We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The Tripadvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
3 people are viewing this hotel
Booking.com
US$139
View deal
Free cancellation until 21-10-01
Reserve now, pay at stay
Expedia.com
US$139
View deal
Free cancellation until 21-10-02
Reserve now, pay at stay
Trip.com
US$119
View deal
Free cancellation until 21-10-02
Hotels.comUS$139
PricelineUS$138
eDreamsUS$139
View all 18 deals
Prices are the average nightly price provided by our partners and may not include all taxes and fees. Taxes and fees that are shown are estimates only. Please see our partners for more details.
Nearby Hotels
Reviews (1,067)
Filter reviews
1,067 results
Traveller rating
892
133
26
5
11
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
Traveller rating
892
133
26
5
11
Show reviews that mention
All reviews rooftop pool bull ring great location fourth floor egg station excellent hotel junior suite quality hotel modern hotel plaza de toros great shower spacious rooms amazing views an upgrade car parking excellent stay old town
Selected filters
Filter
Updating list...
9 - 14 of 1,067 reviews
Reviewed October 22, 2020

Have no doubt this is a high-quality hotel. It is nicely positioned near everything you're likely to want to see. Parking is a bit further away than advertised, but you can pull the car in nearby to unload your luggage. I was unclear (after communication with the hotel) specifically where that is - so let me tell you - across the road from the hotel, just inside the grounds of the bull ring and on the left, beside the taxi stand, there are 3 or 4 temporary parking spaces. You will be parking at the side of a tourist/souvenir shop.

Reception was welcoming and seemed safe - the decor is modern grey. It's expected that you have the lift to yourself during these Covid times.

My room was very nice, well-decorated, bathroom luxurious.

Challenges:
* The street noise is almost overwhelming. To some extent this is expected as people in Spain eat out later in the evening. But it did go on - there was a LOT of street noise.
* Rooms are advertised as having 'smart TVs'. They are! But they have programming software that doesn't allow you to access Netflix or Prime or Disney, even with your own logins. If you want to watch BBC World or Russia Today, you're set up. If you want any entertainment, movies or kids shows in your own language, you're sunk.
* Breakfast: understandably, breakfast is an 'assisted buffet' - that means, you get given what you're given. It's all delicious - a HUGE amount for one person - but very nice. However, getting seated proved difficult. There was only me and one elderly Spanish gentleman, but I waited around 8-10 minutes for a member of staff to come. I did lots of 'Hola' shouting and hopeful wandering. When he did arrive, the waiter was stinking of cigarette smoke. In my view, this is NOT acceptable. Absolutely everyone is entitled to a break, usually when you are covered by a colleague during opening hours. But I'm also entitled to expect that a little spritz of aftershave or taking a mint keeps everyone fresh and the customer happy.
* I was given a 'free drink' voucher on arrival. I tried to use it twice. The Panoramico bar is popular and I could not get a seat at any time that I tried. I was not permitted to take a drink to my room as an alternative. Great marketing idea - understandable that things get busy - but a fail in terms of delivery.
* The busy-ness of the bar means that in the evening it's very difficult to get the lift. Lots of people are going up and down from G to 4 (the bar), meaning there's a que

Date of stay: October 2020
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel
1  Thank jimbob74
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Mariana Márquez, Director General at Hotel Catalonia Ronda, responded to this reviewResponded October 23, 2020

Dear Jimbob,
Thank you again for share your experience with us. We reminder that help to improve our services.
Best regards.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed October 16, 2020 via mobile

We booked this hotel online 2 hours before our stay. Very nice and warm welcoming at the reception. The decoration and the hotel was very modern as well as the room. The top floor bar was great. Also access to jacuzzi and pool at the roof. The spa was professional and the massage lady did an excellent job. Minus was the breakfast. Since Covid there was only table service and no smorgosboard. Very limited and to expensive to charge for such a breakfast.

Date of stay: October 2020
Trip type: Travelled as a couple
Thank 233janericn
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Mariana Márquez, Director General at Hotel Catalonia Ronda, responded to this reviewResponded October 16, 2020

Dear Jane,
Many thanks for your visit and share your experience with us, your review help us to improve our service.
We hope to welcome again.
Our best wishes.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed September 17, 2020 via mobile

We booked in here for my wife’s birthday. This is a truly excellent hotel. The staff are very friendly, the rooms are sumptuous and the views from the roof terrace are marvellous. Located across from the bullring, a 5 minute walk from the punta nueva and handy for all of the old town the hotel is a great choice for tourists. The roof terrace is a wonderful place to take an aperitif and watch the sunset change the sky.

Breakfast is normally buffet style but due to COVID is served as tasing platters no the table, with optional hot plates (omelette, bacon etc). I actually prefer this and the portions were perfect, we weren’t left hungry nor left over full from buffet greed.

Everything about the hotel is just as you would want it. Also, if driving, park in parking Merced and pay at the hotel for discounted rates.

Date of stay: August 2020
Trip type: Travelled as a couple
3  Thank Martin C
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Mariana Márquez, Director General at Hotel Catalonia Ronda, responded to this reviewResponded September 18, 2020

Dear Mr. Martin,
Thank you for your review and puntuation, thanks for share your experience with us with details. We hope to welcome again as soon as possible.
Our best wishes.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed September 3, 2020

Unfortunately we only stayed one night in this beautiful hotel, 8 mins. walk to the beautiful bridge and with a lots of restaurants nearby.
From the minute we entered this hotel we knew we had chosen correctly. The foyer was very clean and the concierge couldn't do enough for you.
We chose a Junior Suite with pool and was very impressed. Just lovely, lots of space, great bathroom, all the amenities you would expect from a high end hotel. Cosy outdoor space with relaxing sofa and a small but refreshing pool.
We really enjoyed our stay, loved the hotel.
Ronda is a great place to visit and has lots to offer.
Highly recommend.

Room tip: Junior Suite with plunge pool
Date of stay: August 2020
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Rita A
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Mariana Márquez, Director General at Hotel Catalonia Ronda, responded to this reviewResponded September 3, 2020

Dear Rita A, We appreciate your time in sharing your experience with us. We are happy you enjoyed your stay with us and that the facilities and service experience were what you expected and deserve. We will be pleased to receive you again Regards from Ronda

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed August 5, 2020 via mobile

Our whole experience here has been first class. Our four night stay has been fabulous from start to finish. Two beautiful rooms overlooking the bullring. One of the finest views anywhere in Spain. All staff friendly and attentive. Rooms spotless and beautifully refurbished. Roof top pool stunning for a lazy afternoon esp when waiter service available. Try Sangria Catalonia! Hotel perfectly located to spend quality time in this beautiful city. Would highly recommend and would return again!

Date of stay: August 2020
Trip type: Travelled with family
Thank 434seang
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Mariana Márquez, Director General at Hotel Catalonia Ronda, responded to this reviewResponded August 5, 2020

Dear 434seang, Many thanks for your review and recommed our hotel and facilities. We hope to welcome again in a future. Our best wishes. Mariana Márquez Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews