We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Awesome find. Sometimes the guides get it right!”
Review of Platform 22

Platform 22
Ranked #1 of 1 Coffee & Tea in Torphins
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: US$4 - US$24
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Child-friendly
Dining options: Breakfast, Lunch
Description: Platform 22 is a family run pottery gallery & licenced coffee house in the pretty Deeside village of Torphins. The coffee house offers reviving coffees, teas and hot chocolates accompanied by our delicious home bakes and tasty lunches too. The gallery features our own pottery by ceramicist Emma Pattullo, art & craft kits, books and locally sourced products throughout the year. Every Wednesday from 10am to 2pm in the Platform 22 forecourt we host Torphins Market, Scotland's only weekly outdoor farmers market that runs throughout the year, promoting local business, local produce and local enterprises too. Wherever your journey takes you pull in at Platform 22 and discover the "Heart of Deeside".
Reviewed 15 September 2017 via mobile

Always a bit reluctant when the usual local guide maps highly praise places but this was an exception. Yes it's small and from first glances outside it's let's say quaint, however inside is a sea of calm with excellent food and atmosphere. We had coffee and the bean chilli and P22 picnic plate. Both were excellent. Knowing what was for dinner later I skipped desert but the mini loaves look fab

It's dog friendly and ours even got some cheese!

If you are familiar with Pillars of Hercules in Fife this is from the same mould

Well worth the visit and ours will be a repeat

Thank Solobay
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Platform22, Owner at Platform 22, responded to this reviewResponded 13 November 2017

Oh my gosh, thank you Solobay for such a glowing review ~ it has really made my day! Looking forward to welcoming you back to Platform 22 and tempting you with more tastys from our menu!

Ohhh, I must try one day to escape P22, head to Fife and try out Pillars of Hercules!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (134)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

9 - 13 of 134 reviews

Reviewed 14 September 2017 via mobile

Wow ! What a lovely night spent here with friends. The food was delicious, atmosphere fun and uplifting, service friendly as always !!!!

Thank Adele K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Platform22, Owner at Platform 22, responded to this reviewResponded 13 November 2017

Thank you Adele K for the lovely review! We cannot take all the credit, so I will pass this onto Hannah and Pauline.
We love supporting local at Platform 22 and this new collaboration working with Lily's Dough is certainly prooving very popular on a Thursday evening .. we hope that you will visit again very soon!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 13 September 2017

Have visited several times. Always good food and a friendly welcome. Particularly fine, fine pieces!

    • Value
    • Service
    • Food
Thank Gillian W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Platform22, Owner at Platform 22, responded to this reviewResponded 13 November 2017

Hello Gillian, we are super chuffed to hear that you enjoy your visits to Platform 22 and thank you for the brilliant review! Happy days!
We look forward to seeing you again hopefully very soon!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 4 September 2017

Not a lot of room in the place but the welcome from staff and the quality of food make up for it. Worth visiting for some proper home baking and food. Not the usual stuff on the menu, something different every time.

    • Value
    • Service
    • Food
Thank Stephen M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Platform22, Owner at Platform 22, responded to this reviewResponded 13 November 2017

Thank you so much Stephen for the wonderful 5 star review!
Yes we are small, but you work with what you've got and make the most of it ~ we try to offer something a little bit different, so it's great to hear to you enjoy it so much.
We look forward to welcoming you back again hopefully very soon!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 31 August 2017

Had a wonderful freshly made pizza thanks to Lilly's Dough. Great atmosphere and great cider (Aspall's on tap). Think this could be a regular thing for a Thursday night. It's refreshing to get such personal service from people who care - if you haven't been give it a try (I promise you won't be disappointed).

    • Value
    • Service
    • Food
Thank nipdrinker
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Platform22, Owner at Platform 22, responded to this reviewResponded 13 November 2017

Thank you nipdrinker for the fabby review.
We too are really enjoying our new Thurday night pizza evenings with Lily's Dough and I'll be sure to pass your review onto them. Here's to many more, hope to see you soon ~ Cheers!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Platform 22 also viewed

Banchory, Aberdeenshire
 
Aboyne, Aberdeenshire
Torphins, Aberdeenshire
 

Been to Platform 22? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing