We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Will definitely stay here again!”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
El San Juan Hotel, Curio Collection by Hilton
Ranked #2 of 13 Hotels in Isla Verde
Reviewed 5 weeks ago

We stayed here for one night after our cruise and loved everything about it! We found a great price for a 2 BR suite on expedia. We had a beautiful view and really comfy beds. The pools were spectacular. Drinks and food by the pool were excellent, although pricey (but that is to be expected). I really love the Hilton Curio Collection hotels and will choose them anywhere they are available!

  • Stayed: August 2017, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Service
Thank Mary M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Yvonne R, Guest Relations Manager at El San Juan Hotel, Curio Collection by Hilton, responded to this reviewResponded 4 weeks ago


So much great stuff in just one night, imagine how much more can be experienced if you were to stay longer.....We loved reading that you would definitely be returning and we do look forward to your return visit!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (322)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

3 - 9 of 323 reviews

Reviewed 16 October 2017

we stayed at the el san juan for five nights our last night was one day before hurricane Maria hit the island yet the employees were so concerned that we would be able to make our flight out even while they faced uncertainty with a monster storm heading their way. The staff never once complained about what they were facing and instead tried to be positive and tell us that they would be ok. The staff here is without reproach and I pray that they and their families are safe. I pray that Puerto Rico will be stronger than before and I will never forget how wonderful your staff and your property is beautiful . I will be back as I know that Puerto Rico will rise once more!

Room Tip: room 737 has a great view of pool and ocean
See more room tips
  • Stayed: September 2017, travelled with family
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank thaddues63
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Yvonne R, Guest Relations Manager at El San Juan Hotel, Curio Collection by Hilton, responded to this reviewResponded 4 November 2017

thaddues63

Thank you for your review and your prayers. Your comments show clearly that our staff love what they do and are proud of the El San Juan and it shows everyday no matter what the situation may be....

We are working hard to ensure that the property is at its best and look forward to your visit to show you once more, the love the staff has for the property and our extended family members.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 8 October 2017

I loved my stay here! From the very beginning - the bellmen at the front, to the opulent dark wood decor at reception, to the lovely guy at the reception desk, it felt warm and welcoming. I really liked the very large room and the bed was very comfortable. I did find the bathroom way too small for such a nice room and there was no coffee maker in the room. My checkout experience was efficient but a bit cold. Altogether, I would say that the good far outweighed the bad and I would definitely stay here again.

  • Stayed: September 2017, travelled solo
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank HotFootedFoodie
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Yvonne R, Guest Relations Manager at El San Juan Hotel, Curio Collection by Hilton, responded to this reviewResponded 4 November 2017

We love that 'YOU LOVED' your stay with us. You hit it on the spot - we want guest to feel warm and welcomed - 'home away from home'. I have shared your constructive comments on the not so 'warm' items with management.

We will definitely be looking forward to your return to the property and see how much more there is to experience on our island an at the El San Juan.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 2 October 2017

I had a wonderful experience here! Invited on a trip with a special friend, had a great time in San Juan. The hotel was completing their renovation, but it was simply beautiful. The pool areas, the breakfast, the rooms, and the room service excellent! Upon check in was until check out - a really commendable experience! I know it will take some time...after the Hurricane, Hoping that things get back to better there!

  • Stayed: May 2017, travelled as a couple
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Service
1  Thank Lisa A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Yvonne R, Guest Relations Manager at El San Juan Hotel, Curio Collection by Hilton, responded to this reviewResponded 4 November 2017

So glad to read that you had a great time in San Juan and that the property was part of that experience.

Hotel is hard at work so as to get the property back to its original splendor and have you and that 'special friend' return for even more great memories.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 22 September 2017 via mobile

Stayed there with friends for 2 nights. Check in regular with no special care considering the silver level. The room was ok but the communicating door is a disaster since you hear everything from the other room, not good if you want to rest. Breakfast not up to standard, waiters forgot the egg orders. Lack of minimum standard, one day you get the menu the other day you don't. The pool/beach service is ridiculous, no one was available for a drink at 6pm. Had to go to the pool bar and get it myself...with a surcharge for service! Which service? Self service? Please learn how to serve client. Would not return. Not worth it.

Stayed: September 2017, travelled with friends
Thank RicforSpain
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Yvonne R, Guest Relations Manager at El San Juan Hotel, Curio Collection by Hilton, responded to this reviewResponded 4 November 2017

Let me begin by thanking you for your review. Although there are quite a few items that we will be needing to address and correct, if guest like yourselves do not take the time to point them out to us there is no way to improve.
With that said we do hope that in the future you do have a change of heart and try another stay with us. We take great pride in what we do on this property and I assure you we will be addressing the issues mentioned and show you that we do know how to service our clients

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 20 September 2017

This hotel has bed bugs i had to go to the hospital because of it i would nevwr stay at this location again. Then upon check in the clerk didnt tell me all i was paying he just took my card and swiped it

  • Stayed: September 2017, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Curio – A Collection by Hilton
6  Thank Rocquell C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 19 September 2017

I was attending a Gala and decided to stay at the hotel, I really made the best decision. The rooms are very clean and comfortable, the pool area is amazing and the restaurant's 5 stars definitively!! Great service, great food, great rooms, I will definitely be back!!!!!!!

  • Stayed: September 2017, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Curio – A Collection by Hilton
Thank JacquelineBiasco
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Yvonne R, Guest Relations Manager at El San Juan Hotel, Curio Collection by Hilton, responded to this reviewResponded 6 November 2017

....and we will definitely be awaiting your return. There is so much more for you to experience on the property so once we have reopened our doors we hope you visit and explore a world of possibilities for your enjoyment.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Isla Verde
0.5 km away
The Ritz-Carlton, San Juan
The Ritz-Carlton, San Juan
#7 of 13 in Isla Verde
3,263 reviews
6.3 km away
Condado Vanderbilt Hotel
0.5 km away
San Juan Water & Beach Club Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.4 km away
Hampton Inn & Suites San Juan
7.4 km away
Caribe Hilton San Juan
Caribe Hilton San Juan
#18 of 47 in San Juan
7,210 reviews
0.1 km away
InterContinental San Juan
InterContinental San Juan
#6 of 13 in Isla Verde
2,721 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to El San Juan Hotel, Curio Collection by Hilton? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about El San Juan Hotel, Curio Collection by Hilton

Address: 6063 Isla Verde Avenue, Isla Verde, Carolina 00979-5706, Puerto Rico (Formerly El San Juan Resort & Casino, A Hilton Hotel)
Phone Number:
Region: Caribbean > Puerto Rico > Carolina > Isla Verde
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Centre with Internet Access Casino and Gambling Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 Luxury Hotel in Isla Verde
#1 Spa Hotel in Isla Verde
#1 On the Beach Hotel in Isla Verde
Price Range: $316 - $505 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — El San Juan Hotel, Curio Collection by Hilton 4*
Number of rooms: 386
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Oceanfront hotel surrounded by 15 acres of landscaped grounds in fashionable Isla Verde district - 15 minutes from Old San Juan. El San Juan Hotel presents a perfect blend of tropical splendor, Old World elegance and vibrant culture. Redesigned guest rooms are bright and inviting - ideal for a retreat. Lounge at the beach or on the expansive pool featuring flowering gardens, and spacious sundeck, Olympic-sized pool, Fantasy swimming pool with swim-up bar, waterfall and whirlpools, private cabanas for rental or relax and rejuvenate at the spa. Enjoy a vibrant and varied nightlife, choosing from nine on-site award winning restaurants, plus lounges, bars and nightclubs. One life to live? Live it up at El San Juan! ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Hotels.com, getaroom.com, Travelocity.ca, Cancelon and Evoline ltd so you can book your El San Juan Hotel, Curio Collection by Hilton reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
El San Juan Hotel Isla Verde
El San Juan Resort And Casino
El San Juan Hotel Casino
The Waldorf Astoria Collection Carolina
El San Juan Hotel Puerto Rico
El San Juan Hotel, Curio Collection By Hilton Puerto Rico/Isla Verde

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing