We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Want the lowest hotel prices? You're in the right place. We check 200+ sites for you.

“very relaxing” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of The Ritz-Carlton, San Juan

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
The Ritz-Carlton, San Juan
Ranked #6 of 13 Hotels in Isla Verde
Certificate of Excellence
Boston, Massachusetts
Level Contributor
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“very relaxing”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 12 May 2012

This place met all my criteria for an awesome hotel:

-central location
-resort-style
-very friendly staff
-nice, large pool and hot tub; open all day and night
-free access to spa jacuzzi, sauna, showers
-plenty of pool deck chairs, umbrellas
-great pool side and beach service
-nice pool restaurant
-free wi-fi in hotel with good signal even by the pool and beach
-very reliable room service
-awesome gym with windows, high-quality equipment
-wide open beach, no restrictions, not rocky
-running trails along beach, especially along 187 east
-several nearby (walkable) dining options, convenience stores

We would definitely go back again.

  • Stayed May 2012, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank NExplorer
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

3,025 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    1,453
    830
    448
    171
    123
See reviews for
731
1,154
70
341
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Location
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (667)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Towson, Maryland
1 review
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 12 May 2012

Absolutely BEAUTIFUL resort. I went to stay with my family here and we all loved it. It is a lovely beachfront location, and is a short distance from other destinations you would like to go to. To start, the service is excellent. The concierge, Luis, was beyond accommodating, as well as all the other employees there. Everyone was just so helpful and friendly; they waited on us hand and foot.
What I especially loved about the hotel was the pool area. First of all, it is gorgeous. You are able to enjoy free orange water and oranges whenever you life, which is surprising delicious and refreshing. Servers are out all day long so you are able to have drinks and food brought straight to you, or if you choose there is an outside eating area/bar. The food is pretty great there too; it's basic "bar" food, but delicious. I would highly recommend going to BLY Steak if you're willing to splurge. Everyone loved the food there.
The resort also has everything to do imaginable there: bars, restaurants, shopping, fitness center, spa, and of course, a casino. You'll never be bored and really, do not have to even leave the resort if you choose not to.
I would definitely go back to the Ritz Carlton San Juan again. It was wonderful there and they had such a friendly staff. Well worth every penny I say.

  • Stayed August 2011, travelled with family
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Caitlin F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sierra Vista, Arizona
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 11 May 2012

Expensive but yet there is a Cock fighting Arena right across the street. Beach chairs are gathered at 6pm and guest are asked to get up if you are on them. Front Desk Gentleman snobby,rude and doesn't try to help.Nothing to do after 6pm the place is like a retirement home. Casino is open all night to spend $. No flip-flops in the lobby at anytime, even if you are going to the beach! The only Interest this Hotel has is to get every $ they can. Doorman stopped opening the door because we didn't tip everytime we came and went.
On a positive note:The rooms were very clean and well kept and stocked with fresh towels, washcloths, shampoo etc. Housekeeping staff was very helpful, polite and pleasant.

  • Stayed April 2012, travelled as a couple
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Bea C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
New York City, New York
Level Contributor
65 reviews
24 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 35 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 11 May 2012

I've stayed in the hotel for a long weekend trip for my mother's birthday. The hotel is clean and staff are mostly friendly. Rooms were spacious and clean. The concierge desk was very helpful. Hotel is on the beach (clean water and sand) with large swimming pool. Casino is in the hotel as well.

Drawback: Very limited menu for lunch/snack options. The Beach cafe and breakfast/lunch restaurant have very limited menu, and the food is nothing to brag about. Presentation could have been better as well. The staff at this morning/daytime place were also rude and unprofessional.

If I would to go back to PR I may stay there again but only because I would prefer the beach to the old San Juan muggy streets. Perhaps there are more options to explore.

  • Stayed May 2012, travelled with family
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank marinanyfedd
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
20 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 11 May 2012

Let me start with the conclusion: I would most certainly return for the right price. It is a very nice upscale resort and offers a beautiful beachfront location that is a short distance to Old San Juan and most of the destinations you want (business or pleasure).

However, I did not feel that I was at a top luxury resort. If you changed the brand name to Marriott I probably would not have noticed the difference. However, my personal experience is that luxury levels in the Caribbean are lower than most of the world and against those lower standards the Ritz Carlton San Jan counts as a luxury resort. Otherwise, imagine a very nice four star resort. The staff are wonderful in their attitude, always pleasant and helpful and yet many lack polish with ties poorly tied, jackets threadbare and presentation styles that are at times almost comical (but sincere and well intentioned).

The arrival was just plain poor - we had made a request in advance which was first declined and then after a second request it was granted. However, upon arrival there was no evidence they had received the request! No one greeted our taxi and we lugged our bags to check-in without comment from any staff. In fairness, our future interaction with the door staff was very positive. At check-in the GSA made a big mistake by ignoring my wife - I am still hearing about it!! But that is poor and we had to ask to add her to the reservation despite a call to ensure it was done earlier that week.

None of these things would ruin a stay but they certainly don't indicate a luxury hotel. On to good things - the spa was nice although difficult to book (we would have booked at least two more treatments but couldn't get appointments). The beach service was great and the Ritz team there very friendly and helpful. The restaurant BLT Steak was MUCH better than than the NYC version. We stayed on one of the club floors and the Ritz team in the club lounge was wonderful. We might return just for them!

One more issue - we paid a $45 PER NIGHT resort fee (16% of room bill) which I find obscene. This was to pay for access to the fitness center, selection of fitness classes, wifi in rooms and public spaces, limited business services, and use of float mats and snorkeling equipment. Thus I paid $45/night for wifi as I didn't use the other items (and could have lived without wifi!). I understand the fees and how they help hotel profitability but 16% is just obscene. All of those items offered are normally complimentary at most hotels with the possible exception of wifi, and that is normally only $10!!

We enjoyed the Ritz Carlton San Juan but all of our stories will revolve around that resort fee and the lack of value offered. Was that what they really wanted? I can see myself returning as we truly enjoyed our visit but will assume a room rate 20% higher than quoted when comparing prices with other destinations.

In summary, a nice four star resort with wonderful, friendly staff and an incredibly greedy, soulless owner.

  • Stayed May 2012, travelled on business
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
3 Thank mikeandnoemi
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
New York City, New York
Level Contributor
25 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 11 May 2012

What can I say? The Ritz Carlton never disappoints! Pristine accomodations. Excellent service, and I mean EXCELLENT! Although I loved the service on the beach, I would have liked to have seen my server more frequently. Can get quite hot and thirsty in the sun!
The Spa was wonderful. The masseuse I had, provided an invigorating massage that relaxed months of NYC stress. Literally 5 minutes from the Airport. Perfect for a 4-day weekend getaway. Excellent restaurants in the hotel. But also enjoyed many in Old San Juan. Definitely worth the trip.

Room Tip: Rooms are always better facing the ocean. Go for it.
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2011, travelled with friends
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Marinela2011
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Dubai, United Arab Emirates
Level Contributor
58 reviews
29 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 43 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 11 May 2012

It is difficult to rate this hotel (or should I say resort?). There are parts that are 5 star rating and others only 3. Generally the layout of the hotel is first rate with a beautiful pool area (although smaller pool than other R-C hotels) that leads out through glass doors onto a perfect beach.
Bundles of clean towels are enthusiastically handed out my friendly pool/beach staff (although some may ponder on the environmental impact of this service). However, the food at the pool side restaurant was very poor.
Th hotel itself is very smart with elegant bars and restaurants. Pricey, but you should expect that at a R-C. The staff seemed generally customer focused and helpful. On the negative side there is a noisy casino full of slot machines that seems to detract from the relaxed, elegant interior, but I suppose they try and cater for all tastes.
I thought the Spa was very nice with a cosy, candle lit jacuzzi room and smart locker-changing rooms. The actual gym room was basic and a little crowded. Yet the fitness class room was lovely with high a ceiling, large glass windows letting in plenty of sunshine and giving chic, colonial feel to this large room.
The hotel WiFi was also excellent for hotel standards.
One strange thing was the lift was operated with your room key, but would only allow you to go to your actual floor. If you wanted to visit friends or colleagues on another floor you were stuck!
My room was described as ocean facing, but you had to lean our of the window and look to your left to see the sea. The main view was the car park!
When you Google the location it looks from the map as if you are at the end of the airport's runway, which is alarming. However, in reality the close proximity to the airport was more advantageous (more pool time on departure) then negative, as there were no real plane noise nuisance.
On a different note, I was extremely impressed with Puerto Rico. Much cleaner than expected and the Old Town of San Juan is stunningly beautiful.

Room Tip: Go to the Old Town.
See more room tips
Stayed May 2012, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
1 Thank Rob T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Isla Verde
20.8 km away
The St. Regis Bahia Beach Resort
7.9 km away
Caribe Hilton San Juan
Caribe Hilton San Juan
#20 of 46 in San Juan
4.0 of 5 bubbles 6,544 reviews
1.0 km away
San Juan Water & Beach Club Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
6.8 km away
Condado Vanderbilt Hotel
6.2 km away
San Juan Marriott Resort & Stellaris Casino
0.6 km away
InterContinental San Juan
InterContinental San Juan
#5 of 13 in Isla Verde
4.0 of 5 bubbles 2,332 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Ritz-Carlton, San Juan? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Ritz-Carlton, San Juan

Property: The Ritz-Carlton, San Juan
Address: 6961 Ave of the Governors, Isla Verde, Carolina 00979, Puerto Rico
Phone Number:
Region: Caribbean > Puerto Rico > Carolina > Isla Verde
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Centre with Internet Access Casino and Gambling Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#2 Casino Hotel in Isla Verde
#2 Spa Hotel in Isla Verde
#3 Business Hotel in Isla Verde
#3 Luxury Hotel in Isla Verde
#4 Family Hotel in Isla Verde
#4 On the Beach Hotel in Isla Verde
#5 Romantic Hotel in Isla Verde
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$$
Hotel Class:5 star — The Ritz-Carlton, San Juan 5*
Number of rooms: 416
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Travelocity.ca and Marriott so you can book your The Ritz-Carlton, San Juan reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Ritz-Carlton San Juan Hotel Isla Verde
Ritz-Carlton San Juan Hotel, Spa And Casino
Ritz Carlton Carolina
Carolina Ritz Carlton
Ritz Carlton Puerto Rico
Ritz Carolina
The Ritz-Carlton, San Juan Puerto Rico/Isla Verde

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing