We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Great for price”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
The Ritz-Carlton, San Juan
Ranked #6 of 13 Hotels in Isla Verde
Certificate of Excellence
Odenton, MD
Level Contributor
41 reviews
37 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 99 helpful votes
“Great for price”
Reviewed 16 May 2012

My family stayed here in April 2012 for spring break. The hotel is right next to the airport but, the noise didn't disturb us. The rooms have been updated recently and are sized well for a small family. The lounge chair folds out into a single bed which was perfect for our son. We ate a couple of meals at the hotel and thought all the restaurants were were of high quality. Our son really enjoyed the activities they had for Easter weekend and he made plenty of friends in the pool. This resort really caters to families. In general, we were very pleased with our 6 day stay however, we also got our room for a very reasonable rate. If we had paid almost $500 a night like some other guests, we probably would have been disappointed. The only reason I would imagine this to be so would be because when the resort is full, there is just not enough staff to service every guest. Chairs around the pool were scarce, pool servers were always busy and restaurant reservations had to be made WELL in advance. On the plus side, everyone we encountered that worked at the resort were very friendly and worked hard to accommodate our wishes. A couple of tips: request a room on a high floor, go to breakfast at Ciao Bella (right down the street), take a surfing lesson from the beach boys right on the beach and slow down. This was not the best Ritz Carlton we have ever stayed in but, it met our needs and was really nice for the price. We would return again.

Room Tip: High floor, away from elevator
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank glory4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

3,141 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    1,516
    856
    460
    177
    132
See reviews for
772
1,196
71
350
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
  • Location
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (690)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
NJ
Level Contributor
38 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 32 helpful votes
Reviewed 14 May 2012

This review is late but I owe it to the Ritz Carlton staff because my group of 29 guests enjoyed themselves on at the Ritz Carlton December 2-4, 2011. I'm a travel agent at http://stopwaitingandtraveltravelportsvoyages.agentstudio.com and last December of 2011 I worked with Lillian Feliciano in the Group Sales Department to help with my large group. Lillian made sure all the guests were placed in great locations. All the guests were happy with their rooms including myself. We loved the newly renovated Ritz Carlton. The carpeting in the rooms, bed linens, furnishings, double vanity with granite countertops in the bathroom, soaking tub and shower were all beautiful. The grounds at the Ritz Carlton are meticulously clean. The pool is fabulous and the lights at night on the pool and reflection against the resort is so beautiful. The beach is clean and there are plenty of chairs and umbrellas. The staff at the Ritz are the best. They are so friendly and nobody had their hand out for a tip. Of course rewarding people for great service is the right thing to do but you can tell these people love what they do and want you to enjoy their resort. If anyone has a bad thing to say about the Ritz then tell the staff about your issue while your their and I guarantee they will make it right because from the check-in to the check-out we were totally pampered. See my videos on my YouTube Channel...www.youtube.com/user/stopwaitingandtravel. No worries at the Ritz Carlton in Isla Verde, Puerto Rico. Places to eat are nearby. We enjoyed breakfast at Denny's a short two blocks out the driveway and to the right of the resort. We loved the beans and rice at Metropol. You have to go to Metropol. There's a nice cafe/bar to the right out the driveway of the resort. My guests enjoyed drinks and chicken wings. There's a lot of food within walking distance. The resort does half-price rum drinks in the evenings after 6 pm and we enjoyed the indoor bar in the beautiful lobby with guacamole and chips. The bus stops right outside to go to Old San Juan for 75 cents each way.

Room Tip: To choose a good room call the resort and ask politely for a location that you like.
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2011, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank stopwaitingandtravel
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Worcester, Massachusetts
Level Contributor
9 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed 14 May 2012

I recently stayed at the Ritz-Carlton San Juan for a 3 day girls' getaway and we had an amazing time. While it's definitely pricey, the facilities were beautiful and the staff couldn't have been more helpful. The pool and beach were lovely; chairs by the pool were hard to come by if we waited too long to get down there. The water at the beach is not the crystal blue Carribbean, but it was warm and inviting nonetheless. Our room was not overly large, but well appointed with a nice sized bathroom and updated fixtures. We are not gamblers, but the casino seemed rather small to me. The bar in the lobby was beautiful and had live entertainment every night. It would be very easy to spend your whole vacation on the resort grounds, but please don't! Old San Juan is a must-see; a short cab ride transports you back in time. For a wilder nightlife scene, the lobby bar and club at the El San Juan resort, next door to the Ritz, is a good place to start.

  • Stayed May 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank JackC789
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Boston, Massachusetts
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 13 May 2012

I've stayed at the Ritz Carlton in Isla Verde, Carolina twice before, and at other Ritz Carltons once a year for the past 12 years. I expected this trip to be as comfortable and charming as all of my other Ritz stays. Not the case with stressed out staff that were quick with guest and even rude to each other. So if you are looking or good service and don't need the calm waters for toddlers, try the Renaissance in Condado.

As for the Ritz, know what you should be prepared for, stressed out staff that are short with guests. On several occasions, meals at Mares and the Ocean Bar & Grill were delayed by 45 minutes without the wait staff even stopping to acknowledge the delays. The place is over run with guests and very short staffed. On one occasion we even saw the beach saw the beach operations crew belittle their manager, showing him how real men clean up the beach chairs. I guess their management is focused on opening the Dorado resort.

Room Tip: Ask about what view you are booking up front. Many rooms face the parking lot or out the side onto...
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Dev G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Boston, Massachusetts
Level Contributor
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 12 May 2012

This place met all my criteria for an awesome hotel:

-central location
-resort-style
-very friendly staff
-nice, large pool and hot tub; open all day and night
-free access to spa jacuzzi, sauna, showers
-plenty of pool deck chairs, umbrellas
-great pool side and beach service
-nice pool restaurant
-free wi-fi in hotel with good signal even by the pool and beach
-very reliable room service
-awesome gym with windows, high-quality equipment
-wide open beach, no restrictions, not rocky
-running trails along beach, especially along 187 east
-several nearby (walkable) dining options, convenience stores

We would definitely go back again.

  • Stayed May 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank NExplorer
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Towson, Maryland
1 review
Reviewed 12 May 2012

Absolutely BEAUTIFUL resort. I went to stay with my family here and we all loved it. It is a lovely beachfront location, and is a short distance from other destinations you would like to go to. To start, the service is excellent. The concierge, Luis, was beyond accommodating, as well as all the other employees there. Everyone was just so helpful and friendly; they waited on us hand and foot.
What I especially loved about the hotel was the pool area. First of all, it is gorgeous. You are able to enjoy free orange water and oranges whenever you life, which is surprising delicious and refreshing. Servers are out all day long so you are able to have drinks and food brought straight to you, or if you choose there is an outside eating area/bar. The food is pretty great there too; it's basic "bar" food, but delicious. I would highly recommend going to BLY Steak if you're willing to splurge. Everyone loved the food there.
The resort also has everything to do imaginable there: bars, restaurants, shopping, fitness center, spa, and of course, a casino. You'll never be bored and really, do not have to even leave the resort if you choose not to.
I would definitely go back to the Ritz Carlton San Juan again. It was wonderful there and they had such a friendly staff. Well worth every penny I say.

  • Stayed August 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Caitlin F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sierra Vista, Arizona
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 11 May 2012

Expensive but yet there is a Cock fighting Arena right across the street. Beach chairs are gathered at 6pm and guest are asked to get up if you are on them. Front Desk Gentleman snobby,rude and doesn't try to help.Nothing to do after 6pm the place is like a retirement home. Casino is open all night to spend $. No flip-flops in the lobby at anytime, even if you are going to the beach! The only Interest this Hotel has is to get every $ they can. Doorman stopped opening the door because we didn't tip everytime we came and went.
On a positive note:The rooms were very clean and well kept and stocked with fresh towels, washcloths, shampoo etc. Housekeeping staff was very helpful, polite and pleasant.

  • Stayed April 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Bea C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Isla Verde
20.8 km away
The St. Regis Bahia Beach Resort
7.9 km away
Caribe Hilton San Juan
Caribe Hilton San Juan
#20 of 46 in San Juan
4.0 of 5 bubbles 6,879 reviews
6.9 km away
Condado Vanderbilt Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.5 km away
El San Juan Hotel, Curio Collection by Hilton
6.2 km away
San Juan Marriott Resort & Stellaris Casino
0.7 km away
InterContinental San Juan
InterContinental San Juan
#5 of 13 in Isla Verde
4.0 of 5 bubbles 2,581 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Ritz-Carlton, San Juan? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Ritz-Carlton, San Juan

Property: The Ritz-Carlton, San Juan
Address: 6961 Ave of the Governors, Isla Verde, Carolina 00979, Puerto Rico
Phone Number:
Region: Caribbean > Puerto Rico > Carolina > Isla Verde
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Centre with Internet Access Casino and Gambling Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#2 Casino Hotel in Isla Verde
#2 Spa Hotel in Isla Verde
#3 Business Hotel in Isla Verde
#3 Luxury Hotel in Isla Verde
#4 On the Beach Hotel in Isla Verde
#4 Family Hotel in Isla Verde
#5 Romantic Hotel in Isla Verde
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$$
Hotel Class:5 star — The Ritz-Carlton, San Juan 5*
Number of rooms: 416
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Expedia, Travelocity.ca, Marriott, TripOnline SA, Cancelon, HotelQuickly, Evoline ltd and getaroom.com so you can book your The Ritz-Carlton, San Juan reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Ritz-Carlton San Juan Hotel Isla Verde
Ritz-Carlton San Juan Hotel, Spa And Casino
Ritz Carlton Carolina
Carolina Ritz Carlton
Ritz Carlton Puerto Rico
Ritz Carolina
The Ritz-Carlton, San Juan Puerto Rico/Isla Verde

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing