We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
“Fab cottage. 100 % recommended”
other travellers have booked this property

Review of Thackmoor Nook

Bookings for this home are first-come, first served. Lock in your dates before they are gone
Check Availability
Request to Book
Make Enquiry
Excellent
40 reviews
Some of the original wood beams
The cottage adjoins our barn
Back door to the cottage which leads to a grassed area for guests
The guests bench in the wild flower area and orchard, perfect for an evening
Our garden which guests are welcome to use
Renwick from the path to Thackmoor, looking across the Eden Valley
One of the walks from the cottage, to the waterfall on the right
Renwick Church
The Eden Valley from above Renwick
The bridge at Lazonby
Interior of St Oswald's Church Kirkoswald
St Oswald's Church Kirkoswald
D and K
This property is not available for these dates.
Don't give up! Enquire about other rentals just like this one that are available -
Show all rentals available
Overview
Cottage -
1 Bedroom, 1 Bathroom, Sleeps 2
Renwick, Cumbria, England

Reviews from our community

Excellent - based on 40 reviews
Write a Review

Reviews from our community

Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
English first
Any
English first
Helstevas
Chester-le-Street, United Kingdom
1 review
“Fab cottage. 100 % recommended”
Reviewed 30 March 2015 for a stay in March 2015

Just returned from a 2 night stay here and the cottage and hospitality from the owners exceeded our expectations. Everything we needed for a short break in lovely surroundings. Would definitely recommend to others.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Travelling group: Spouse/Partner
Your age range 35-49
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
  • Was your security deposit returned on time?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Suz J
1 review
“Lovely, quiet and relaxing!”
Reviewed 29 March 2015 for a stay in March 2015

We had a lovely 5 nights at the cottage. Easy to find, well presented and welcoming, and had everything you need for a basic country holiday. We had our 1 year old son with us, which worked out fine. We put him to sleep in the travel cot provided upstairs in the bedroom, and then moved him into the cot we'd taken in the living room when we went to bed as he does better at night in his own room. We've suggested 1 or 2 ammendments to make it more suitable for children, such as a stair gate as the stairs are in the open plan living room, which the owner said he'd happily look into. We'd be very happy to go back again!

Value Rooms
Location Cleanliness
Service
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sam P
Darlington, United Kingdom
1 review
“A perfect stay”
Reviewed 25 March 2015 for a stay in March 2015

A lovely property with all we needed. Woodburner and fuel provided was great to curl up to on a cold evening. Fabulous scenery and walks in a picturesque quiet and tranquil area. I hope we can return again.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
Overall condition of the property Bedding & mattresses
Kitchen & utensils Bathroom cleanliness
Other facilities & amenities Service
Liked best: Location
Liked least: Nothing
Travelling group: Spouse/Partner
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
damonselb...
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Perfect country retreat”
Reviewed 7 March 2015 for a stay in March 2015

Stunning little cottage with great surroundings and its set in a little beautiful village highly recommended for a great break away great hosts dick and kath

Value Rooms
Location Cleanliness
Service
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Basilking
Bradford, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
16 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“A Little Gem”
Reviewed 1 March 2015 for a stay in February 2015

If your looking for a peaceful retreat this is the place to go. Renwick is a 1 street hamlet out in the sticks, its an absolutely gorgeous part of the world. The cottage is clean, tidy & cosy. Downstairs there is a decent sized sitting area with a lovely wood burning stove, the kitchen area is small but has everything you need to cook your evening meal, everything works just fine. Upstairs there is a good sized bedroom with en-suite. The bed is comfy and the bathroom is clean. My only complaint about the whole cottage is that shower pressure is low but is works fine.

The owners are very helpful without being intrusive, they even went as far as ring the local pub to tell them we were going to be arriving late and could they look out for us and cook us some food, a nice touch I thought.

Penrith is about a 20-25 min drive away but is a beautiful market town well worth a visit.

We went walking from the cottage a found some gorgeous footpaths to walk along and the landscape is stunning, walking was a joy but the area is equally suitable road or mountain biking. Look out for the lamas at the nearby farm.

We had a fantastic couple of days and will hopefully be returning soon explore more of Renwick & surrounding areas. The cottage is a delightful base.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: The Location
Liked least: The shower pressure
Travelling group: Spouse/Partner
Your age range 35-49
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 22 February 2015 for a stay in February 2015

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: The house was so cosy and the log fire was perfect.
Liked least: Poor WiFi
Travelling group: Spouse/Partner
Your age range 18-24
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Older travelers
Families with young children People with pets
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of an individual traveller and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
lakeangel...
Bolton, United Kingdom
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Peace and Quiet - Home from home”
Reviewed 21 February 2015 for a stay in February 2015
1
person found this review helpful

Our stay is not over, yet I feel confident to write my review within a few hours of arriving.

From the point of my first enquiry, the owner was incredibly efficient and clear with responses. Upon check-in he was incredibly helpful, welcoming and unintrusive.

Thackmoor Nook is a wonderful little cottage, perfect for two. The cottage is well equipped and nicely furnished with everything you need for a cosy, home from home get away. (Particularly the lovely wood burning stove, ideal to curl up in front of at the end of a long days walking) Sadly we are only here for a day and a night but found the peace and tranquility of the cottage and village so relaxing. We would feel equally comfortable staying here for a short break as we have done or a fortnight.

Thank you very much to the owners for an excellent stay. I hope that we can visit you again soon.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Service
Liked best: Feeling at home within a matter of minutes
Liked least: Having to go home... :(
Travelling group: Spouse/Partner
Your age range 35-49
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Enter dates for more accurate prices
2 guests
Adults2
Children0
Apply
Do you own a vacation rental? List it here.
Extra income
Earn money by renting out your home. With no up-front fees and no contract, you keep more for yourself.
Easy to manage
Confirm bookings in one click and track everything from enquiry to check-out – even while you're on the go.
Trusted by travellers
With millions of reviews and protected online payments, TripAdvisor helps travellers book your home with confidence.
Set up your free listing