We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Loved our stay”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Embassy Suites by Hilton San Juan Hotel & Casino
Ranked #8 of 13 Hotels in Isla Verde
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 20 April 2012

I booked a room at Embassy Suites in San Juan as a place to stay for one night when my family and I returned from a Southern caribbean cruise. We arrived at hotel around 9 am, they kept our bags for us until our room was ready. We were pleasanty surprised with the appearance of the lobby! It is a great place for families with children. My children spent a lot of time at the beautiful resort like pool. The only thing that could of made it better would be a slide. In the lobby there were well mannered vendors, not the pesky kind. My daughter I enjoyed some shopping and got last minute gifts for friends and family. We stayed in a one bedroom suite which was perfect for us. My 2 boys stayed in the living area and my daughter I took the bedroom. We all shared a decent sized bathroom. We went to the managers reception. We would rate it fair, the chips were stale and the pop was flat. The breakfast was substandard. My kids didn't eat their waffles because they were hard and cold. The airport is a short drive from the hotel and about $25 with bags and tip. Overall, it was a nice place to stay for a night. If the breakfast improved I would probably return for a longer stay. As I do plan on returning to Puerto Rico, I want to experience more of it and I find the people there to be lovely.

  • Stayed: April 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank tracysprkl
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (2,596)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

1,929 - 1,935 of 2,596 reviews

Reviewed 18 April 2012

I was on egg shells about traveling to a new hotel with the husband and 16 year old who are homebodies. I was pleasantly surprised with the made to order breakfast for my husband and persnickety teenager. My husband enjoyed staying at the hotel and could smoke his aromatic cigars outside while my daughter and I went sightseeing on our own. Buses and cabs close by to explore. Beach is 10 minutes away. We had the Suite/Wheels deal which worked out well but the hotel charges $16.00 plus tax to keep the car at the hotel. I think next time we won't rent a car. The manager's special with free drinks made my husband as happy as a pig in mud. Overall I think it was a good deal for the price and is a good value. Stayed 4/10-4/15 Adios, Ada

Room Tip: I would ask for the higher level room 6 to 7 because of the noise on the lower levels at night. I s...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: April 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Adam M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 16 April 2012

I stayed at Embassy Suites in San Juan from April 6-9, 2012. We arrived at 2:30am in San Juan airport and swore we would have been stranded. A pleasant surprise to find out that there were lots of van taxis right outside baggage claim. The taxi ride to the hotel is approximately 5 mins. and a $15 flat rate plus $1 per bag. The hotel exterior is very grand, so is the lobby and courtyard with all the ponds and plants. We had a seamless check in and the front desk staff is very helpful and professional. Our suite can accommodate 6 people comfortably and the rooms look exactly like they do online. Pool area is very nice and pool bar cocktails were excellent. We loved the complimentary hot breakfast every morning and manager's reception was also a nice touch. I HIGHLY recommend the tours from Dragonfly Adventures at the concierge desk because their excursions are more than worth it with professional employees such as Bianca. She was the BEST and very knowledgeable of San Juan and recommended restaurants, nightlife activities and even had our names added to the list at BRAVE nightclub for my birthday which was great. I will definitely be back to this hotel on my next visit to San Juan, but this time with a larger group.

Room Tip: If you are a Hilton Honors member, ask for your designated floor or if a non-member ask for a high f...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: April 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank NYC_K_12
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 16 April 2012

This is my 2nd time back to the Embassy Suites and we had a great time! Its the Embassy Suites so I dont have high end expecations. Its great for kids and families. The pool was great for my kids and the breakfast was standard, but it was fine. I am not very picky when it comes to food, so what they had fulfilled me. The beach is about a 5 minute walk which is great and they even have chairs and towels awaiting for you!

  • Stayed: April 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank cwoodsg
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 12 April 2012

This is our second time at this hotel and we will go back next Spring. The hotel is very close to the airport, walking distance to the beach, walking distance to many fast food places. The hotel and casino are clean and well organized. The employees are polite and professional. We even had a chance to deal with the manager Irene -who are great. Oh almost forgot-the breakfast is a real breakfast and its free.

  • Stayed: April 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Roland C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 12 April 2012

We stayed in this hotel on two separate nights, one on our way to Dominica and one on our return home from Dominica. It was a last minute booking so I was happy to find a hotel so close to the airport that still had availability during Spring Break.
We did not choose this hotel for the ammenities because we fly in late and left early each time; however, I did catch a glimpse of the pool and it looked large and nice.
Check in was not great. The first time was quick but we arrived at 10:45 in the evening, the second time through was a lot longer wait at we were checking in around 5:00pm.
My husband and I had drinks in the lobby bar and service was fine. Our family had dinner at the Outback on our returning trip and service and dinner was fine also. A band was playing in the casino area but we were located on the 3rd floor across the building and we did not hear the noise in our room.
Our rooms were clean both times and the beds were comfortable. We were a little disappointed that they did not have two queen beds in the suites, only doubles, so our boys used the sofa bed and those things are never comfortable. The free breakfast was very nice, although on the weekend it doesn't start until 7:00 am and we had to leave prior to that to catch our flight.
Our taxi ride to the airport was about 7 minutes and cost us $18 plus a tip for four of us. Over all, this hotel is a great place to stay if you just need a quick stop over. Because that is all we used it for, I do not feel like I care fairly comment on the pool and other facilities the hotel offers.

Room Tip: We were on the 3rd floor across from the casino side and we did not have trouble with noise.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: April 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Gretelz
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 11 April 2012

Our extended family of nine spent the last night of our Puerto Rico vacation at the Embassy Suites San Juan Hotel & Casino. We chose this hotel due to it's proximity to the airport. The rooms were very clean and exactly what you would expect from an Embassy Suites Hotel. The hotel was in walking distance to the beach but you did have to walk a few short blocks to get to the beach. We enjoyed the happy hour but didn't enjoy the very long lines waiting to order the drinks. It was extremely crowded. We arrived earlier than the check-in time due to the fact that we were driving from Rincon. Of course our rooms were not ready. We left our luggage in the cars and went to the beach. This is the fourth property I've stayed at in San Juan. I would return for a one-night stay only. I've stayed at other properties that are actually on the beach and just a little bit more money but if you're a hard-core beach person like me, it's definitely worth the extra money to stay on the beach. There were also a lot of kids here! We didn't use the pool or have the complimentary breakfast. Since a lot of travelers stay here due to its proximity to the airport, I recommend that they serve the breakfast beginning at 5:30 am instead of the 7:00 am! Every staff member any of us came in contact with was very, very nice and tried their best to help.

Room Tip: The higher the floor, the better and the further from the elevators, the better!
See more room tips
  • Stayed: April 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank GinnyAlamo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Isla Verde
0.7 km away
Hampton Inn & Suites San Juan
0.5 km away
San Juan Water & Beach Club Hotel
0.7 km away
El San Juan Hotel, Curio Collection by Hilton
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
26.9 km away
Embassy Suites by Hilton Dorado del Mar Beach Resort
7.2 km away
Caribe Hilton San Juan
Caribe Hilton San Juan
#18 of 47 in San Juan
7,204 reviews
5.4 km away
San Juan Marriott Resort & Stellaris Casino
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Embassy Suites by Hilton San Juan Hotel & Casino? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Embassy Suites by Hilton San Juan Hotel & Casino

Address: 8000 Tartak St., Isla Verde, Carolina 00979, Puerto Rico
Phone Number:
Region: Caribbean > Puerto Rico > Carolina > Isla Verde
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Centre with Internet Access Casino and Gambling Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#4 Spa Hotel in Isla Verde
#4 Casino Hotel in Isla Verde
#6 Romantic Hotel in Isla Verde
#6 On the Beach Hotel in Isla Verde
#6 Business Hotel in Isla Verde
#7 Family Hotel in Isla Verde
Price Range: $197 - $523 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Embassy Suites by Hilton San Juan Hotel & Casino 3.5*
Number of rooms: 299
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Embassy Suites San Juan Hotel & Casino is the only all-suite hotel in the San Juan Metropolitan area. The hotel is located steps from famed Isla Verde beach, or guests can relax at the hotel's free form lagoon style pool. Our guests enjoy great value with a free made-to-order breakfast and complimentary drinks at the evening reception. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Booking.com, Cancelon, Travelocity.ca, HotelQuickly, TripOnline SA and getaroom.com so you can book your Embassy Suites by Hilton San Juan Hotel & Casino reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Embassy Suites San Juan Hotel And Casino
Embassy Suites San Juan Hotel Isla Verde
Embassy Suite San Juan Puerto Rico
Embassy Suites Carolina
Carolina Embassy Suites
Embassy San Juan
Embassy Suites By Hilton San Juan Hotel & Casino Puerto Rico/Isla Verde

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing