We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The Tripadvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Contact accommodation for availability.
There are similar hotels available.
View all
Compass27716586549

Midweek break

4.0 of 5 bubblesReviewed Dec 2, 2023
Pleasant room. Only downside very cold when we went in. Disappointing as we were asked, and gave, our arrival time to ensure 'a warm welcome'!
Lovely dinner & excellent breakfast. The hotel looked very Christmas.
Date of stay: November 2023
Trip type: Travelled as a couple
Problem with this review?
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Nearby Hotels
  • Hotels.com
  • Expedia.com
    C$178
  • eDreams
0.0 km from The Brown Horse Inn
Free parking
Restaurant
C$238
  • Booking.com
  • Hotels.com
  • Expedia.com
    C$238
2.4 km from The Brown Horse Inn
Free parking
Pool
C$323
  • Expedia.com
    C$323
  • Skyscanner.com
    C$297
  • Hotels.com
    C$323
2.2 km from The Brown Horse Inn
Free Wifi
Free parking
C$278
  • Expedia.com
    C$279
  • Agoda.com
    C$205
  • Hotels.com
    C$279
2.5 km from The Brown Horse Inn
Free Wifi
Restaurant
C$571
  • Expedia.com
    C$593
  • Agoda.com
    C$487
  • Hotels.com
    C$593
2.3 km from The Brown Horse Inn
Free Wifi
Free parking
C$271
  • Agoda.com
    C$271
  • eDreams
    C$271
  • Vio.com
    C$271
2.3 km from The Brown Horse Inn
Free parking
Restaurant
C$494
No prepayment needed
  • Expedia.com
    C$494
  • Hotels.com
    C$494
  • Vio.com
    C$494
2.5 km from The Brown Horse Inn
Free Wifi
Free parking
C$453
  • Skyscanner.com
    C$452
  • Agoda.com
    C$453
  • eDreams
    C$453
2.5 km from The Brown Horse Inn
Free Wifi
Free parking
C$471
  • Expedia.com
    C$472
  • Vio.com
    C$424
  • Official Site
    C$484
2.6 km from The Brown Horse Inn
Free parking
Restaurant
View more hotels in Winster
Reviews (730)
Filter reviews
730 results
Traveller rating
478
171
50
19
12
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
Traveller rating
478
171
50
19
12
Show reviews that mention
All reviews the pub both nights lake district fabulous food fish and chips night stay pie sunday lunch lovely room a lovely stay dunster lakes starters walks dogs
Selected filters
Filter
Updating list...
1 - 6 of 730 reviews
Reviewed October 8, 2023 via mobile

Very comfortable room and great shower. Superb breakfast and very good staff. Next time I would take a plug extension - there are 2 on each side of the bed (lights and phone chargers) and 2 behind the tv (tv and light). Not a huge issue but a faff for plugging in the hairdryer and kettle - really nitpicking here as it was a great stay and we would highly recommend.

Room tip: Possibly take a double plug
Date of stay: October 2023
Trip type: Travelled as a couple
Thank nothingcomestomind
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Reviewed August 25, 2023 via mobile

We spent two nights as part of our anniversary visit to the Lakes. On the 2nd night, our car broke down at Kirkstone Pass. Decamping back to the hotel by taxi, the hotel staff were extremely accommodating and did much to help upon hearing our plight. They allowed us to push back our check out to a later time, and booked a table at the pub so that my wife and little boy have somewhere to hang about whilst I sorted out the stricken car. We could not be more thankful enough to everyone, and can truly say that this is a place that cares it's guest.

As for the stay itself, nice comfy room, fabulous food. We learnt that it is a well known place locally and it certainly lives up it's reputation.

Room tip: Be mindful that on warmer days, apparently hot water could be turned off late in the evening. So make sure you check with the reception up front.
Date of stay: August 2023
Trip type: Travelled with family
Thank tinylwong
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Reviewed July 27, 2023

The pods are beautifully decorated and spotlessly clean, they are also at the bottom of the pub car park, albeit a very leafy car park!
The pub is more of a restaurant and so gets very busy with diners so it’s not really somewhere you can wile away an evening if that’s your thing, you would really have to drive to find another cosy pub or spend it in your compact/cosy pod.
The pub required payment for breakfast the night before and at £16 each for a fry up we expected quite a feast….Tables were laid out in the pub, no real friendly welcome, we sat down the breakfasts arrived then we were told we had to make our own toast. It was fine. However the sausage was excellent!
The evening we arrived I wanted a shower but found that the cold water was barely existent in the bathroom so the shower was scorching hot, we tried the following morning with the same issue. When we raised this after breakfast the manager/owner did try to fix the problem by offering another pod for me to shower in but we waited for the plumber to arrive (the shower had been newly fitted the day before) but he confirmed there was an issue with cold water supply to the bathroom. His solution was to turn the boiler down so we had a fairly warm drippy shower. That was really the last we heard from them….I didn’t really want to continue staying there, so even though we had paid for two nights we left after one and found a place we were thrilled with for the next three nights.

Date of stay: July 2023
  • Trip type: Travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
Thank pieeater22
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Reviewed June 28, 2023

What a place! Definitely a hidden gem.

Rural location, easy accessible into Bowness if needed, but in all fairness, there is no need to leave the place, especially if staying for just one night. Food menu and daily specials catered for all, I must say the food was fantastic, really impressed.

We had Pork Belly as a starter, for mains curried cod off the specials, and Tomapork Chop, with a side of Haloumi fries and it didn't disappoint. One of the best meals we have ever had.

Friendly staff from start to finish that went above and beyond, really helpful throughout the stay. At a busy time, one of the staff kindly showed us around one of the newly built pods as we were already planning our next visit. We were that impressed with this place, we booked our next stay before we left.

Would recommend to anyone wanting quality food in a really pleasant country pub. There is a reason why they have been voted the best pub and bar award in Cumbria, and will have every chance at the Nationals.

Date of stay: June 2023
  • Trip type: Travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
Thank Zach C
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Reviewed May 3, 2023

We were staying in the Pods in the grounds of the Pub. These are fabulous, really comfy beds, fabulous views from your private decking.
We had Dinner on Friday evening and Sunday lunch in the Pub.
Service was top class, really friendly and efficient and the food was fabulous. The Sunday lunch (I had beef) was simply delicious - This is a great place in a beautiful location serving great food and drinks. Highly recommended.

Date of stay: April 2023
  • Trip type: Travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
Thank Dallyg
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
View more reviews