We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
“Perfect location for exploring the Alentejo”
other travellers have booked this property

Review of Casa do Brasao

Plunge pool
Bookings for this home are first-come, first served. Lock in your dates before they are gone
Plunge pool
Side View Side View
Check Availability
Request to Book
Make Enquiry
Very good
11 reviews
Plunge pool
Side View
Side View
View
View
Side View
Pool
Pool
Plunge pool
Stone table
Kitchen
Kitchen
Living room
Living room
Living room
Bathroom
Bathroom
Bedroom
Mezzanine bedroom
Bedroom
This property is not available for these dates.
Don't give up! Enquire about other rentals just like this one that are available -
Show all rentals available
Overview
Cottage -
3 Bedrooms, 1 Bathroom, Sleeps 6
Barretos, Portalegre District, Alentejo

Reviews from our community

Very good - based on 11 reviews
Write a Review

Reviews from our community

Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
English first
Any
English first
jamesfran...
Korora, Australia
Level 2 Contributor
6 reviews
“Perfect location for exploring the Alentejo”
Reviewed 21 April 2016 for a stay in April 2016

We had a fabulous week at Casa do Brasao. The home is well equiped, comfortable and stylishly decorated. It is located in a small village halfway between Marvaó and Castelo de Vide which are both beautiful towns to visit and explore. Both towns are just a short 10 minute drive.
It was also a comfortable drive to Évora (approximately 100 minutes) for a day trip. The village of Berretos (where the home is located) is very quiet and peaceful. We could have easily stayed at Casa do Brasao for two weeks. The cafes and restaurants in Marvaó and Castelo de Vide are excellent. We highly recommend the chocolate shop, Dom Pedro V and Confraria. All here are located in Castelo de Vide.
We did not get to meet Luis (as we were out each time he visited) but he was in constant contact and left clear instructions for our arrival. Casa do Brasao was excellent value and we would highly recommend it.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: The peacefulness of the Alentejo
Travelling group: Young Children
Your age range 35-49
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Older travelers
Families with young children
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
21 Apr 2016
Thank you very much for your feedback. We are very satisfied with your opinion about our Casa do Brasão.
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
AnnaBorri...
Manchester, United Kingdom
1 review
“Excellent customer service and communication”
Reviewed 8 March 2015 for a stay in February 2015

The owners communicated well with us regarding changes in our arrangements and were genuine and acted with great integrity to accommodate our circumstances. Thank you.

How easy was it to book the property?
Travelling group: Teenagers
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
boggerdon
Dublin, Ireland
Level 3 Contributor
16 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“Character house in a peaceful village.”
Reviewed 17 July 2014 for a stay in June 2014

Near the fabulous hill top village of Marvao, near the Spanish border, this house is on the outskirts of the quaint village of Barretos.
The house is full of character and and quirky items of furniture with a Moorish theme.
I get the impression that the love and care originally put into the renovation of the casa has diminished over time. We felt we were staying in a nice house but without the attention to detail we have become used to.
There is a very steep stairs leading up to the mezzanine bedroom which would be unsuitable for many people.
The kitchen was stylish if slightly tired . The bathroom, likewise.
The lack of air conditioning was badly felt when temperatures soared in the last few days.
The garden is small and mostly of solid rock with a nice stone table overlooking olive groves.
The small plunge pool was in need of maintenance and so not very inviting. A broken recliner lay on the ground.
Overall, a little TLC and the addition of a dishwasher would make this a great holiday let.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Travelling group: Spouse/Partner
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
31 Jul 2014
Thank you very much for your feedback, your opinion is an opportunity to improve and understand the needs of our guests in order to provide them a memorable stay.
We assure you that the love and care put into the renovation of the house has not decreased and every day we focus our efforts so that Casa do Brasão not only keeps its charm, but that charm is transmitted to our guests through small details.
The stairs are as they are, because it's the only way to not cover the door of the room and the door of the bathroom, but they have a handrail that allows a safe use.
Regarding the garden, the granitic rocks and the cork tree are here purposely to keep the typical characteristics of our region.
We have a maintenance technician responsible for the pool and it is the first negative review that we received about that, we will find out immediately what happened.
Again, we sincerely appreciate your feedback and we will work to improve all aspects.

Kind Regards,
Mónica Luz
Casa do Brasão - Marvão
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
hhr5
ithaca new york
Level 3 Contributor
18 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
“A lovely, quiet gem”
Reviewed 20 November 2013 for a stay in November 2013

A beautiful, quiet gem of a cottage. Comfortable and well-equipped. We spent lovely mornings out on the stone table enjoying breakfast overlooking an olive grove, hearing the sheep bells and enjoying the lovely views. Located in a small, sleepy village with very good day trips in every direction. We will definitely return!

Travelling group: Extended Family
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hannah120...
Ithaca, New York
1 review
“A lovely gem of a cottage in a quiet village”
Reviewed 15 November 2013 for a stay in November 2013

We recently spent a week at Casa do Brasao with our two adult children. A lovely, clean, comfortable, well-equipped cottage in the middle of a nice quiet village. Beautiful views of both Marvao castel and Castil de Vide from the back yard. And we enjoyed breakfast on the outdoor stone table looking out over a beautiful olive grove where you can hear the sheep bells every morning. Great day trips--we even took a long day trip down to Lisbon and to the coast. Hope we can return next year!

Travelling group: Extended Family
Your age range 50-64
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Caty R
Helsinki
1 review
“Nice and surprising”
Reviewed 15 August 2013 for a stay in February 2013

We spent 10 days in Casa do Brasao in February 2013, and the overall impression was great. As an architectural student, I was also impressed with the careful renovation work which has brought the house to its nowadays's shape. Most important, it has the own atmosphere which separates holidays from the normal life! The balcony chamber is delightful (you must love the old wooden furniture to enjoy it)
Bath & kitchen equipment are all modern and this part of the house is almost fully functional, only there wasn't a dishwasher. Anyways we mostly dined somewhere outside.
The house is obviously best suited for summer but it was really nice there in winter too, with fireplace and electricity. Swimming pool is good, but being Finns we felt like the sauna was missing:)

Few tips: 1. the firewood storage was outside in a small chamber under the stairs, we only found it on the 2nd day:)
2. The last 300-500m of the road are by old village street, which is picturesque, but narrow. We had a rented Ford minivan and never scratched it, but every in and out it took driver a good deal of attention (that's why I gave 4 to the "environment").
3. Few local people are keen of English, be ready to communicate on Portuguese.
4. Probably the most impressive sightseeng during our stay was Forte de Nossa Senhora da Graça near Elvas.

Nice place overall, thanks you João for keeping it!

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Travelling group: Friends
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Families with young children
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
  • Was your security deposit returned on time?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Ian L
Fremantle, Australia
Level 3 Contributor
16 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
“Portuguese pleasure at the Casa do Brasão”
Reviewed 24 July 2013 for a stay in June 2013

Casa do Brasão is on the edge of Barretos, a tiny village in the north east of the Alentejo province of Portugal close to the Portuguese-Spanish border. The scenery is amazing: rugged, sunbaked, with vast numbers of cork oaks and liberally sprinkled with dolmens (anta in Portuguese), those mysterious edifices from ancient times. All this under an immense, azure blue sky. Now, back to the present. Casa do Brasão is comfortable, with stone floors and shuttered windows that make it a cool, welcoming refuge from the heat of the Portuguese summer. Of course, the plunge pool outside is a very inviting alternative way to keep cool and refreshed. We are keen cooks and so the kitchen is important to us. The kitchen at Casa do Brasão is quite large with a central island table that is ideal for meals. It is well equipped with plenty of bench space for food preparation, a microwave, an electric oven, a four burner induction cooktop and a large refrigerator. The Wi-Fi router is also in the kitchen. The lounge is comfortably furnished with a large, wall mounted flat screen TV. The two downstairs bedrooms (the “Blue Room” and the “Red Room”) are well furnished and quite spacious. We used the third bedroom, which is on the mezzanine level. This room is reached by a short and rather steep, climb up an open staircase. But this short climb is well worth it as the room is so spacious, so light from the velux windows in the roof and with such a large and comfortable bed The bathroom is also very spacious with a most impressive shower. The garden is rather rocky but well shaded by mature cork oak trees and with a shaded stone bench that is absolutely ideal for a leisurely breakfast. There is on site parking for one car but two cars could be parked without too much difficulty. Although Barretos itself has no shops, there are plenty available within a very short drive and as the roads are amazingly quiet, driving is exceptionally pleasant. There are also good restaurants within easy reach as is the magnificent Marvão perched high above the valley and with breathtaking views. We went to Marvão early in the morning and explored this amazing town when all was quiet. Although Marvão is such a well known attraction (hence the advisability of an early morning visit) there are many towns, monasteries, convents and a veritable panoply of other attractions to visit within easy reach of Casa do Brasão. Other things we particularly liked were the lack of tourists in the area, the location of Casa do Brasão and especially, its cool comfortable interior. We did however encounter a problem when we first arrived as the key was not where we had expected to find it nor could we find it after a rather frantic search of other places we thought it could be. Fortunately after a call to the owner (who was not close by on that day) and a wait of about an hour, a key was delivered. It is fair to say the absence of the key was not at all the fault of the owner who was extremely apologetic and offered to treat us to a meal at a local restaurant We accepted that offer and had a splendid meal plus wine at no charge. This more than offset the delay in settling in. Finally, remember the time in Portugal is an hour behind Spain and indeed most of the other nearby countries. We had driven to Casa do Brasão from Spain and had no idea this was so. We arrived at the restaurant at 8.30 pm which we thought suitably late to dine. However to our surprise the cooks were having their meal, at a long table by the river, with no other customers in sight. It wasn’t until well into the next day that we discovered we had in fact got there at 7.30 pm which in Portugal is an almost unheard of early time to eat. Would we go back to Casa do Brasão? Definitely.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: Location, plunge pool and cool comfortable accommodation
Liked least: Problem with the key (But this was due to an error by the cleaner not the owner}
Travelling group: Spouse/Partner
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Older travelers
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Enter dates for more accurate prices
2 guests
Adults2
Children0
Apply
from
US$153
/
Night
Week
Book Now
Or, send the owner a message
This property has Payment Protection
Never pay for your vacation rental by wire transfer.
Learn more about paying safely.
Do you own a vacation rental? List it here.
Extra income
Earn money by renting out your home. With no up-front fees and no contract, you keep more for yourself.
Easy to manage
Confirm bookings in one click and track everything from enquiry to check-out – even while you're on the go.
Trusted by travellers
With millions of reviews and protected online payments, TripAdvisor helps travellers book your home with confidence.
Set up your free listing