We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Great stay...wonderful staff!!!” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of The Ritz-Carlton, San Juan

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
The Ritz-Carlton, San Juan
Ranked #6 of 13 Hotels in Isla Verde
Certificate of Excellence
Washington DC, District of Columbia
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Great stay...wonderful staff!!!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 21 April 2012

Although is not cheap it is a great place to stay. Beautiful pool, grounds and beach.!!! For casino lovers the are a variety of machines that were good to me. :)

Room Tip: Large suites
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2012, travelled on business
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Beatriz M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

3,078 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    1,483
    841
    454
    174
    126
See reviews for
749
1,174
70
345
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Location
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (675)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
springfield, ma
Level Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 20 April 2012

Just returned from a beautiful stay at the Ritz in San Juan. This is a beautiful hotel and the service is excellent. Yes it is expensive but what 5 star hotel isn't. You get what you pay for. The pool and beach were very nice. There were always chairs available, any time of day. They provide cold water and fresh fruit at the pool and beach, and cold bottled water and punch in the hotel lobby all day. There were alot of kids but since we had 5 kids in our party it was not an issue for us. We had booked an excursion on our own, and as we sat in the lobby waiting for pickup a staff member came and brought us a small cooler with bottled water, sunsceen and hand sanitizer for everyone in our party. The poolside/beach lunch service was excellent and not too pricey,,the kids meals were big enough the kids could easily split one. There are several good restaurants within walking distance for bfast, lunch or dinner. We had an excellent dinner at Il Mulino on our last night, not cheap but very good. Rooms were nice and beds very comfortable. All in all an excellent experience and wonderful service.
Did not fine truth to anything in any of the negative reviews I read.

Room Tip: Ask for a room on the side that can see the ocean- even though we had a city view room, we were on t...
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2012, travelled with family
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank jadspringma
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
David, Panama
Level Contributor
44 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 39 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 19 April 2012

Recently I had the pleasure of a cruise with a stop off in San Juan. Being an avid casino player and ever searching for that casinos that pay when you play, the Ritz Carlton was a pleasant surprise. After leaving the ship we took a taxi to the Ritz Carlton. Cab fare was not cheap, but it was a pleasant ride.
The Ritz wasnt crowded and there was a nice variety of machines to play. We both won a jackpot, and enjoyed the free sandwiches and good coffee. Choice of burger or grilled chicken sandwich. Cant beat FREE and it was very tasty. I would highly recommend a stop in if your are a casino lover.

  • Stayed February 2012, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank UncleG55711
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
New York City, New York
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 19 April 2012

stayed here recently I loved this hotel, but now with renovations everything is worst off as the investors raised the price on everything to recoup their investments. The worst club floor experience of a ritz carlton, baloney slices all day in salad , bread and cut 10 diff. ways we got sick and probably never eat baloney for another 10 years, not worth 750 a night oh no. That newly renovated club floor blue walls, the ritz is know for luxury crown molding luxury wood furniture. The hallways painted this horrible light blue color molding same color , such a shame, furniture typical standard hotel grade. Now the prices on everything went abt 25%, food pool bar room service. Say goodbye to this place I see loyal customers like myself running for teh exists, sad really. btw the service was still great but for this money gosh at least they can do that .

  • Stayed March 2012, travelled as a couple
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Mikenyc12
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 18 April 2012

We stayed at the resort for 3 nighs and were impressed. This is definitely on par with other Ritz-Carlton resorts. The grounds are beautiful and the service was fantastic. We were a little concerned because there were some negative reviews but don't believe them. This is the best place to stay on the island. Highly reccomend upgrading to the Club Level. Well worth the money.

  • Stayed April 2012
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Kenyonl
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Princeton, New Jersey
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 18 April 2012

The Ritz in Puerto Rico has several things going for it. It's close to the airport, has a nice (not great) beach, plenty of fine dining (two of the best restaurants on the island, BLT and Il Mulino) and a nice Casino. It is packed with families so if that is your thing and you are looking to eat well on property and hang with the kids on the beach or at the pool: great. If you are looking for a romantic high-end Ritz property, this is not the place for you. Its casual, its all about families with kids and its not a particularly up-scale experience. The prices however (for rooms, drinks, food) are very upscale indeed. So bring the kids, pee in the pool, pay through the nose.

Room Tip: There is no escape from the din of children's wailing.
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2012, travelled with family
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Frankspicks
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
princeton
Level Contributor
14 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 17 April 2012

If you go spring break - be prepared to see baby carriages and infants at the bar, both the Pool Bar and the Lobby Bar. The pool, while lovely, is insufferable due to the sheer number of little kids running around. The hot tub, never had less than 6 kids under 10years old in it at any given time. The beach is a better option if you don't enjoy kids running all over and screaming at the top of their lungs. This is NO upscale experience despite the prices. Even their restaurants like Il Mulino and BLT will have you skirting around little kids to get to your table, while their parents dine in shorts and tee shirts.

  • Stayed April 2012, travelled as a couple
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Kerri d
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Isla Verde
20.8 km away
The St. Regis Bahia Beach Resort
7.9 km away
Caribe Hilton San Juan
Caribe Hilton San Juan
#19 of 46 in San Juan
4.0 of 5 bubbles 6,669 reviews
1.0 km away
San Juan Water & Beach Club Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.5 km away
El San Juan Hotel, Curio Collection by Hilton
6.8 km away
Condado Vanderbilt Hotel
6.2 km away
San Juan Marriott Resort & Stellaris Casino
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Ritz-Carlton, San Juan? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Ritz-Carlton, San Juan

Property: The Ritz-Carlton, San Juan
Address: 6961 Ave of the Governors, Isla Verde, Carolina 00979, Puerto Rico
Phone Number:
Region: Caribbean > Puerto Rico > Carolina > Isla Verde
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Centre with Internet Access Casino and Gambling Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#2 Casino Hotel in Isla Verde
#2 Spa Hotel in Isla Verde
#3 Business Hotel in Isla Verde
#3 Luxury Hotel in Isla Verde
#4 On the Beach Hotel in Isla Verde
#4 Family Hotel in Isla Verde
#5 Romantic Hotel in Isla Verde
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$$
Hotel Class:5 star — The Ritz-Carlton, San Juan 5*
Number of rooms: 416
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Travelocity, Marriott and Agoda so you can book your The Ritz-Carlton, San Juan reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Ritz-Carlton San Juan Hotel Isla Verde
Ritz-Carlton San Juan Hotel, Spa And Casino
Ritz Carlton Carolina
Carolina Ritz Carlton
Ritz Carlton Puerto Rico
Ritz Carolina
The Ritz-Carlton, San Juan Puerto Rico/Isla Verde

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing