We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The Tripadvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
“Falling in love”
other travellers have booked this property
Bookings for this home are first-come, first served. Lock in your dates before they are gone
Check Availability
Request to Book
Make Enquiry
Very good
18 reviews
This property is not available for these dates.
Don't give up! Enquire about other rentals just like this one that are available -
Show all rentals available
Overview
Villa -
6 Bedrooms, 6 Bathrooms, Sleeps 12
La Taha, Province of Granada, Andalucia

Reviews from our community

Very good - based on 18 reviews
Write a Review

Reviews from our community

Catherine...
Atalbeitar, Spain
1 review
“Falling in love”
Reviewed March 25, 2015 for a stay in January 2015

After traveling for a few months and staying in various places I have to say that our stay in Atalbeitar gets the cup. It is one thing to rent a room or a house somewhere and be content, it is something else to want to move there.
You can read all about the house in previous reviews. The house is most charming to say the least. But aside from the house is a village, neighboring villages, community. When one travels this is what makes you want to come back. The neighbors from away who have stumbled upon this place and never left have enriched the area. Artists, architects, musicians, farmers. Within the few villages in walking distance you will be able to do yoga several times a week, listen to live music, at the farmers market you will find all the fresh fruits and vegetable you may need. The best ham in the country is cured in these mountains As a family we were welcome, invited to take part of fiestas, invited to parties.
And then the scenery; ever changing, stunning, filled with ancient ruins and old pathways. Every walk brings a new discovery; almond trees for a quick snack, village fountains to quench your thirst.
A little bit of paradise if you ask me.

Date of stay: January 2015
Travelling group: Extended Family
Your age range 35-49
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
MamaTribe
Georgia
2 reviews
“Two roads diverged in a wood, and I—I took the one less traveled by, And that has made all the difference.”
Reviewed August 26, 2014 for a stay in July 2014

We are a group of musicians, photographers, nature lovers, tree huggers, artists, cooks, poets, fresh market connoisseurs, cool-water-from-the-town-fountain dippers, and mostly self-described bohemians. Our recent visit to Tom and Carmen's charming house, Casa Aloe, accommodated us and all of our needs. It was like coming home. The backyard view, alone, was worth the journey! Everything else, the cozy rooms, the well-equipped kitchen, the lovely village of Atalbeitar, the friendly neighbors, the ancient walking paths, and the ever-present sense of Moorish history, were icing on the cake. We cannot thank Tom and Carmen enough'for their kindness, help, and responses and for sharing their corner of the world. For us, it has made all the difference.

Date of stay: July 2014
How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: The breathtaking view
Liked least: Leaving Casa Aloe
Travelling group: Extended Family
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
TomP339
Edinburgh
Level 3 Contributor
10 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Peace, beauty and a perfect base to explore Las Alpujarras”
Reviewed February 9, 2014 for a stay in February 2014
1
person found this review helpful

Our week at Casa Aloe was a wonderful escape from daily bustle, responsibilities and miserable weather...

Being the end of January, you could hardly call it scorching in the mountains, but the light was glorious, and the top of the day really was warm. More like a really good Scottish spring day

But enough about the weather.

The house is one huge work of art - so many wonderful details, all crafted out of the shell of a Moorish building dating back hundreds of years. Traditional building techniques which only enhance the special feeling of the place. It's a very three dimensional house - a few steps between most rooms give it a slightly rabbit warren/hobbit house feel, and probably not a perfect right angle in the building. Again, a glorious escape from our normal lives.

Very well presented for guests too, everything we needed was clear and our bed was warm, comfy and expansive!

Atalbeitar is a very quiet, unspoilt village - we saw a lot more cats than humans during our time in the village. It's a great jumping off point for the many slightly larger villages of La Taha and beyond, and Pitres is very nearby (10 minutes drive, or a unique half hour walk across the valley along goat tracks) for all your practical needs - ie, the supermarket!

We went as a couple, but I would love to return with a large group to fulfill the true potential of the house, and explore more of this gorgeous area.

Date of stay: February 2014
How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Travelling group: Spouse/Partner
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Large groups
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London
Reviewed July 5, 2013 for a stay in May 2013

Date of stay: May 2013
How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: The decor and the $million view
Liked least: White room double bed a bit narrow for a tall American: could've done with a queen
Travelling group: Spouse/Partner
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Large groups
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
  • Was your security deposit returned on time?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of an individual traveller and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
Carole J
Edinburgh, Scotland, United Kingdom
1 review
“Strolls, cicadas, glorious heat and dips in refreshing water”
Reviewed August 27, 2012 for a stay in August 2012

The setting and atmosphere of Casa Aloe are exactly as they appear on the publicity shots, other-worldly. It was an ideal location for our family of 4 to relax and experience the beauty and laid-back life of the Alpujarras. The timing of our visit was at the height of summer so walking was a struggle in the heat. Nevertheless, an evening stroll lead us to excelllent pizza, local wine and endless tapas and in the mornings, ambling down the ancient tracks soon had us seeing ibex and finding welcome plunge pools. Talking of pools, we enjoyed the newly installed indoor one at the house and invented many new Olympic aquatic sports - take a beach ball! The owners do say the house is not suitable for the infirm and even the height of the first step after the front door took us by surprise, but this could be avoided by using the patio entrance. Again, this time as a cautious mother, I would be reluctant to recommend the house to parents of young children as there are a few vertical drops that would be very dangerous to adventurous toddlers. However, for older children and adults, safety measures have been taken in harmony with the beauty of the house. Do take mosquito protection if you are prone to being singled out and be aware that there is no air-conditionning - fans help on sticky nights. A final point, the road into the Alpujarras is very windy, so, if any of you suffer from car sickness or are over-cautious drivers you may want to view a stay here as a week to recuperate rather than as a base for a tour of Andalucia. That said, the days we lazed around the local area and took time to appreciate the views and simple pleasures were my happiest of a very enjoyable holiday.

Date of stay: August 2012
How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Travelling group: Teenagers
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Large groups
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
  • Was your security deposit returned on time?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Oxyharmon...
Edinburgh
1 review
“An exquisite gem high up in the hills outside Granada”
Reviewed May 24, 2012 for a stay in January 2010

When we arrived in the village, we walked into another century, of crooked lanes and water fountains and streets with no cars... through the door of Casa Aloe we were welcomed with a rich, artistic setting... The hand-craftiness of the interior felt in fitting with the surrounding environment, but also otherworldly and luxurious. A birthday breakfast on the terrace looking onto the steep valley, with the sun bouncing off the face of the next-door-mountain, is a sight to remember for some time....

Date of stay: January 2010
How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: The quality of the light and the colours
Liked least: Cool at night in the winter - bring a jumper!
Travelling group: With Friends
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Older travelers
Families with young children People with pets
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
  • Was your security deposit returned on time?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Daniel G
London, United Kingdom
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
“Peace and Tranquility in Andalucia”
Reviewed April 12, 2012 for a stay in February 2010

Driving down the windy track to Atalbeitar has to be one of the great memories of 2010 for me, as it will forever be linked with arriving at the beautiful Casa Aloe, in the stunning Alpujarras. I have travelled around much of Spain, but the Alpujarras is something special, and nowehere represents the feeling of the area better than the beautiful village of Atalbeitar.

Casa Aloe is a beautifully restored Moorish house, with comfortable beds, beam ceilings and internal courtyard and views that take your breath away. Any direction you turn leads you on stunning walks in the Andalucian countryside.

Highly recommended.

Date of stay: February 2010
How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: All the comforts you could desire, mixed with rustic tradition in a beautiful area
Liked least: Going home
Travelling group: With Spouse/Partner
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Older travelers
Families with young children Large groups
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Was your security deposit returned on time?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Enter dates for more accurate prices
2 guests
Adults2
Children0
Apply
Do you own a vacation rental? List it here.
Extra income
Earn money by renting out your home. With no up-front fees and no contract, you keep more for yourself.
Easy to manage
Confirm bookings in one click and track everything from enquiry to check-out – even while you're on the go.
Trusted by travellers
With millions of reviews and protected online payments, Tripadvisor helps travellers book your home with confidence.
Set up your free listing
© 2021 TripAdvisor LLC All rights reserved.

This is the version of our website addressed to speakers of English in Canada. If you are a resident of another country or region, please select the appropriate version of Tripadvisor for your country or region in the drop-down menu.