We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Reviews (96)
Filter reviews
96 results
Traveller rating
58
23
12
2
1
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
58
23
12
2
1
Show reviews that mention
All reviewssteep roadlocal artisansbeautiful lodgedining roomla casa solquitobalconytownarchitectureaccommodations
Filter
Updating list...
6 - 11 of 96 reviews
Reviewed May 27, 2017

The lodge is beautiful and the views spectacular! Accommodations are very comfortable and spacious and the hosts are very gracious and helpful. There is a small community of local artisans a walk downhill and the beautiful Peguche Falls is also within walking distance. Hills are steep; you are in the Andes Mountains. If you choose to eat at the lodge, the food is excellent and is made to order from their gorgeous kitchen. Make sure you allot enough time for the preparation and enjoyment of the meal.

  • Stayed: May 2017, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Thank TamlynO2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management response:Responded May 29, 2017
Google Translation

Queridos amigos
Gracias por su visista y sus comentarios, siempre es un placer atenderles, esperamos un pronto regreso!
Mi casa es tu casa"...
La Casa Sol Staff

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed April 8, 2017

After a night at a grubby and insect-filled hotel with a defensive owner, this was a sheer delight. Clean, bright and welcoming. I wish we could have spent more time here.

It's a business owned by an indigenous family. They have another hotel of the same name in Quito. The one is in Peguche, a couple of miles up a steep road outside Otavalo.

Everything about the hotel was good, from the welcome, the dinner and breakfast and, above all, my room. There is also a very pleasant sitting room area between the kitchen and dining room with books

  • Stayed: March 2017, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Margaret F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed March 3, 2017

We were so pleased we decided to stay here for five nights. We were shown to our room (no. 14) and were blown away. So colourful! We think it was the room with the best view - eucalyptus trees to our left, view of mountains and the town of Otavalo to our right. From our balcony, we watched various hummingbirds flying in and out of the bottlebrush tree right in front of us.
Nothing was too much trouble for the staff. We asked for a little table to add to the chairs on our balcony; it arrived very soon after. Boiling hot water was given to make tea from our coca leaves. We mentioned that the gushing of the "cascada pequeña" outside our door made sleep difficult, and something was done to slow down the flow sufficiently so that it was quiet in our room at night. Taxis were ordered for guests. The food service was slow, but that was what we experienced in the ten other places we stayed in throughout Ecuador, so that is just part of the charm. The smiles and friendliness more than made up for that. The warmth of Casa Sol is evident in the colourful interior and in the hospitality of those who work there.
It was a short but steep climb up from the nearest bus stop (Peguche waterfall). The buses were easy to use, but the downhill walk into Otavalo was an enjoyable alternative. There is an amazing walk to be done from the Casa Sol. Turn left uphill, up a long painted staircase and you will encounter a sacred pre-Inca site and a small village amongst other things, with good views of Imbabura volcano.

Room Tip: Room 14 has a balcony at the top of the house with an amazing view
  • Stayed: February 2017, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Thank Englishtravelfanatic
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed February 27, 2017

This is 3 kms outside of Octaval which at first I wondered why the tour company sent us out there. It was so much fun.The very friendly people took care of everything for us, laundry was fast and very inexpensive. The dinner was delicious and I had a vegetarian soup she made for us right then with small empanadas with cheese in them.
Then if it's cold, for $5. they will build a fire in your room which was perfect for us and charming, romantic, so fun. The breakfast was delicious. Some rooms have views.

Room Tip: High up for views. I loved the fireplace.
  • Stayed: February 2017, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Estephania
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed December 28, 2016 via mobile

After shopping in Otavalo, we were really looking forward to staying at Casa Sol, especially after all the positive reviews. While the location was fantastic, we were disappointed in the overall experience. We booked two rooms in the morning (one family suite to fit three adults and one king suite for a couple with a child) and arrived about 7pm.

Pros:

Beautiful, rustic design, fantastic view of the valley, located on the Imbabura volcano, just minutes walk from a beautiful waterfall. Short drive from Otavalo. Breakfast included.

Cons:

They couldn't find our reservation and as the internet was not working, we couldn't pull it up from our email. As a result, rooms we needed were not available. After about 30 minutes, they did find the reservation, but still could not accommodate our rooms...or maybe the family suite didnt actually exist...I dont know. Once we moved into the rooms they could give us (one with three bunk beds...would be great for a family with several kids), we were informed there would be a 10% surcharge for using a credit card (that should be clearly stated on the website). Restaurant was open, so we went in, but were informed there was no food for us. After some probing we were allowed to some order some grilled cheese and fries...which took about 45 minutes. Our 18 minth old was in rough shape by the time we ate.

Tips:

Be sure to have your confirmation number handy (no internet needed).
Be sure to order ahead of time if you want dinner.
Bring cash for payment or be ready to pay extra.
Bring conditioner if desired.

Stayed: December 2016, travelled with family
1  Thank Johanna J
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews