We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The Tripadvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Detour - An urban retreat in Dundas”
Review of Detour Cafe

Detour Cafe
Ranked #1 of 5 Quick Bites in Dundas
Price range: US$5 - US$12
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Dining options: Breakfast
Description: Our cafe showcases the coffees we source and roast. We also serve amazing food, making all of our sauces, jams, and baked goods from scratch, using locally-sourced ingredients whenever possible. We invite you to stop by if you’re ever in the neighbourhood.
Reviewed June 6, 2016

In the Toronto Life issue of September 2011, a column with title “ exodue to suburbs” appeared. It was about young couples with kids fleeing the big smoke for greener, less stressful pastures.
In it, there was the story of a couple from Toronto moving to Dundas : Crystal and Kaelin and their three girls. This was a big plus for Dundas as they established an café/eatery where green coffee beans are roasted fresh and locally sourced ingredients are used to produce a delicious cuisine.
Located right across from Cumbraes meats and Picone fine foods ( featured in Urbanicity in October 2015) is Detour founded by Crystal and Kaelin. She is a chef and he was working in the movie industry and during a movie a shoot lasting a few days in Dundas he came to appreciate the place and the rest is history.
Detour is one of those places where you feel at ease and at home immediately. Perhaps it is the charm of the building and décor but perhaps it is because staff are welcoming and cheerful, engage in meaningful conversation and exhibit a pride of place rarely seen these days elsewhere.
The menu is easy to read through and all ingredients are sourced as close to the Detour location as possible, for instance only Niagara Wines are listed.
I had the “weekender” a breakfast dish although it could be construed as brunch or lunch. For wine went with Henry de Pelham Cabernet Merlot. The bacon was from pigs raised naturally and so were the sausages I understand, the veggies cut small and delicious, the house made sourdough bread was excellent. The order took some time confirming that everything was made to order including sauces.
Not having a sweet tooth I could not comment on the desserts and all the treats they have but looking around I could see patrons delighting in the goodies on offer.
The interior is very warm and welcoming and the patio is shielded from the street with panels that still allows you to observe the scene while feeling as being in one’s won backyard. A note on the coffee, the espresso was very good and the beans used are not from fair trade. The reason is that the owners pay more that “ fair trade” to the producers, which sometimes we need to look beyond the marketing lines and public relations claims. Also I am told they have the greenest roasting machine currently available in the market.All in all this complements nicely the other neighboring establishments including the Mickey McGuire’s

Date of visit: May 2016
    • Value
    • Service
    • Food
1  Thank DonEmilio2013
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews.
Reviews (192)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

111 - 115 of 192 reviews

Reviewed June 1, 2016

Lovely place to stop and grab a coffee or a bite. Always busy though so be prepared to sit outside on a lovely bench or wait a bit.

Date of visit: April 2016
    • Value
    • Service
    • Food
Thank Susan C
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews.
Reviewed May 31, 2016

We had coffee there and it ready was refreshing before our walk to the falls. a real pick-me-up. It was like Starbucks in Canada!

Date of visit: May 2016
    • Value
    • Service
    • Food
1  Thank brendacT8290CS
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews.
Reviewed May 30, 2016 via mobile

We arrived at 9 on a Sunday and found the patio well shaded by umbrellas and tall trees the perfect place in an already steaming day. Service a bit slow, bake goods a bit expensive, but coffees and lattes were good and we could conveniently park our bikes outside on the patio well protected by passers by.

Date of visit: May 2016
Thank Nolinice
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews.
Reviewed May 24, 2016 via mobile

Nice decor and even better coffee smell. Superb coffee and nice chocolates for sale. Not for the faint hearted: this is for serious coffee drinkers and chocolate lovers. Strong flavours. Pastries here sometimes less than fresh. Stick to the Java.

Date of visit: May 2016
Thank planesight
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews.

Travellers who viewed Detour Cafe also viewed

 

Been to Detour Cafe? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing
© 2023 Tripadvisor LLC All rights reserved.

This is the version of our website addressed to speakers of English in Canada. If you are a resident of another country or region, please select the appropriate version of Tripadvisor for your country or region in the drop-down menu.