around dinner time - great timing guys!).
Hats off to the staff, especially Dean, Bob and Sean, your knowledge and passion is obvious to everyone who visits here.
Go visit if you get the chance. Yes it's expensive, but the experience is priceless.

  • Stayed: August 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
15  Thank chrisfromMelbourne
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (397)
There are newer reviews for Knight Inlet Lodge
See the most recent reviews
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

282 - 288 of 398 reviews

Reviewed 28 October 2011

September, and my third visit to Knight Inlet Lodge in Glendale Cove. After more than fifty years travelling the world as a travel reporter for radio and television I can honestly say that this is number one of only three places that I return to at my own expense for sheer pleasure.
What more can I say?
Perhaps adding something not mentioned by other reviewers; the rain forrest walk. It should not be a top priority if you have only a short stay, but it gives you a wonderful insight into the real habitat of the bears and of some of the pioneers of the area. You won't see any bears (hopefully) but you will be amazed to realise that a couple lived and raised a family in this wilderness.
And after being at the stands and seeing the salmon making their relatively easy way up the channel to the weir and into the spawning channels, on this walk you can sit and watch them fighting their way up the waterfalls to their birthplace, and realise just how hard is this last great journey for them, and how few make it.
And if you are lucky enough to have time to stop at Billy Proctor's 'museum' on the way home
from whale watching in Johnstone Strait I would urge you to purchase his life story 'Heart of the Raincoast'. Again, a great revelation of pioneering life in the area that incidentally gives emphasis to the environmental stewardship of the Lodge and all who contribute to it - which includes us, the visitors.

  • Stayed: September 2011, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
12  Thank POstcardswa
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 26 October 2011

This is an experience not to be missed. A unique opportunity to stay with like minded people and share the bear and wildlife viewing with knowledgable guides who are passionate about what they do. If you get the chance - go!!

  • Stayed: September 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
6  Thank disneytastic31
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 22 October 2011

We had seen quite a lot of other places, among them the terrible Hallo Bay, when we came here. What a difference! The guides were enthusiastic, knowledgeable and friendly. The rooms were excellent with our own bathroom and shower. The food fantastic and plenty of it, here you would never leave the table hungry. They even had programmes for you in the evenings.
This is the place to go to for bear watching! 5 star of course!

  • Stayed: September 2011, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
9  Thank Richard M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 9 October 2011

What a fantastic place - and this from someone who's not slow to criticise. This is an unusually long review, because there's just so much to write about, as Knight Inlet is not just a hotel.

We booked a 2 night stay through Scenic Tours at home in Australia - we probably could have done it much cheaper by going direct, but it was more convenient to take the package.

As other cautious reviewers have noted, it was going to be hard for the place to live up to its reputation, as so much depended on the wildlife turning up too. But it's where wildlife film makers go, and it's where researchers study. And the wildlife did turn up, and in abundance.

The Lodge itself is an excellent match between environment and creature comfort - our wood cabin was basic, but clean. The food was well prepared and plentiful.

But no one goes to Knight Inlet for the rooms and the food. You go for the wildlife. Which means you need guides. And Knight Inlet has plenty of them. Each day starts at 6.30 am with breakfast, and ends at around 9pm after an optional talk with one of the guides. What you do each day is arranged for you by the manager, who'll slot you in to a tour (mostly about 2 hours long and with a maximum of 4-6 people) according to your wishes and availability. In our case we most wanted to see grizzlies catching salmon, as per the Attenborough TV program. And each day we saw them. Up close, too, thanks to Knight Inlet's two stages, strategically placed along the spawning channel. For a couple of hours at a time, you stand on this stage, watching agog, as these beasts do what come naturally, and without being concerned at the presence of humans.

The guides were just terrific - clearly committed to the cause, and it was both educational and fun to be with them. When we weren't watching bears we took trips along the inlet, looking for black bears ( no luck), bald eagles (plenty), and other wildlife like Canada geese. On one trip four of us walked along bear tracks (and yes, bears do **** in the woods, and no, we didn't come too close). We also released salmon fingerlings into the river, truly a feelgood moment. Another trip took us further along the inlet, and Bob the guide (who's clearly not paid by the word) gave us some of the history of man's involvement with the area, such as it is. For those staying longer (one couple was staying 6 nights) there are other, longer trips, whale-watching, for example, which I know they loved.

The only downside for those flying in from Vancouver, and it's only a slight criticism, was the necessity to spend a day and a night in Campbell River before the seaplane journey to Knight Inlet the following morning. And while the transfers were efficient, and the motel ( a good 20 minute walk from the centre of town) was perfectly adequate, (as was the pub next door), I wouldn't say Campbell River on a Sunday had a great deal going for it, except for a small and interesting local market. But that's the only way to get to Knight Inlet, so we had to cop it sweet.

So thanks to Steve the manager and all the guides - we had a great trip. It's never likely to be repeated, and it'll live long in the memory.

  • Stayed: September 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
17  Thank madpom
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 6 October 2011

My wife and I and 2 daughters (ages 7and 10) recently spent 3 nights at Knight Inlet and cannot speak highly enough about the whole experience.
The guides at the Lodge were so enthusiastic. Special thanks to Dean and Lori who were great with our girls.
We saw all the wildlife that was promised and enjoyed all the activities: bear watching, marine tour, kayaking, rain-forest walk, estuary tour etc....
Reading many of the other reviews, it appears as though a lot of people felt a real connection with this special place. We were no different.
A special thanks also to Phil in the booking office who was so helpful both before and after our trip.
My only advice is to stay 3 nights at the Lodge, (4 night package) as this way you will be able to squeeze everything in!
Go book!!!

  • Stayed: September 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
6  Thank NickoMelbourne
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 29 September 2011

We visited Knights Inlet in early September for 2 nights. I was wary of all the 5 star accolades but can honestly say for us it lived up to the billing. It is expensive but if you love wildlife, beautiful scenery and outdoor activity this is the place for you.
It is a place for the spirit, very peaceful and only a small group of visitors at any one time. We picked September to see the grizzly bears fishing and were not disappointed. Watch out for the otters, and black bears that visit the shoreline at the rear of the lodge.

  • Stayed: September 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank alan w
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Glendale Cove
21.3 km away
Old House Hotel & Spa
Old House Hotel & Spa
#1 of 9 in Courtenay
933 reviews
21.2 km away
Comfort Inn & Suites
Comfort Inn & Suites
#1 of 16 in Campbell River
312 reviews
4.4 km away
Oyster Bay Resorts
Oyster Bay Resorts
#7 of 16 in Campbell River
56 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
17.8 km away
Best Western Austrian Chalet
Best Western Austrian Chalet
#4 of 16 in Campbell River
545 reviews
20.8 km away
Coast Discovery Inn
Coast Discovery Inn
#3 of 16 in Campbell River
378 reviews
24.5 km away
Painter's Lodge
Painter's Lodge
#2 of 16 in Campbell River
1,206 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Knight Inlet Lodge? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Knight Inlet Lodge

Address: 8841 Driftwood Rd, Glendale Cove, British Columbia V9J 1A8, Canada
Phone Number:
Region: Canada > British Columbia > Glendale Cove
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free Parking Restaurant Shuttle Bus service
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Glendale Cove
Price Range: $1,000 - $6,000 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Knight Inlet Lodge 3*
Number of rooms: 16
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Knight Inlet Lodge is Canada's premier grizzly bear viewing destination. With over 15 years of experience and a world wide reputation for excellence we are the place to see grizzly bears in British Columbia. Our remote floating lodge has 16 guests rooms and offers a full range of activities for our guests including hiking,kayaking, marine wildlife tours, tracking and whale watching. Open from mid May until mid October with pacakges starting on any day of the week. ... more   less 
Also Known As:
Knight Inlet Hotel Glendale Cove
Knight Inlet Resort All Inclusive
Knight Inlet Lodge British Columbia, Canada - Glendale Cove

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing