We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The Tripadvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Contact accommodation for availability.
There are similar hotels available.
View all
Captain Dave

Pretty, but there's a racket after hours at odds with its image of calmness

4.0 of 5 bubblesReviewed Mar 13, 2024
It's a lovely place, with gorgeous plantings. They've landscaped it very nicely, with little paved paths wending their way through the property. The food is good, but if you are on a restricted diet, your choices narrow quickly in that there is one meat option. Chicken for dinner, chicken for lunch the next day. Fish that night, then for lunch the day following (and they don't tell you what kind, the card at the buffet just says "fish"). The staff is very friendly. Nice pool. Some little things need more attention -- shower head, exposed sharp screw heads, louvers that don't open/close properly. The one negative surprise was nighttime noise in the A-frame. The public areas are quiet but at night there's a lot of road noise when you're trying to sleep, and the windows don't close (there's no A/C). Bring earplugs!
Date of stay: March 2024
Trip type: Travelled solo
4.0 of 5 bubblesValue
3.0 of 5 bubblesLocation
3.0 of 5 bubblesService
Problem with this review?
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Nearby Hotels
C$239
Fully refundable
No prepayment needed
  • Hotels.com
  • Booking.com
  • Priceline
6.2 km from Pura Vida Retreat & Spa
Free Wifi
Free parking
C$191
Fully refundable
No prepayment needed
  • Priceline
    C$191
  • Agoda.com
    C$179
  • Hotels.com
    C$190
1.5 km from Pura Vida Retreat & Spa
Free Wifi
Free parking
Get rewarded with One Key
  • Hotels.com
  • ZenHotels.com
    C$97
  • Booking.com
5.3 km from Pura Vida Retreat & Spa
Free parking
Pool
C$176
No prepayment needed
  • Priceline
    C$176
  • Agoda.com
    C$175
  • eDreams
    C$176
2.5 km from Pura Vida Retreat & Spa
Free Wifi
Free parking
C$264
  • Priceline
    C$379
  • Trip.com
    C$213
  • Hotels.com
    C$284
2.8 km from Pura Vida Retreat & Spa
Free Wifi
Free parking
Get rewarded with One Key
  • Priceline
  • ZenHotels.com
    C$173
  • Booking.com
2.4 km from Pura Vida Retreat & Spa
Free parking
Get rewarded with One Key
  • Hotels.com
  • ZenHotels.com
    C$58
  • Agoda.com
7.1 km from Pura Vida Retreat & Spa
C$158
No prepayment needed
  • Priceline
    C$158
  • Hotels.com
    C$158
  • Expedia.com
    C$158
2.7 km from Pura Vida Retreat & Spa
Free Wifi
Free parking
Contact accommodation for availability.
5.3 km from Pura Vida Retreat & Spa
Free Wifi
Free parking
View more hotels in Carrizal
Reviews (214)
Filter reviews
214 results
Traveller rating
142
48
10
7
7
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
Traveller rating
142
48
10
7
7
Show reviews that mention
All reviews pura vida hot tub costa rica san jose beautiful grounds magical place central valley rainy season yoga practice vista room hot yoga mar y sol watsu healing accommodations paths alexandra
Selected filters
Filter
Updating list...
2 - 7 of 214 reviews
Reviewed February 15, 2024 via mobile

I joined a hot yoga retreat in Feb 2024 hosted to Pura Vida. Enjoyed the entire experience - from delicious food to studios with wonderful views to a rejuvenating spa center. Resort staff were friendly and helpful. Stayed in a Tentalow and was glad I did - spacious with plenty of fresh air. Common bathrooms were steps away. Look forward to returning in the future!

Date of stay: February 2024
Trip type: Travelled solo
Thank JeaZas
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Reviewed August 3, 2023

There is nothing less than perfect to describe my experience with Pura Vida Retreat & Spa! From the introductory email to the finals goodbyes, every moving part in organizing a retreat with 20 people, went smoothly and seamlessly. Even when there were slight disturbances and adjustments, everything was handled with ease and never a problem. The food was divine! The staff was always kind and accommodating. The Spa treatments were on point. And the transportation to and from left us all feeling well taken care of. From a quick weekend hop to a retreat made for Kings and Queens, use this retreat center. I'm a very particular person and proud to say, you will not regret your decision.

Date of stay: July 2023
Trip type: Travelled on business
Thank Sonja M
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Reviewed April 12, 2023

A friend and I stayed at Pura Vida following a 6 day Women’s Retreat. It was the perfect place to unwind and process. Jose was the absolute best. He was very accommodating with our check in/out schedule and even had a delicious chocolate cake delivered to our table for my friends birthday!! The pool was very warm and clean. The yoga Shala w brought a very magical feel to the yoga practices we took part in. The meals were nutritious and delicious. This will be at the top of my list of places to return to when in Costa Rica!! Thank you Pura Vida for such a divine experience.

Date of stay: April 2023
  • Trip type: Travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
Thank Tara C
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Reviewed March 27, 2023

Just returned from a weeklong retreat led by the amazing Stephanie Nicole of JTown Hot Yoga in Pennsylvania, USA. Pura Vida is a beautiful place, managed by knowledgeable and kind folks, particularly Jose and William. The gardens are lovely, the food is fantastic, the yoga spaces are gorgeous (heated and unheated), the pool was warm and welcoming, as was the hot tub. There are plenty of spaces for quiet reflection, paths through the grounds for walking meditation, and plenty of fun excursion options (I did a great zip line adventure). I enjoyed several massages, including a swedish (Mar Y Sol), thai holistic (Thais) and an interesting "Dragon Fire" chinese treatment (Karina) that included acupuncture, moxa and cupping. My room (#203 Vista) was simple but comfy, with a balcony and fantastic view of San Jose. It was cleaned every day and the housekeeping folks were friendly and efficient. The shuttle service from the airport was convenient. It was simply a fantastic vacation!

Date of stay: March 2023
  • Trip type: Travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
Thank madame_rex
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Reviewed January 9, 2023 via mobile

From the tropical lush landscaping to the fresh delicious food to the accommodating staff, everything about this place is amazing. It’s such a relaxing retreat with so much beauty. We love the hidden location in the mountains and the kind people who work there. We’ll be back again soon!

Date of stay: January 2023
Trip type: Travelled as a couple
Thank JanaePranschke
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
View more reviews