We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
“A pleasant place”
other travellers have booked this property
A haven of peace at the end of the lane.
Bookings for this home are first-come, first served. Lock in your dates before they are gone
A haven of peace at the end of the lane.
The garden in May/June, planted with roses, honeysuckle and clematis. The view in summer (towards the Mirabat, Col de la Core, lower slopes of Mt Valier).
Check Availability
Request to Book
Make Enquiry
Excellent
17 reviews
A haven of peace at the end of the lane.
The garden in May/June, planted with roses, honeysuckle and clematis.
The view in summer (towards the Mirabat, Col de la Core, lower slopes of Mt Valier).
The dining room is beautifully light,
keeps its coolness in summer
yet is cosy with the log burning fire in winter.
The upstairs lounge benefits from the same lovely light.
The charming chalet-style bedroom
and the  larger second bedroom.
The kitchen is well equipped
and pretty at the same time.
The shaded patio is ideal for enjoying your barbecue.
Looking towards our neighbours' barn.
Summer flower meadows above  the Col de la Core.
and the view towards Miramont from the Col de Caoutchedegue.
The amazing colours of L'Etang du Bethmale.
Mont Valier dominates the Couserans- and there is superb walking everywhere
such as here, above the upper reaches of the Vallée du Garbet,
the GR transfrontaliere towards Spain,
and towards the summit of Mt Valier itself.
There are gentler strolls alongside incredibly clear rivers (this is in the Ustou Valley)
through woodland to beautiful waterfalls ( this is the Cascade d'Ars)
to hidden cirques tucked close beneath the Spanish border (le Cirque d'Anglade)
through pastures dotted with barns,
and wherever you find yourself, there are plenty of places for a picnic!
Ariege is well-known for its love of cycling-the Tour de France passes close by most years,
and we are  close to some of its most redoubtable Cols -this is the challenging Mur de Peguere,
and the winding climb up to the Col d'Agnes. with the upper Garbet Valley in the distance.
There is riding (and hacking) at Coumariaou nearby-all levels are welcome
and even the indoor school  has a wonderful view! The owner, Lorenna, trained with le Cadre Noir.
Kayaking in the Salat above Seix.(canoe and rafting also available)
The lovely Vallee du Garbet between Oust and Ercé
A glimpse of autumn colours,
mists in our beautiful valley,
and in our local village of Seix,
-a picturesque place well-loved by artists.
The  view  in winter,
and the family orientated ski resort of Guzet (the prettiest in the Pyrenees) 25k away.
Our local town of St Girons is 20k away
and is renowned for it's Saturday market.
Beautiful Gallo Roman St Lizier is well worth exploring.
and wherever you go, whatever you do .....
We hope you come home to a wonderful sunset.
This property is not available for these dates.
Don't give up! Enquire about other rentals just like this one that are available -
Show all rentals available
Overview
Cottage -
2 Bedrooms, 1 Bathroom, Sleeps 7
Oust, Ariege, Occitanie

Reviews from our community

Excellent - based on 17 reviews
Write a Review

Reviews from our community

Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
English first
Any
English first
Karen C
Bakewell, United Kingdom
Level 2 Contributor
6 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
“A pleasant place”
Reviewed June 11, 2014 for a stay in December 2013

Our stay a Le Pichet was preceded by many emails and phone conversations with the lovely host Eleri. As we stayed over Christmas and wanted to ski with our three young kids, Eleri made everything as easy as it could possibly be. She organised a real Christmas tree and helped with contacting the local, small ski resort (40 mins drive away) which really made our stay much more simple and festive. She left gifts for the kids which as such a lovely gesture and indicative of her brilliant hosting skills. The property, which is characterful, was comfortable and warm (once we got the fire going) and housed us adequately. The only down side we found was the access road to the property. Luckily we had no snow whilst we were there as driving to Le Pichet from the main road is very steep with lots of sharp bends which take some negotiating and not for the faint hearted driver! The local shops are great and offer most things you would need to ensure full bellies after a day on the slopes. All in all a good skiing holiday destination.

Travelling group: Young Children
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
10 Jan 2015
We are so pleased that you enjoyed your Christmas here. It is always a delight to prepare the house beforehand; it is indeed a characterful home which we feel lends itself to Christmas decoration and we particularly like to think of children enjoying their time here around a Christmas tree. For ski-ing, Guzet is a wonderful resort particularly for families with young children, (although it also has some challenging black runs and off-piste)and it was a pleasure to help as much as possible with arranging your ESF lessons which hopefully saved you some time.

We are pleased too that you did not experience any problems with the bends in the road. Snow does not usually fall at Miramont itself over the Christmas period (although this cannot of course be guaranteed, especially with the vagaries of today's climate); which is why we advise people to follow normal mountain safety procedure and be equipped with chains both for coming here and for going to Guzet. During periods of snow cover the snow plough does pass at least once every day, and we are always concerned to provide people with local weather and road information before and during their stay if conditions look as if they may be at all difficult.
Owners of local commerces have made quite a number of improvements over the last year, so I have passed on your comments on this aspect of your stay. They are also much appreciated- thank you.
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Ilfracombe, United Kingdom
Reviewed June 11, 2014 for a stay in May 2014

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
Overall condition of the property Bedding & mattresses
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: The peaceful location and the family atmosphere
Liked least: one or two rainy / cloudy days
Travelling group: Friends
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Older travelers
Families with young children
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of an individual traveller and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
Management Response
10 Jan 2015
Thank you all for your lovely comments. Your time here was also an incredibly enjoyable and rewarding one for us, expanding as it did from painting into sculpture and poetry and with much laughter interspersed within the more serious painting moments. Your enthusiasm for "Le Pichet" and the surrounding Couserans (both mountains and architecture) which you portrayed so beautifully in your paintings, is something which will stay in our memory for a very long time, and we too look forward to continuing our friendship.
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
JoWW94
Hastings, United Kingdom
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Peace, painting and paradise!”
Reviewed April 29, 2014 for a stay in September 2013

We’ll remember forever the warm, peaceful evenings spent in the lovely garden at Le Pichet, looking across to the mountains with the sound of crickets in the background. This was the best holiday we have had together, made all the more special by the kindness and thoughtfulness of the owners.
The day spent painting was superb. We were taken high into the mountains along an unmade track to a beautiful, peaceful location where we enjoyed a gloriously productive day producing our works of art, pausing halfway through for a delicious picnic lunch.
Many thanks for a truly wonderful holiday.

Travelling group: Spouse/Partner
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
10 Jan 2015
Thank you for your beautiful and evocative description of our garden and its views-one of balmy, scented September evenings which I think longingly of in the depths of winter cold (although winters here are also incredibly beautiful). We feel privileged that you think this was your best holiday to date; and were very impressed by the paintings you both produced from the viewpoint on the Tuc de Peyre Mensongere. Hopefully you will feel inspired to continue with your art.
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Gandalf19...
Colne, United Kingdom
Level 2 Contributor
8 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Mountain bliss”
Reviewed September 12, 2013 for a stay in August 2013

"Thank you Eleri and Rodney and of course William and Fern for a wonderful “week en montagne”.The boys had some great walks despite the weather and I enjoyed the painting and drawing (and particularly the setting up of easels in the market!)"

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: Location and the warm welcome from Eleri and Rodney
Travelling group: Spouse/Partner
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
10 Jan 2015
Thank you for your kind comments. Mountain weather can as you know never be predicted, and it is unfortunate that he weather was unseasonally unkind for August but this does nevertheless give rise to some amazing cloud effects both on walks and for painting. We are very glad that it has not detracted from your enjoyment in any way, but sorry that you did not see many of the amazing views around here.Our local market, however, is a joy whatever the weather, full of colour and amazing characters, and we were pleased to be able to share it with you.
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Mary M
Ballynahinch, Co. Down, N.I.
1 review
“Painting and cycling - a truly memorable French holiday.”
Reviewed September 8, 2013 for a stay in June 2013

We have had the most magical time. The scenery for painting has been without par and, painters' cramp aside it has been rewarding and exciting. Our hosts have done us proud with excellent cuisine, lovely wines and very enjoyable company. The room has been so comfortable and quiet, so a good night's sleep has been assured. The provision of delicious packed lunches for our painting and cycling excursions added to our general enjoyment. We hope to be back.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Service
Liked best: The hospitality of the owners.
Liked least: One wet day.
Travelling group: Spouse/Partner
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway People with pets
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
  • Was your security deposit returned on time?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
10 Jan 2015
We are delighted you so enjoyed your time here. The combination of painting and cycling for different members of a party is one which works particularly well for appreciating, in different ways, our truly beautiful landscape. We thoroughly enjoyed your company too and very much hope you will come back.
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Maxine M
Gloucester, United Kingdom
1 review
“A wonderful start to our honeymoon”
Reviewed October 14, 2012 for a stay in September 2012

Thank you to Eleri and Rodney for a wonderful start to our honeymoon, we only wish we could have stayed longer! Tucked away on the side of a mountain, Miramont is a sleepy little paradise surrounded by beautiful countryside. The cottage itself was very comfortable and we loved the layout with rooms on different levels - especially the first floor sitting room, with its stunning views across the valley, where we liked to eat breakfast with the sun pouring in through the back window. Eleri and Rodney made us feel incredibly welcome and couldn't have been more helpful. The cottage is attached to the owners' property, but they respected our privacy. We had use of the garden in front of the property and we didn't feel overlooked. I hope we'll make it back there soon!

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: Location/views/hospitality
Liked least: Hard to find negatives, but the kitchen was a little small (but well equipped)
Travelling group: Spouse/Partner
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Families with young children
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
7 Nov 2012
Thank you very much for your kind comments. We are delighted that you chose “Le Pichet” for your honeymoon, and especially that you enjoyed the layout and different levels of the house and the light in the upstairs sitting–room, which are features we have always loved. We too hope that you may come back one day.
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Crowborough
Reviewed September 26, 2012 for a stay in September 2012

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: Location of property, peaceful atmoshere. Relaxed but helpful manner of the owners
Travelling group: Spouse/Partner
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Families with young children
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of an individual traveller and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
Management Response
7 Nov 2012
Thank you. It was such a pleasure to welcome you to this region and we are glad that you were able to make the most of your time here. We would also like to thank you for the wonderful meal you cooked for us!
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
Enter dates for more accurate prices
2 guests
Adults2
Children0
Apply
Do you own a vacation rental? List it here.
Extra income
Earn money by renting out your home. With no up-front fees and no contract, you keep more for yourself.
Easy to manage
Confirm bookings in one click and track everything from enquiry to check-out – even while you're on the go.
Trusted by travellers
With millions of reviews and protected online payments, TripAdvisor helps travellers book your home with confidence.
Set up your free listing