We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“awesome long weekend”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
The Ritz-Carlton, San Juan
Ranked #7 of 13 Hotels in Isla Verde
Certificate of Excellence
Merrick, New York
Level 1 Contributor
4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
“awesome long weekend”
Reviewed 23 April 2012

This is our 3rd time at this ritz left from jfk on a 6am flight was on the beach drinking by 10 am. Check in was great greeted with champagne, got our room right away room was small but efficient did not hear the airplanes 1 time.The breakfast buffet was awesome The only downside of the whole trip lunch at obg was awful so we went out for lunch evryday. Dinners were awesome BLT, il mulino, and la piccolo at the EL SAN juan costly but you get what you pay for awesome. casino friendly and nice, There were alot of kids there pool packed with them beach not so much. At the beach Jean louis was awesome had our chairs ready for us everyday with umbrella. The weather was great, staff first class cant compar the beach to aruba or stmarteen or turks but no customs and great for a long weekend getaway to be treated like royalty, Will definently return

Room Tip: dont waste extra money on upgraded room its a resort get out of the room spend the money on a better...
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank karen B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

3,206 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    1,552
    870
    469
    181
    134
See reviews for
795
1,220
74
355
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
  • Location
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (708)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Newton, MA
Level 2 Contributor
8 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 23 April 2012

The pool and beach are both great. It was april vacation - so crowded - but we always managed to get a beach chair when we needed it - the people on the grounds were all very helpful. Food and drink is expensive - but good. Both il Mulino and BLT Steak are great dinner spots - but pricey. Other than that you need to grab a cab or brave the walk near the airport.

we went with our 4, 6 and 7 year old. they loved the pool and the beach. the ritz kids has nice people but didn't do much but color and watch tv. not worth the price you pay - more like daycare.

overall - great place, especially if you are looking for an easy place to get to. less than 5 mins from the airport to the hotel.

Room Tip: don't stay on the 3rd floor - it is also the convention / meeting rooms level
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank scfitzg
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Fort Lauderdale
Level 4 Contributor
30 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
Reviewed 23 April 2012

Given the eclat of the brand, this chain could easily get by with 'very good' at every turn. Instead this lovely hotel makes certain everything possible is done to make your stay memorable. The reception desk is warm and welcoming, the concierge knowledgeable and most helpful. The rooms are immaculate and exceedingly well-appointed; the staff unfailingly pleasant. The lobby bar is happily bustling, the breakfast buffet ample and delicious and BLTSteak as terrific as you expect.

  • Stayed January 2012, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank PC-FtLauderdale
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Cape Elizabeth
Level 2 Contributor
5 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 23 April 2012

I stayed for a week with my husband and 18 yr. old son the week of April 16. We had requested 2 beds but got 1 king bed. My son (200 lb 18 yr. old) had to sleep on a roll away bed with a thin foam pad on it all week. Room was small and with roll away bed we had no room to move about the room. The windows don't open so you can't get an ocean breeze! The beach and pool service was very nice. We never had a meal at the hotel since it was so overpriced. ($72 for fish at one of the hotel restaurants) We walked to nearby places to eat. If you stay here you really should rent a car and drive to explore other parts of the island, other beaches and places away from the city. Lots of car exhaust pollution was encountered on our walks to find places to eat. The hotel is in a shabby area of town and staff recommended that we take a cab after dark because it wasn't "safe". If I returned to San Jaun I would stay at the Marriott or other more reasonable hotel. If you stay here you really are paying for the name of the hotel.

Room Tip: Windows don't open so air conditioning has to run all the time or it gets too stuffy. Rooms are...
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Susan P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Baltimore, Maryland
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 22 April 2012

Sadly I agree with almost every post here in one way or another. If you are traveling with family be prepared to spend thousands of dollars once you get to San Juan. Our group had some very lovely dinner experiences and some not so much. Lupi's was fun and within walking distance to and from the hotel however the service was slow and the food okay. Metropol across the street from the Ritz had great food and service, I highly recommend eating there. As most people have commented don't miss "Old San Juan" at times you'll swear your in St Thomas. The people, food, shopping and tourist attractions are worth the $20 cab fee.
As far as the hotel itself is concerned please be aware of this: If you book your excursions through the Ritz and Castillo tours they do not care if you have a problem. You can voice your concerns, you will be told you will hear back from them but you won't. We had a horrible experience snorkeling on the "FUN CAT" which wasn't so much fun, however they didn't care!!! I don't recommend taking your family on the "FUN CAT" as the Captain has some serious anger issues.
I highly recommend club level, it's worth the extra money and it's very convenient. Like most others it was a fun trip, fun experience but not worth returning to.

  • Stayed April 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Chris S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Milwaukee, Wisconsin
Level 3 Contributor
23 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 24 helpful votes
Reviewed 21 April 2012 via mobile

I recently spent 6 days at the Ritz and it is a beautiful hotel, but needs help.
The rooms are very nice and well appointed. The 2 restaurants Il Molino and BLTSteak are outstanding but very expensive.
Too many kids running around the place. The staff was excellent. I did notice that the place lacked a bit of tidiness. Tables were left with dirty dishes for a long time. Cups and plates were not picked up at the pool in a timely manner. Ashtrays were left full.
Overall a great place, they just need to step it up a bit.

Stayed April 2012
Helpful?
Thank toybuscookies
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Washington DC, District of Columbia
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 21 April 2012

Although is not cheap it is a great place to stay. Beautiful pool, grounds and beach.!!! For casino lovers the are a variety of machines that were good to me. :)

Room Tip: Large suites
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2012, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Beatriz M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Isla Verde
20.8 km away
The St. Regis Bahia Beach Resort
6.9 km away
Condado Vanderbilt Hotel
7.9 km away
Caribe Hilton San Juan
Caribe Hilton San Juan
#20 of 47 in San Juan
7,047 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.0 km away
San Juan Water & Beach Club Hotel
6.2 km away
San Juan Marriott Resort & Stellaris Casino
41.9 km away
El Conquistador Resort, A Waldorf Astoria Resort
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Ritz-Carlton, San Juan? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Ritz-Carlton, San Juan

Property: The Ritz-Carlton, San Juan
Address: 6961 Ave of the Governors, Isla Verde, Carolina 00979, Puerto Rico
Phone Number:
Region: Caribbean > Puerto Rico > Carolina > Isla Verde
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Centre with Internet Access Casino and Gambling Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#3 Spa Hotel in Isla Verde
#3 Casino Hotel in Isla Verde
#3 Business Hotel in Isla Verde
#4 Family Hotel in Isla Verde
#5 Luxury Hotel in Isla Verde
#5 On the Beach Hotel in Isla Verde
#5 Romantic Hotel in Isla Verde
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$
Hotel Class:5 star — The Ritz-Carlton, San Juan 5*
Number of rooms: 416
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Travelocity.ca, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, HotelQuickly, Cancelon, getaroom.com and Evoline ltd so you can book your The Ritz-Carlton, San Juan reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Ritz-Carlton San Juan Hotel Isla Verde
Ritz-Carlton San Juan Hotel, Spa And Casino
Ritz Carlton Carolina
Carolina Ritz Carlton
Ritz Carlton Puerto Rico
Ritz Carolina
The Ritz-Carlton, San Juan Puerto Rico/Isla Verde

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing